We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent rental house for a weekend away”
Cottage and deck overlooking the pond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage and deck overlooking the pond
Cottage facing the road Brick patio next to the pond with waterfall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Cottage and deck overlooking the pond
Cottage facing the road
Brick patio next to the pond with waterfall
Ample parking for 5 cars on brick driveway
Living room
Corner sectional couch in living room
Dining room table seats up to 10
View of living room from dining room
Sun room off of dining room
Kitchen
Corner dinette in kitchen
Kitchen has full size refrigerator and stove
Master bedroom
Ensuite bath with shower off master bedroom
Second bedroom on main level with king/twin beds
Bathroom with tub/shower on main level
One of three bedrooms with twin/king beds on lower level
Second bedroom with king/twin beds on lower level
Third bedroom with king/twin beds on lower level
Bathroom with step in shower on lower level
Nature trail on nearby common
View of pond from deck off sun rom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mmddrr
Essex, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent rental house for a weekend away”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice house located close to all amenities and downtown NOTL. Large kitchen and living room made the property very enjoyable and allowed us to relax in between activities in town. Our hostess was very easy to work with before the trip, and the property was exactly as described.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large living room and kitchen
Liked least: Bathrooms were both a little dated and could use refresshing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graciela...
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful, clean, comfortable, great location.”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stayed at ""Secret Garden"" very clean, very comfortably, the cottage has everything you need. The owner Barbara is also amazing. Whoever decided to go to the Secret Garden won't be disappointed.
Queen St, is 4 blocks away from the cottage. Supermarket. Restaurants, Tim Horton's, Starbucks, everything is very close. I hope that this info can be useful. When we arrived Barbara and her son were waiting for us to hand us the keys.Thank you Barbara and son.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace that surraound the area even though was close to everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this home last year with a group of 10 ladies. I have booked it again for 2014 2 more times. The same group of ladies, and for the 2nd visit, 4 couples. This home is close to all the bars, restaurants ,spas, golf and bike path. The reason this home works so well, is because the owner was smart in how she has set up the rooms. Each room has a king size bed...which she can move apart and becomes twins. The home is very clean and Barbara ( the owner) lives right next door. Very easy lady to work with and very friendly.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EmilyPgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious and Clean”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was a great house for our group of ten (five couples). Everyone had their own room and bathrooms were easily shared. The living room was comfortable for group socializing, and we were all able to fit around the dining room table as well. It was a little too cold to be outside, but the deck and pond would be great for a summer day/evening. The driveway could easily fit four cars, maybe five. There was wifi, but it worked best in the living room, and got spottier the further away you walked in the house.

The house was clean and well-organized. However, we weren't able to find any paper towels, napkins, or garbage bags, so you may want to bring your own. Toilet paper wasn't a problem.

While this house is on a quiet street a ten-minute walk from town (it would be even faster on a bike), it does share a backyard with the owner/landlord, so if you plan on being rowdy, you might want to avoid. BUT, you shouldn't be doing that anyway because it's not really a party town!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and size
Liked least: Wish we would have known to bring trash bags/paper towels.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
300Lotus
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
“A perfect house for our family of ten”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We found this house ideal for our family. The rooms were as advertised: spacious and well equipped. The location is very good, and there are trails for bicycling and walking, some with views of the river or lake. A lovely outdoor pool and playground are just around the corner. The house is also not far from town--within easy biking distance. We would go back if the opportunity presents itself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being a small town, the house was convenient to everything.
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing