We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine!”

Between the Lines Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to a fresh approach to Niagara wines – a balance between tradition and innovation created by two passionate brothers working together to bring out the best in Niagara grapes. Yannick and Greg have spent their life among the vines starting as children in the terraced vineyards of their grandfather and then on the 45 acre estate in Niagara for the past thirteen years.
Grand Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great wine!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great value for great wine! We loved the vidal and cab franc which are both very inexpensive for their great taste! I believe it was the owner's son who was pouring our samples and he is really nice and informative about the winery.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kwnike13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    33
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great independent winery”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great to see an independent winery growing and doing well. Very good wines overall. Try a tasting, and if you like a wine, buy while you can as they will sell out fast of the popular ones given that they are a smaller winery.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We loved this winery”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We actually came across this winery last year by accident and met the owners who are only 25 and 28 (Yannick and Greg) These boys were very knowledgeable and very friendly. We had bought several bottles of wine and wished we had bought a case when we discovered how much we loved the 2009 Merlot and then sadly to realize it was sold out
I went back with friends this week and met their mother who is incredibly sweet and very proud of her boys and bought a few more bottles of wine. I will continue to visit this winery!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fine Wine with a German Flair”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Visit Between the Lines Winery and remember your tasting coupons from your B&B! Another fabulous winery in the Niagara area that is worth visiting. The two sons with German wine making experience have created a very fine collection of wines.

When you have had your tasting, consider visiting one of the many other great wineries in the area. I will be commenting on several for your additional information.

We found our GPS was very useful in finding all of the venues.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“+ very good white wines, + delicious and affordable ice wines, + friendly vintners, + still a hidden gem”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Because of a recommendation from a tasting room employee (at another winery) we visited ‘Between-the-Lines’ and were pleasantly surprised!

The relatively new family estate winery is located close to the town of Virgil and produces very nice white wines, a delicious Pinot Noir and an outstanding ice wine you shouldn’t miss.

The contemporary setting and atmosphere is a very refreshing diversion to all other wineries in the area. Moreover you have the chance to meet the vintners in person and chat with them about wine making and their short but very successful wine making history. Overall this winery is still off-the-beaten-path and uncommercial two facts I really appreciate.

I highly recommend to try their whites (e.g. the Vidal and Chardonnay), the Pinot Noir and their two ice wines (Vidal and the rare Gewürztraminer).

+ very good white wines,
+ delicious and affordable ice wines,
+ you meet the vintners in person,
+ still a hidden gem

Price for a 375ml ice wine: Vidal CAN $30, Gewürztraminer CAN $50.
Table wines: CAN $12-15.
Tasting fee CAN $3 for three wines, about CAN $5 for five or six.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinmatecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Between the Lines Winery also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Between the Lines Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing