We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local and a regular” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandtrap Pub & Grill

Sandtrap Pub & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Pub, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are an all ages Pub and Grill in Niagara on the Lake. We offer a relaxed vibrant atmosphere with great selection, great service and great value. Matt and Paul welcome you to come and join them and enjoy some of their hometown hospitality. We have something for everyone including large booths and large screen TVs for the big games. Featuring a full bar that offers local wines and even Niagara's local micro-breweries.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Local and a regular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This restaurant has become one of our favourite "go-to" places in the area. Great variety on the menu and prices are very reasonable. The draft is only 2.95 and always good and cold. This restaurant is away from the downtown so you can usually find a table but it is busy because of the good food and great prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineAM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    89
    24
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sandtrap Pub and Grill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Went to the Sandtrap again a few nights ago. I had fish and chips which were very good, though fries were pretty soggy. However, as every married couple knows, both parties have to be satisfied for return visits. My wife ordered a spinach salad for $8. When it came, it was in something the size of a soup bowl and had little other than spinach, some cranberries, almonds and maybe some orange pieces. She had asked for no onions. The point is, when she reached down with her fork, it hit the bottom - clink! That's fine if you've been eating it for a few minutes, not when it arrives. For $8 we expected some volume anyhow. Not there. They certainly came around and asked if everything was okay but we aren't the type that makes a fuss; we vote with our feet. The restaurant (pub fair/bar) is certainly busy and seems to have become a favourite watering hole for upscale locals and we are happy about that. (Don't go for a quiet supper, it's a happy, boisterous, loud place when it's busy. Not rowdy, just an enthusiastic crowd having fun.) But a vigilance has to be kept so one does not become a "victim" of success. We'll certainly go back to try again but if we get a skimpy salad again, that would finish it for us. They have to watch their portions!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wrighter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERONA
Level Contributor
189 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very good reasonable food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Went here because of trip advisor ratings and prices on menu. Food did not disappoint as it was very good and reasonable priced compared to the area, just be advised this is not in the historic district of the city, that was kind disappointing. We got the 1/2 rack of ribs with cole slaw and fries for 12.99 each and left happy, full and did not feel price gouged

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RandyHodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“try the deep friend pickles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great atmosphere. You always feel welcome even though this is a "local bar". The food is great and inexpensive. It come out quickly and servers are always around if you need anything. I would highly recommend this pub to anyone from sports fans to families.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food. Great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Not fine dining but nice clean modern atmosphere. Clean washrooms. Our waitress was excellent, friendly and attentive. I had the pizza and chicken wing feature and was impressed by both. Good portions and exceptional taste. Not overly expensive. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wingman_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandtrap Pub & Grill also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Sandtrap Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing