We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More cheese, less walking.. :o)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste the Town Tours

Taste the Town Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taste the Town Tours is a walking food and cultural tour suitable for people of all ages and fitness levels. We believe a Food Tour should be a harmonious combination of history, architecture and local cuisine and have developed the tour to ensure the creation of a truly memorable culinary experience. Don't miss out on the 2.5 hour walking food tour in downtown Niagara-on-the-Lake for a unique tour experience like none other.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“More cheese, less walking.. :o)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our Niagara on the Lake tour was very pleasant and we learned alot about the town. Some of the tour route we backtracked which took extra time and we saw the same things. So maybe a slight route change would help. Our guide Bill was very friendly, and very knowledgeable of the area. We even got followed by a big fat cat along the route. I enjoyed the pizza and beer stop as well as the soup but we can't leave out the cheese stop too! Because food was part of the tour, you were anticipating the next stop to get your food fix and not paying full attention to the historical part of the tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    42
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stephanie rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I are from Michigan and toured with 2 other couples. We really enjoyed the food and especially enjoyed interacting with Stephanie! We look forward to returning to the area soon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ladonnajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darnestown, MD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious and interesting tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Niagara-on-the-Lake is a beautiful, must see town with cute shops, great architecture and the most gorgeous flowers and landscaping throughout. We were thrilled to be part of the Taste of the Town Tour that allowed us to get to know and enjoy the area better. Bill was a delightful, knowledgeable and fun tour guide, full of interesting facts and the purveyor of scrumptious treats. We had many marvelous morsels and delicious tastes from quaint and gorgeous venues throughout the town. All the proprietors were very welcoming. We learned some of the history of the town and enjoyed beautiful scenery.
What a great morning and unique experience - "for sure"! :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendy20878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Interesting Tour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We toured around with Bill on a busy Sunday. It was a very informative tour, lasting approximately 2.5 hours. We covered some history about the area, talking about Niagara-on-the-lake as a whole as well as businesses and individuals who helped shape the Niagara area. We discovered some great food spots along the way and had the opportunity to taste some wonderful food. Our favourite was from a spot that was recently added to the tour: Il Gelato Del Carlotta. Not only was his gelato the best I've ever tasted (old fashioned gelato made with the best of ingredients and even better than what I could find in Italy), but the owner was so personable made that portion of the tour extraordinary. He spoke with such passion about his product, explained the history behind it and explained what he does differently to make such amazing gelato. In addition, the samples were massive and very well received on a hot Sunday afternoon.

The only improvements I could suggest to Bill, the tour guide, would be to either make a more efficient route (we back tracked a little bit, but admittedly the extra time between sample stops was nice. It just felt like we were doing a bit of unnecessary walking) or to take a more chronological approach to the tour to give it a bit more fluidity.

Overall we were very pleased with the tour. There was enough food to keep us happy and coupons for each location we visited should we want to return to purchase merchandise.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank littlebabysteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Canada
1 review
“All Thumbs Up!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Never knew this existed. What a perfect way to see the sites and taste the wonderful offerings of Niagara On The Lake! Stephanie was a breath of fresh air. Her enthusiasm and energy rubbed off on us and made our tasting experience and day that much better. We enjoyed our 2-1/2 hour tour and will tell all our friends about it. Can't wait till the next time! Thanks again, Stephanie!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste the Town Tours also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Taste the Town Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing