We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour”

Taste the Town Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taste the Town Tours is a walking food and cultural tour suitable for people of all ages and fitness levels. We believe a Food Tour should be a harmonious combination of history, architecture and local cuisine and have developed the tour to ensure the creation of a truly memorable culinary experience. Don't miss out on the 2.5 hour walking food tour in downtown Niagara-on-the-Lake for a unique tour experience like none other.
Depew, New York
2 reviews
“Great Tour”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a great way to experience Niagra on the Lake. I have never been there before. This tour was very informative and the tastings were wonderful. We had a large group of 17 and I heard everything that Marcy was saying. She made the walk interesting and moved along at a enjoyable pace. At the end of the tour she asked what the favorite food tasting was. I thought every tasting was excellant so I couldn't even pick one out. I enjoyed this so much that I am going to bring my friends from Buffalo New York next year.....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    43
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
“A great tour.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I really enjoyed out tour and tasting. We had a small group of 4 and so got to hear everything that Marcy was saying. Not sure if a group of 15 would do as well. I like to walk so found it was a good choice to learn more about Niagara on the Lake. The samples were just enough to make me want to come back later for more. Yes, we went through the stores and out the back way. It seems like it was the most efficient way of doing things. Again with a larger group, there may be time and seating issues to contend with. Marcy was a great tour guide and would recommend her for this or any tour she was leading.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice day for a walk”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My review of this tour is mixed. It definitely was more of a longgggg walk than a tasting. I agree with other reviews that when it came to the tasting we almost never felt welcomed in the stores and restaurants but were more like herded thru to the back and out the back door. Very Unfriendly The exception was the Irish Tea Room and the B&B on the lake. The tour guide knew a lot about the town but the walk was long. And towards the end we all felt like she was ready for it to be over. A good tour guide never let's you feel like she has a job to do.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
“Great Tour!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We just did this tour and really enjoyed the walk around the town. We found it informative and Marcy was great! The food was good and found ourselves full by the second last taste stop. We really enjoyed the shops and the owners were all very friendly. We had our little guy with us and it was no problem bringing the stroller everywhere with us. We would recommend this tour!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mandy166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT for all ages”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

For my wife's birthday I bought two tickets for this tour to get a flavour of NOTL, and because we could do it with a 6 month old; the website specifically mentions strollers. Evidently, nobody told our guide about this policy and she did not irritation that we had a child with us and that she was "not informed". Like many others with young or older participants where there was accomodation made. The entire day she shuffled us from one location to another, not giving any indication on how long we had between our forced marches to prepare with our baby, and showing no concern if we fell behind. She was constantly checking her watching and commenting that we were falling behind in time, yet she finished the tour 15 minutes early.

As for the shops, what we did see and taste were very good. What would have made the tour a lot better is if the proprietors had taken some time to tell us about what we were eating and the importance and history of their building. During a two and a half hour walk, with six stops, for the price that is being charged a bottle of water would have been nice. Truthfully, the best part of the tour was when it ended and we were free to walk the stores on our own.

Final word? Save your money and just buy a brochure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste the Town Tours also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Taste the Town Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing