We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for cyclists”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Darlington House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for cyclists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We started here on the Greater Niagara Circle Route which is directly across the street. Julie and Mark were wonderful with our logistics as we left our car with them and returned to comfort and rest 3 days later at the conclusion of our ride. Quietly located away from town but within easy walking distance to all of NOTL. Great parkland across the way keeps the noise away and affords one a stroll or ride in peace. Sumptious breakfast of healthy and filling fare that started our trip just right. Fablulous decore and oh so comfortable beds.Dinner suggestions were spot on in town at Stone Road Grille. For those just visiting or cycling in the area, I wholely suggest staying at the Darlington Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Club210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Owner at Darlington House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for visiting Darlington House. Hope to see you back on your next cycle trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
90
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

we stayed for the barracks concert since it appeared to be walking distance to the show from google maps...turns out it is not only across the street we heard the sound check as we opened the car doors!
the location is exceptional and a very cozy walk to the main town shopping area which is always a pleasure to visit.
what sets the b&b apart is our hosts, Julie & Mark, made the stay very comfortable and fun. the food is surprising and beyond excellent and I love my coffee so it takes a lot to impress me.
would definitely return

Room Tip: we stayed in the room with two single beds which is nice when traveling with a friend and excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Owner at Darlington House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
So glad you enjoyed the concert and our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I had a very good time at Darlington house. Julie and Mark were very good hosts and provided us with many suggestions. Our room was very comfortable, particularly the bed. The breakfasts were outstanding. The house was about eight blocks from the center of town and across from a large park which had historic buildings, including a museum. The room was very quiet. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are three rooms and all of them looked very nice. We were at the top of the stairs at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Owner at Darlington House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I cannot use enough superlatives to do justice to my stay at Darlington House. First of all, it's so nice that there's a room with twin beds for friends traveling together. And such a nice room at that!! Julie and Mark are wonderful, so kind and helpful, and funny as well!! I felt like I had known Julie for years. Her breakfasts are out of this world--we were there for five nights and there was a different delight every morning, as well as freshly baked cookies when we arrived. I would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful B&B to anyone. I only hope that I get to stay there again sometime. Thanks again to Julie and Mark for making our trip extra special.

Room Tip: Ravensdale has twin beds, but one of the other rooms can be set up as a king or twins. All are beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceegee7858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Owner at Darlington House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so very much!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Darlington House B&B is worth every penny. The rooms are beautiful and the location is perfect for a nice walk through the park to downtown. Julie and Mark are fantastic hosts and really make you feel as though you are at home. They provide maps, discounts and free wine tour coupons for you to take advantage of while you're in NOTL. The breakfast's are also spectacular and really give a great start to the day. If you are looking for a cozy and quiet place to relax and enjoy a vacation, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 77 Yarm Room which has a Queen Size Bed and was absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Owner at Darlington House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location convenient.
Best wishes
Julie and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have just spent the most magnificent anniversary weekend in Niagara on the Lake. Our trip was made exceptional by the recommendation to stay at the Darlington House located conveniently on the bike path that leads to the old Forts and Queenston Heights. We couldn't have asked for a better view or more charming room. It was hard to sleep in when the smells of a home cooked breakfast started to waft into our room. Julie and Mark were such lovely hosts who gave us a lot of really helpful information in advance of our stay and while we were here. Their help made our getaway even more exciting. The food was phenomenal and we just love the beautiful B&B and it's scenic and peaceful location. We've decided to make the Darlington House our special Niagara getaway destination. A huge thank you for making us feel like royalty on our special day!

Room Tip: It was hard to choose a room because they are all so charming but we choose the room with the incred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Owner at Darlington House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi there,
thank you so much for you recommendations for Darlington House. We too feel the location is extra special. Within walking distance to shops and restaurants but far enough away to enjoy the peace and tranquility. Check out our face book page at facebook.com/DarlingtonHouseNiagara for photo's of the morning mist on Butlers Barracks
Sincerely
Julie and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Darlington House! Julie and Mark are lovely people, and made us feel right at home. There was a bonus plate of freshly baked cookies waiting for us when we arrived, and an absolutely fantastic breakfast the next morning. We've already recommended them to our family and friends!

Thanks for a great night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSM_and_RM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Owner at Darlington House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
So glad you enjoyed the cookies! Thank you for posting a trip advisor review. Take care and we look forward to your return,
cheers
Julie and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.7 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#1 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#5 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darlington House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darlington House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Darlington House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 100 John St. E | PO Box 100, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Darlington House, a premium bed and breakfast in a luxurious Early Canadian Loyalist home overlooking the historic military grounds of Niagara-on-the-Lake. We are inside the Old Towne and only a short walk to Niagara's award-winning theatres, restaurants and shopping. An elegant retreat with privacy, comfort and view. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing