We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Darlington House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Nova SCotia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I traveling to NOTL as part of an Ontario tour to visit family and stop to several plays at Shaw. The location is just out of town so a very quick drive to downtown or if you enjoy walking less than 10 minutes. The house and rooms are immaculate, appointed with all the details, however it is Julie's personal welcome and her special afternoon scones with fresh jams and gourmet breakfast that sets Darlington House apart from the great B and B's. We were looking for twin beds which is not always possible in an adult setting so is perfect for traveling companions looking for separate beds. An extra amenity was the room with a fridge, with bottled water and to keep your store purchased wine cool and several options of coffee, team,herbal teas that you could help yourself to at any time . The front patio is a delight to sit in the early morning with coffee or wine at the end of the day and watch the squirrels in the huge surrounding trees, or dog walkers and bikers go by in the park across the road. Only caution is if you are a light breakfast person, let Julie know is advance as her amazing gourmets breakfasts will take you though the whole day!!

from Halifax, Nova Scotia

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanGirlNovaSCotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
90
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

What an amazing B&B! Great location across from a park and walking/biking trails. We received a warm welcome from our wonderful host Julie. The room was stunning, nicely decorated, big comfortable bed and a nice seating area. En suite bath was emaculate and had a variety of toiletries available as well as thick cozy robes, nice touch. Five star breakfast in a dining room fit for royalty. You certainly won't leave the table hungry. All the attractions of beautiful Niagara on the Lake are within a short walking distance. Julie our host was very attentive and accommodating to us and the other guests on our stay. Looking forward to returning soon. This is a must stay B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomandDons121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaford, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our visit to Darlington House was a much needed break after an exceptionally busy summer and we were delighted to find such a wonderful B&B.
The location was perfect, just a couple of minutes from down town, so very convenient, but opposite a park, so very peaceful and quiet.
Our room -77 Yarm - was beautifully appointed. The decor was stunning, the bed perfect and all the little extra thoughtful touches made for a relaxing stay.
Julie and Mark pampered us and cooked us a fantastic breakfast.
As long time professional innkeepers we can be hard to please, but Julie and Mark wowed us!
We highly recommend Darlington House for the perfect getaway.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innkeeperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have stayed there twice! Both times amazing! Stunning rooms! Stayed there once before the final touches and once after the final touches and WOW! The final touches on all rooms are amazing, stellar, royal, celeb status. My question is why are the hollywood celebs not all staying here? The hosts are friendly, caring, compassionate, comforting, and sociable. The food is all local grown and purchased and made with care to every detail and flavor. You cant go wrong with this place! You won't regret a thing.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maidment-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed for just one night after going to the Shaw Festival. Beautiful place, close, yet far enough away from the centre of town, wonderful hostess, great breakfast, very quiet. The large room is the best. We definitely plan to go again! Great base from which to explore all of Niagara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdcde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for one nigh during the Shaw festival. We arrived a little late so just missed Julie"s (the host) scones and tea. However, she was very friendly and warm and showed us to our room with twin poster beds. The bathroom was immaculate, had wonderful shampoo, soap, shower gel and hair dryer. Additionally the beds were the most comfortable I have stayed in. There was a little Kitchen with two coffee makers, tea, bottled water and Perrier for our use. The B & B is located very close to town opposite a fantastic park. The jewel in the crown was breakfast. Home baked scones, muffins and the best french raisin toast. The table settings were perfect. The attention to detail was outstanding. An added touch was the fact that you could book for one nigh and not have the obligatory two night stay. I will definitely be back but am scared that she will soon be "found out" and be fully booked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nahariyya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My mother and I stayed one night at the Darlington house. My sister did some online searching from Europe for a perfect B&B's weekend get away at Niagara on the Lake. The exchange of communication between Julie and her, was most kind and inviting.

Julie and Mark are fantastic hosts- their home is absolutely relaxing and welcoming. The room was extremely accomodating and comfortable. Breakfast was prepared by Julie and it was a spread of fresh fruit, greek yogurt, french toast, home made peach preserve and turkey maple sausage..YUM!

One of the best B&B's. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.7 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#1 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#5 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darlington House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darlington House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Darlington House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 100 John St. E | PO Box 100, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Darlington House, a premium bed and breakfast in a luxurious Early Canadian Loyalist home overlooking the historic military grounds of Niagara-on-the-Lake. We are inside the Old Towne and only a short walk to Niagara's award-winning theatres, restaurants and shopping. An elegant retreat with privacy, comfort and view. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing