We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing room, incredible food and great people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Darlington House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Darlington House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing room, incredible food and great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed at the Darlington house in the 77 Yarms room with my fiance while my brother and sister stayed in another room. The room was fabulous and comfortable with a gigantic bed and lots of space. They had all the ammenities one could need, including a common guest ktichen with free bottled water in the fridge and two different single serve coffee machines. We were excited from our wine tasting during the day and couldn't sleep much so we grabbed a dvd from the library they had and watched it in the comfort of our room....a great way to fall asleep. In the morning we awoke to a breakfast of home made granola, fresh fruit and delicious waffles along with fresh juice and more sides than I can remember.

The hosts were extremely friendly / warm and not remotely intrusive, which can be a rare quality in B&B's. We will certainly be returning soon, in fact I believe we've found a destination for our anniversary.

Thanks for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: I only had the opportunity to see 77 Yarms and Ravensdale (spelling??) but I would certainly reccomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twiggs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
90
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a very enjoyable three-day stay at Darlington House. Our room was well appointed and the climate control in the room was excellent, particularly considering the temperatures in the 30's. Breakfasts were scrumptious and our hosts, Julie and Mark, catered to several dietary needs and individual preferences. The B&B is very well located for convenient access to the theates and downtown. We would certainly return and highly recommend the B&B to any discerning guests.

Linda and Don

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joy093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I and another couple spent a night at Darlington House before heading into London for a wedding. We were warmly greeted and shown to our beautifully appointed rooms, each with an ensuite. The huge bed was piled high with plump pillows and covers and sparkling white sheets. Of course, everything was spotless. An elegantly set diningroom table downstairs promised delightful treats in the morning.
Our windows looked down on tranquil flower gardens. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and well-balanced. My diabetic husband had an ample selection of good food to choose from. The shopping and dining strip of Niagara-On-The-Lake was a ten-minute walk away--perhaps too far for some. This first bed-and-breakfast experience of ours is going to be hard to match! Any like this in Alberta?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Met with a welcoming hostess, tea, and scones, we felt like we were transported across the pond. Julie and Mark were gracious about sharing their beautiful home and their knowledge of the town. We loved the behind the scenes stories. Our room and all of Darlington House is beautifully decorated and comfortable and located close enough to walk to theaters, restaurants and shopping, but far enough to be peacefully away from the frenzy. Breakfasts were delicious with a touch of England and Julie kindly worked around food allergies without making us feel like a bother. We've attended the Shaw for 15 years and stayed at a different B&B every time. Darlington House is among our favorites.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Arrived to a nice room, 77 Yarm, adorned with flowers from their gardens and delight snacks of fresh baked cookies and lemon cake.
Enjoyed our stay and specially the delicious, generous breakfast before starting our active day.
The hostess were very welcoming and room complete with fine details (even if you forget you grooming supplies).
" I will be back"

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Isabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed in the oakdene room with my family. Very well fernished and well equiped for temperature control and comfortable sleep. The surrounding is very quiet and wont disturb your sleep.
The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Four of us spent a weekend of great theatre and lovely meals in Niagara-on-the-lake. The accommodations at the Darlington House were perfect - comfortable, clean and well appointed. Our hosts, Julie and Mark were warm and welcoming. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Skies Bed & Breakfast
Blue Skies Bed & Breakfast
#25 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#10 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Historic Lyons House
Historic Lyons House
#39 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#1 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#6 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darlington House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darlington House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Darlington House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 100 John St. E | PO Box 100, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Darlington House, a premium bed and breakfast in a luxurious Early Canadian Loyalist home overlooking the historic military grounds of Niagara-on-the-Lake. We are inside the Old Towne and only a short walk to Niagara's award-winning theatres, restaurants and shopping. An elegant retreat with privacy, comfort and view. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing