We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome & Cosy Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome & Cosy Hotel!!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2007

My boyfriend and I just came back from a one night stay (Sat Mar 31/07) at the Harbour House Hotel, and we had the best time!!! From the time I called for reservations to check out, the staff were exceptional, knowledgable about the area and extremely friendly. One staff even brought my bag to the room. She went the extra mile to show us how to work the fireplace and whirlpool bath. They also left us truffles and cookies as we were celebrating our anniversay, along with a sign wishing us the best, and personalized stationary to write on with both of our names. When we had questions they called us in the room right away with answers. The best part of staying at Harbour House is that you are close by the water, in a quiet neighbourhood, the room was spacious and also the king size bed is so comfortable! There is a complementary shuttle bus to the restaurant if you choose to do a package deal. The breakfast was European style (so no eggs, bacon, sausage etc) but was very tasty, there was homemade strawberry jam, fresh breads, freshly made apple struddle, deli meats and cheeses, fresh fruits and salmon, and much much more. I would highly recommend this Hotel and would return again in a second!!!!



Helen
Toronto, ON

  • Liked — The friendly staff, the comfy bed, the little special touches, everything was great!
  • Disliked — Cannot walk to downtown area, but if driving it is litterly 5 minutes away! And no pool ;o(
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TOTRVLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    133
    43
    17
    7
See reviews for
75
855
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2007

My husband and I have just returned from our second trip to the Harbour House and we even more impressed this time than we were the last. Ryan and Alicia were a terrific help when I made the initial reservations. Sean was great in helping us change our dinner reservations, multiple times. The room was so comfortable and housekeeping was the best, very friendly, helpful, and the room was immaculate. And I can't forget breakfast, delicious...absolutely delicious. Everything was beyond our expectations, which were high since we had been here before.

I would only change 1 thing, the corriders and public areas were extremely warm. It was an unseasonably warm weekend so the heat may have been on in anticipation of cold weather. The rooms have individual temperature control so we were quite comfortable in our own room.

  • Liked — Everything; the staff, the room, and the location.
  • Disliked — A bit to warm in the public areas for my comfort.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PNKUpstateNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2007

Where do I begin? Staying at Harbour House Hotel was an experience that was out of this world. Our stay was
O-U-T-S-T-A-N-D-I-N-G!!!

This was the first time my boyfriend and I had gone away together. After much research we decided to stay at this hotel. The service we received exceeded our expectation.

We checked in at the tail end of the March Break for 2 nights (15th until 17th). From the moment we stepped in to the hotel we were greeted with an exceptionally warm welcome from Kristina.

We were given an enthusiastic tour of the amenities, room etc. and found that we were given complimentary cookies in our suite (delicious!). The view was from the room was also wonderful!

The bed and room were wonderful.. as well as the whirlpool jacuzzi style tub and fireplace. We had a difficult time getting out of bed in the morning because the bed was so comfortable. We both got much needed rest during our stay. The fireplace provided a wonderful ambiance for the room. It was wonderful!

Dinner at Charles Inn was great. We were driven by Andrew and found him patient and kind.

At the Charles Inn, we had the scallops (appetizer) beef tenderloin(main course) and creme brulee and NY cheesecake. The appetizers and beef tenderloin were great along with the cheesecake. Staff at Charles Inn were helpful and made us feel comfortable.

Breakfast was everything that we expected (smoked salmon, french toast, various meats, cheeses, fruits, etc) Harbour House also has a delicious jam that I was able to purchase (I loved it so much- don't forget to try it!)

Also, the staff accomodated my boyfriend when he wanted to workout. The hotel does not have an on-site gym, however, we were able to use the Shaw Hotel's gym facilities since both hotels are affiliated with one another. This was a value-added service which we appreciated.



Overall, we found the staff exceeded our expectations and made us feel at home at Harbour House. They consistently demonstrated great enthusiasm in fulfilling our requests (which were many!). They were also patient, kind and informative.

Special thanks to Kristina and Andrew for their dedication and hardwork. We will definitely return to Harbour House Hotel.

I've also started telling my family, friends and co-workers about this hidden treasure in NOTL.

Thanks a million for the wonderful service! You've made us customers for life!

Sincerely,

Mya and Kevin

  • Liked — king bed, whirlpool jet tub, fireplace, view
  • Disliked — no on-site premise for spa, restaurant, gym facilities
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank applebottomxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2007

Date: March 13, 2007

My husband and I escaped for a night to Harbour House hotel for some much needed rest and relaxation during a very hectic March Break.

Upon arrival we were given a tour of the hotel and our room. The hotel decor created an immediate mood of tranquility. The room boasted a fireplace, an oversized jacuzzi and of course a king size bed.

After unwinding in the room, we enjoyed a leisurely stroll through Niagara-on-the-Lake. We returned to the hotel to taste local wines from the region. All superb! We again returned to our room to enjoy a complimentary DVD and then later dined at Zees restaurant to make the evening complete.

Breakfast at Harbour House was elegant and exactly what we would expect from such an establishment. From smoked salmon to fresh cranberry bread and a selection of teas, just to name a few.

I highly recommend Harbour House and Zees restaurant to anyone wishing to get away for a day or two and truly feel rejuvenated upon your return. It was definitely a five star experience which we won't soon forget.

  • Liked — The service, 5 star accomodations, tranquility and location
  • Disliked — Not applicable
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank vf7364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2007

My wife and I have visted and enjoyed the ambience of Niagara On The Lake for 25 years. The reason for our visits...the shaw festival, the busy main street filled with tourists, the wonderfull variety of shops, the walks about the old town, the views of the niagara river spilling into lake ontario, the many fine hotels and restaurants and NOTL's close proximity to the tacky delights of niagara falls.

My on line planning/booking for our most recent trip to Niagara led me to to "trip advisor dot com". Many of the posted reviews of the hotels and restaurants in NOTL agreed with my impressions.
NOTL is an expensive visit and when you are paying big bucks you expect a very well appointed facility and a lot of service.
Some of the facilties in NOTL come up short on service.

Trip advisor's reviews highly recommended Harbour House. We booked two nights.
This is a very special hotel. Room #308 overlooking the yacht club is a very unique, special and comfortable room.
All of the entries into the room #308 diary echoed our feelings for the room, very warm and cozy. The only exception was the entry from the predictable travel whiner who complained that the smoked salmon for breakfast ran out at 9:15am. The hotel offered smoked salmon at breakfast on our second day. Despite my best efforts, the smoked salmon did not run out.

Joan and I will return to Harbour House Hotel.

  • Liked — The Room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank McFairlie-Guelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We chose Harbour house as a starting point for our first visit to Canada and couldn't have been happier with our two night stay.

The staff are friendly, courteous and helpful....from making dinner reservations to dropping us off and collecting us again in the courtesy mini-van...nothing seemed too much trouble. Breakfast was continental - quality and quantity was perfectly acceptable (especially after those extra large North American dinner portions!).

Of particular note is the bed...ours was enormous and my girlfriend and I had simply the most relaxing two nights sleep. Little touches such as the personalised cookies, the wonderful fireplace in the room and the 5pm wine and cheese tasting made the difference between a 4 and 5 star rating.

Niagara-on-the-lake is a picture postcard little town and whilst we did not feel there were an abundance of activities to hand at this time of the year...it certainly did not distract from a memorable stay and offered something of a contrast to the rather more downmarket Niagara falls area (the falls themselves are however spectacular).

Reading through the guest book in our particular room we were struck by the number of couples who have chosen Harbour house to celebrate their 20, 30 & 40 year anniversaries. We would recommend this hotel as the ideal romantic getaway.....although a note of warning for any Brits.....don't forget your woolies (it's freezing in Feb!).

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Herbie_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

I bought a package for this hotel through the Shopper's Drugmart Life Experience cards. It was a Valentine's Day gift for my boyfriend. The package was a great deal, especially in the low season. We got a deluxe room, breakfast, wine tasting at the hotel, wine tasting and tour at Pellar Estates Winery (the hotel's featured winery for Feb) and dinner for 2 at the Charles Inn, we got all of this for $299.99.

The hotel was amazing! The reviews on here did not steer us wrong. We felt welcome, and really comfortable and relaxed during our stay. The staff at this hotel have thought of everything. We had personalized stationary in our room, cookies waiting for us when we arrived, a tour of the Inn at check-in. They have a dvd and cd library that you can borrow from for no extra cost (unlike the usual in-room movies that will cost you a small fortune at most hotels). In the morning there was a "What's happening" newsletter at our door with local events and the weather for the next 2 days. The shuttle to and from dinner was complimentary and very quick and easy!

The food was also amazing. We went for dinner at the Charles Inn as a part of our package. The menu was excellent and our choices of salmon and duck were amazing. The service was great and the ambiance was very romantic. The meal was amazing from the amuse bouche to the dessert. The breakfast at the Harbour House was incredible as well. There was something for everyone! English muffins, cobbler, meats, cheese. salmon, cream cheese, croissants, cereal, fresh fruits and so on. It was AWESOME, and the service was very attentive and friendly as well. Our coffee and juice were always topped up with a smile and plates cleared right away. There was even coffee and to-go cups in the lobby should you want to take one on a walk or on the road with you.

All in all this Inn and package were incredible. The area is perfect for romance or family fun. We went to wineries, ate great food and even did some shopping. The drive up the Niagara Parkway is one that I never get tired of.

The Harbour House really does have the guest and their comfort in mind at all times. Go here and never regret it. We will be going back very soon!

  • Liked — All the small details that were taken care of
  • Disliked — NOTHING!!!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Erin1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
918 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,451 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,957 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing