We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there one night. Very friendly staff, clean, great breakfast, enjoyed our stay. Just one thing, I left a small jacket in the closet, realized it when I got home, I called them and they said no problem to mail it to me. I live approx one hour from the hotel and they charged me $34. On my Visa card. I thought maybe as a courtesy they would pick up the cost?
Other than that was very nice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for your candid review of your time with us. I’m so pleased you enjoyed what we have to offer. We have many guests who leave things behind and require them to be shipped to various places, locally and internationally. For your comfort and security, we use a professional shipping company so unfortunately, it would be challenging for us to provide this as a service for all guests. Thank you again, we do hope you will return and enjoy our Harbour House again!

Warm Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    135
    43
    18
    7
See reviews for
78
863
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our usual B&B (Lakewinds,see review) was booked so this was a second choice. It is a charming, boutique hotel with lovely,if small, rooms, each with fireplace, and indoor parking which was a plus since we arrived in a downpour.
Staff was friendly and helpful and breakfast was generous and delicious.
Lake and marina views add to the charm.
And if you go this summer try to see the Shaw Festival's "Cabaret",a wonderful, creative production of this classic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had the opportunity to stay here this past weekend and it was an excellent choice. Well situated on a quiet and peaceful corner, just steps away from the marina in Niagara on the lake, Harbour House really gave us everything we were looking for and more. The jet boat and sunset cruise attractions that run every day from the harbour are just steps away. The main street in old town Niagara on the Lake is a short 5 minute walk and they even provide a shuttle to take you there faster if needed. The hotel is clean and modern yet still maintains the prominent styling of the surrounding town’s historical architecture. No detail was overlooked and the service was just perfect. If you have the chance give this spot a try, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Their king beds are huge and really comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review of our Harbour House. We are driven to provide an experience that is second to none and I’m so pleased that your time with us was enjoyed. Our location is an ideal retreat and I’m glad you were able to settle in and absorb the Niagara-on-the-Lake experience.

Warm Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The place itself is a bit tired. The buffet breakfast was delicious and there was something for everyone--hot and cold items. We enjoyed our stay but for the price (around $400 US) would probably not stay there again. Towels were a bit stiff and they only gave you 2. NO gym facilities....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Beautiful hotel! We booked only two days in advance of our trip and were so pleased to find out they still had room for us. Staff was amazing! Courteous, friendly, helpful and genuinely cared about our needs. A lovely bottle of wine awaited us in our room with a congratulatory note of the occasion of our anniversary. Bed was excellent! Rooms was spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was great. Happy to recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a diamond! The entire staff was always there and oh so very helpful with tips for walking tours of Niagara-on-the-Lake. The room was simply elegant, the bed was wonderful. Morning breakfast was included with our stay, and was excellent. Great view of the harbor and the river.
I enjoyed this hotel very much and would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor/river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you! I am excited to hear that your experience was everything we strive for and am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff, rooms, and cuisine all come together to create an unforgettable experience, and all of us look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back!

Warm Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights following a trip to Toronto and to visit the falls. this is a stunning hotel with the most luxurious bathrooms all with Jacuzzis. The rooms themselves are of varying size but all are generous. There are many special touches at the hotel including a library of DVD's free to borrow and a daily wine tasting.

All the staff were amazing, friendly and able to help with any requests, the location is excellent right on the river and a short stroll into the town with its interesting shops and restaurants. The breakfast was very good and far better than expected, including smoked salmon and a hot frittata! This is one of the most luxurious hotels I have stayed in but managed to be friendly and unpretentious.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,487 reviews
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,987 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing