We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and casual”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We found the Harbour House to be a relaxing introduction to NOTL. The facility is nicely decorated, the beds extremely comfortable, the public areas pleasant. The staff are exceptional - very attentive and thoughtful. From my research into NOTL there appear to be several nice places to stay - but I am so glad we picked here. Close enough to restaurants etc but a bit off the main drag so quiet and peaceful. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

From arrival to departure, the staff was helpful and attentive. We arrived mid week so parking was not an issue and after dropping off our stuff, we walked down to the waterfront and back through downtown. The shuttle service to nearby restaurants was a real advantage and the social hour with local wines was a great opportunity to meet up with some other travelers. Our room was great, the bed firm but not hard and the bathroom was spacious with the whirlpool (jet) tub. Staff took our cold pack back and forth to the kitchen for us and if there was one thing I would add it would be mini fridge/freezers in the rooms - especially in wine country!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Dad48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to reminisce about your time spent with us in beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake. We are very fortunate to have such a great team working with us and I will happily pass along your kind words.

I look forward to the opportunity to say hello during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a very pleasant place to stay. It is certainly within walking distance to most of the things you would want to see in NOTL. The staff was very nice. Breakfast was good. However, when I spend this much on a room, I expect it to be top notch. It really wasn't a bad stay but could have been perfect with a little attention to detail. Our room had a broken shutter on the window, some mold growing in the grout in the shower and a shower curtain rod that was coming off the wall. Mention of this was made at the front desk but nothing was attended to during our stay. NOTL is a wonderful place to visit and we otherwise had a great time attending the Shaw Festival and exploring the village. The wineries are abundant and the many shops are full of quality items. We will definitely back to visit NOTL but we may try one of the other fine places to stay next time.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious but 311 needs a little attention.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tommmaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I discovered this boutique hotel on tripadvisor which included a 15% discount as a bonus. The reviews were all positive and I was not disappointed! The delicious continental breakfast was included and featured a hot breakfast casserole every am as well. The room was clean and beautifuly appointed. The location was perfect..we walked everywhere in the town. The wineries were close by and Niagara falls was too. Last but not least I would like to acknowledge the hotel staff especially Jennifer, the guest service manager, Bruce who attended to the daily complimentry wine and cheese tastings and Dave who drove the complimentry shuttle to and from town.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phillyjerseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments! Trip Advisor is a great reference guide for the region and I am happy to hear that you we did not disappoint. We are very proud of the team that we have working with us and I will definitely pass along your kind words to Bruce & Dave.

We look forward to welcoming you back!


Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We traveled as a group (3 couples) to NOTL and would all happily return for another visit. Harbor House is an Inn, with some lovely B&B characteristics. It is not a hotel in the traditional sense with room service or fitness facilities. Reserved in Feb for 2 nights, 3 rooms. Added one night on (one couple) - this change was overlooked, thankfully we called the night before traveling to reconfirm all reservations. The front desk was great and figured out how to accommodate the last minute change.

The room was comfortable, cool and quiet. The breakfast was pretty good, too many sweets and not enough protein for my preference though. Cookies were not always available in the afternoon as advertised, the wine and cheese are nothing to write home about and the front desk needed to serve the wine - but they are available.

All the staff were wonderful and went out of their way to help us. The night team made coffee / accommodated our requests (decaf, hot water for tea, additional shower gel, etc) cheerfully and promptly and really made us feel welcome during our stay.

Other than the reservation issue, the shower was growing mold and when reported it was promptly cleaned. The bath tub was really welcome after biking and wine tasting days!

Things to note - the Charles Hotel restaurant (we had a fabulous meal, with great waitstaff, although it was very warm in the dining area due to no AC in a historic house) and the Prince of Wales Hotel restaurant were the only options recommended for dining. These are sister properties and many other fun, delicious options are available within an easy walk. The affiliated bike rental company was the real issue - subpar/unhelpful staff, helmets, baskets and a good map were all EXTRA (free maps are not to scale and do not have correct locations), bike tires were 65lbs + underinflated, had a hassle renting for the weekend (advertised), etc. Would not use Niagara Wine Tours again, but will happily return to the Harbor House Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esabc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and parents had a 2 night and 3 day stay at the Harbour House Hotel. We had a wonderful time and will look forward to returning. We had to cancel a trip last year at this time and reschedule. We are so happy that we could do this as it was a most delightful stay. The staff is amazing and quite helpful in every way possible. Thank you to everyone for making our stay such a pleasure. The breakfast is delicious and has many homemade choices. Our room was on the third floor (306) and furnished beautifully and meticulous. My parents were on the first floor in room 106 and it made it quite nice for them to access the lobby and breakfast easily. There is covered parking and the location is great. We do not like to be on the main road anywhere and this is set back enough and along the water but getting to the main road is a very short walk. They also have a wine and cheese reception in the afternoon. Loved out stay and thank you Harbour House for being one of those hotels that goes above and beyond for their guests.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexy3262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

I am glad to hear that you were finally able to join us for your family getaway! We are very thankful to have Jaime leading our kitchen with all her wonderful baked goods. I will gladly pass along your kind comments to our team! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a GREAT place for a romantic get away.

It's a beautiful old building, the rooms are clean and lovely, nice plush beds, beautiful bathroom with big bathtub/hot tub, great breakfast (WONDERFUL), very close to downtown (10 min walk).

Only complaint would be that the service at the front desk is slow. If the owner is around, he's wonderful, but otherwise it's younger women that ignored us on two occasions while they spoke to each other or to a visiting woman and her baby. Very rude and surprising.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindsTzrak1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,574 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,115 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $156 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing