We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming and Comfortable Lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Comfortable Lodging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a one-night stay at the Harbour House Hotel yesterday, after enjoying a musical at the Shaw Festival. The hotel is a pleasant 10 minute walk from the theatre and the shops. Upon entering the hotel lobby, the receptionist greeted us warmly, gave us a quick guided tour, and brought us to our room. The standard harbour view room, called a premium room, is a spacious, immaculately clean, well-appointed room overlooking the docks. The room has a gas fireplace making the room nice and toasty on a cool night. The bathroom was spacious, with granite countertops, a jaccuzzu tub, and a full shower. From 4:00 to 5:30 p.m., a complimentary glass of wine as well as cheeze and crackers are available in the living room. A European breakfast is included, offering a variety of pastries, baked goods, cold cuts, fruit, and quiche. There is no restaurant on the premises, but the hotel offers a free shuttle service. Parking on-site is also free. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amhers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    132
    43
    17
    7
See reviews for
75
840
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We chose Harbour House after reading all the reviews and it did not disappoint. The room was beautiful with a working gas fireplace and well appointed bathroom. Hotel service is fantastic. This is a boutique hotel, so the staff really takes time to get to know you and make your stay personal. There was a wine and cheese hour each evening, which also gives the chance to chat with other guests. Dinner reservations were made for us on our first night and the hotel offers free shuttles back and forth from dinner which was a nice touch.
Breakfast was wonderful. I had a strawberry french toast that was so good I asked for and got the recipe!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onionryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed everything that Harbour House has to offer! The shuttle service is a great way to fully enjoy the wonderful restaurants and local wines. I look forward to hearing how your Strawberry French Toast turned out with your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stanley, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Friends of ours had purchased a getaway package for our anniversary for a one night stay at the Harbour House and we were absolutely thrilled with the experience. The staff tended to us as if we were the only ones there. The room was more than we expected and very comfortable. Easy choice for our return visit to the region.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejgalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have been to Niagara On The Lake several times and have always wanted to stay at Harbour House but being we usually book last minute there is no availability. Well we decided to book one nite for March and to do it early. We knew that it was a great Hotel from friends who had stayed there so we were really looking forward to our stay. I just have to say that from the moment you walk through the front doors you are treated like you are the only people staying there. It is a small Hotel but it is amazing. They booked dinner reservations for us and also shuttled us to our dinner destination. When they dropped us off they said to call them and they would come and pick us up no problem. The room was exactly what we wanted and then some. It was so relaxing and before dinner they offer wine and cheese so you can mingle with others. The breakfast in the morning was really great and there was nothing you would go without. Everyone at this Hotel makes sure that your stay is a really great one. We are definately going back again. I know it is a bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Just make sure if you really want to stay here to book well ahead as it does book up quickly. You will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntlch06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very lucky to work with such a great team who work hard to ensure our guests enjoy their time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The smallest details make such a difference, from the staff (WONDERFUL) to having peanut butter cookies upon arrival in your room. The room was beautiful and quiet. Breakfast has a wide variety of food and it is very good!! (try the homemade strawberry jam). Happy hour at 4 pm is a great way to unwine, local wines red and white, crackers and cheese. The staff here really takes the time to ensure that people have a good time. It doesn't get any better than this!!!!!!
Thanks harbour house hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOE2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We can't say enough about this wonderful hotel. The rooms are lovely and the staff all very nice. We stayed twice. Both times we traveled with another couple while touring wineries. The evening wine in the lobby is a nice transition from daytime activities to dinner. Old town is an easy walk and all restaurants and shops are accessible without a car even in winter. If you do need a ride the hotel will shuttle you home from dinner. Breakfast is also wonderful and very civilized. After breakfast you can walk along the water, the marina is right outside the door.

Room Tip: We stayed on first and second floors and both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffalonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to reflect on your stay at Harbour House Hotel. I happy to hear that your second visit was just as enjoyable as your first! We are very lucky to work with such a great team who take pride in what they do.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Harbour House Hotel.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinny111
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently visited the Harbour House to attend a food festival at Peller Estates winery. The hotel is in a great spot, right across from the harbour and a short walk to main street in Niagara on the Lake. It was also only about a 30 min walk to Peller Estates. There was a free shuttle that took us back to the hotel though at the end of the night. We were greeted with delicious peanut butter cookies and a hand written note when we checked into our room. Breakfast was great and we also enjoyed the complimentary wine and cheese tasting the first afternoon we arrived. Great experience overall, would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinny111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing