We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent the weekend of April 19th - 21st, 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The little touches make all the difference. We stayed in room 202 and it was cozy and romantic - we used the fireplace and the whirlpool tub as the weekend was very cold so it was nice to warm up after getting back to our room. We had dinner at The Harpe Irish Pub on both nights (the food was awesome) - we also did the Ghost Walk tour on the Saturday evening which was interesting and fun. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyRN40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    131
    43
    17
    7
See reviews for
74
833
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I've stayed here twice .. mainly because it feels like home. Extra touches such as free DVD library, free local wine tasting and cheese upon arrival, yummy home made cookies in room ... not matched anywhere else.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. It is great to hear that our extra touches have added to your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you “back home” very soon!

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Harbour House on a travelzoo deal. For $179 I think it was we got the room, wine, breakfast (always included) and $25 for dinner, which we used at Zee's (we really like it there).

Check-in was a bit crowded, but we went immediately after our matinee, as I think everyone else did. But, it was quick and efficient, and the lovely young ladies working the desk were very pleasant.

The inn is quaint, although slightly larger than I envisioned. The public areas actually feel a little bit too small comapred to the number of rooms they have. But, I can get over that quite quickly. The front recpetion area, with sitting area and fireplace is lovely. In the late afternoon they have wine tasting with some light snacks. The breakfast was quite tasty as well.

The room was quite lovely -- we were on the top floor and had a view of the river. It was terrific. The bathroom was also very nice. I'd say it was probably the nicest room we've stayed in in Niagara on the Lake -- it was very spacious and comfortable (complete with a bottle of wine and some fresh-baked cookies, personalized stationary, etc). This is a level of service that you just don't receive at the other properties.

I'd say that the Harbour House has the best service in Niagara from the places I've stayed (Shaw Club, Queen's Landing, Pillar and Post). The room was terrific as well. What it does not have is the amenities of a place like the Queen's Landing, although, it being right across the road, it is very easy to wander over and enjoy the property.

The troubling thing about NOTL is that I have no loyalty to any one of the properties in particular (except I'm very loyal to Zee's). I still need to try Charles Inn, Oban Inn, and Prince of Wales. So, at the end of the day, I will stay at whichever elite property has the best rate. Maybe if one of them started a loyalty program, I might be more loyal. ;-)

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river is splendid. I bet there isn't a bad room in the joint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musicmansimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

A very enjoyable two nights at the Harbour House. Part of a package that included a dinner at the Charles Inn, a winery tour and spa certificate, etc. Our room was a good size with a gas fireplace, which was cozy in the cool April weather. The shuttle service was very handy. The included buffet-type breakfast was nothing exotic, but more than enough to fill one up. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank NVCBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your package with us along with the fireplace in your room.

I look forward to the opportunity of saying hello during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked Harbour House for a last minute getaway from the City based on the all the wonderful reviews found on TA. What an incredible inn! I have never experienced service this amazing. The inn itself is warm and cozy, just as described. The rooms are beautifully finished and tastefully decorated, the bed was heavenly. However what really makes the Harbour House stand out is the tiny details, they've thought of everything; wine tastings, freshly baked cookies (my bf kept on going back to the lobby for more!), incredible (and filling!) breakfast, the shuttle service...I could go on. The room even comes with a rubber duck! High recommended - thank you Harbour House staff, our stay was a real treat!

PS: we booked a couple's massage at their spa, the Shaw Spa and experienced equally extraordinary service for a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plannertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The staff at the Harbor House went out of their way to make our trip as enjoyable as possible. It was cold and rainy while we were visiting, but the staff arranged massages, suggested restaurants, and gave great advice as to what we should do. They even threw in some complimentary flight cards for wine tasting at some local wineries.
The Harbor House is a beautiful hotel, the bed is scrumptiously luxurious, the bathroom is large and clean. The room was tastefully decorated with a wonderful fireplace, and there was a bottle of wine and a plate of homemade cookies waiting for us when we arrived.
The breakfast was skillfully prepared with many tempting choices. Too bad you can't possibly try everything!
Bruce, the concierge was especially helpful, carting us around in the hotel van, and making wonderful suggestions. His knowledge of the towns history and goings ons was appreciated.
My husband left a garment bag behind and we were quickly notified and asked when they could send it to us.
What a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Harbour House Hotel was so quaint and the staff very accomodating. The bed was so comfortable that I had the best sleep I've had in a long time. It was a wonderful experience and I will surely go back.

Room Tip: I've only stayed once so I can't speak of the other rooms but we were directly over the entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay and your wonderful night sleep. Our beds are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing