We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Excellent Location and FANTASTIC Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Excellent Location and FANTASTIC Staff!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I and another couple just returned home from spending 3 nights at the Harbour House Hotel. Our stay at the hotel started simply with a phone call inquiry about the packages they offered. I was transferred to Larissa and from that point on, we couldn't have been treated any better! Larissa is professional, thorough, a wealth of knowledge and an expert in her field. She organized our itinerary by merging two different packages so that we could golf and do the bike ride to the vineyards. All of our reservations were made for the two dinners which were included in our package, golf and our picnic lunch the day we went out on the bikes. We were always greeted by our family name by the front desk staff, chauffeurs and dining room staff. We were treated as if we were the only guests in the hotel. From the moment we arrived, the staff at the hotel were on. To Larissa and all of the staff (Dave, Bruce and Joseph the chaufeurs), THANK YOU SO MUCH for taking such good care of us, we had a tremendous time and will definitely let everyone we know and don't know how wonderful your hotel and staff are! Linda Farr, Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Room Tip: Room #202 - Beautiful! Make sure you make it back to the hotel between 4 & 5:30 pm to do some w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    133
    43
    17
    7
See reviews for
75
855
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My spouse and I purchased a two-night stay for July 21/22. We also booked a wine tour package through the hotel. The Charles Inn dinner is a night to remember for all the right reasons--classy, historic, excellent food and exceptionally attentive service. The breakfast was our absolute favourite--housemade and delicious treats!!! I might add that "Victoria" went out of her way to make our stay very, very exceptional. That said, everyone was more than eager to please us as well. If you are looking for an oasis in NOA and want the utmost of comfort--stay here and treat yourself. We intend to make this an annual event.

Room Tip: Ask for what 'unique' features each room offers as they do vary. Your booking is attached t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have visited NOL many times over the years and have stayed at several other hotels and B&B's in the town. This is, by far, the nicest! From the welcoming glass of wine and array of cheese and crackers upon mid-afternoon check-in, to the scrumptious breakfast the next morning, this hotel goes out of its way to make its guests completely comfortable. The room is great. The suite, which our travelling partners booked, was terrific. The bathrooms were especially lovely. Add to this, the proximity to the theatre and the main street, a walk away, and you cannot be more convenient to everything the town has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Harbour House was the perfect place for a quick weekend getaway. Located in the quaint town of Niagara-On-The-Lake, it is tucked away on a side street so the hustle bustle of the daily foot traffic along the main street isn't a concern. Everything is a quick walk away. Room was a nice size with gas burning fireplace. Breakfast each morning was plentiful and some unique items. Check in, check out, a breeze. Off street, free parking, which is really a plus since there are street meters everywhere! Even down all the side streets! The only thing I mentioned to my husband was that I wished there was a mini refrig in the room so we could store leftovers from dinner or buy cold drinks to have on hand. We've already bought a discounted gift certificate to return next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anmagemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This hotel is perfect for someone who wants a well managed, quiet,comfortable hotel located just a few minutes walk from the activity of the main street in Niagara on the Lake. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning, which was definately needed, was efficient and quiet.
The staff are most courteous and helpful with directions and arrangements. The rate included breakfast which was absolutely first rate. Each morning there was a different hot dish and fresh baked scones and muffins, fruit salad, wonderful yogourt and granola and delectable sweets were always served in the small but elegant breakfast room. The hotel does not have a dining room but each afternoon they served wine with cheese. The hotel offers free parking which considering that at the public parking lot just about 2 short blocks away charges 30./day is a wonderful feature. The hotel is three stories high and has an elevator. It's a short walk from the hotel to the river's edge which is a nice spot for a walk. I must admit that when I first saw a photo of the exterior I was a bit turned off because it has sort of a barn shape to it and it's covered with cedar shakes. However, when you see it in person, it seems to be trying to resemble a maritime-type of dwelling,I think. At any rate, it looks much better than its photos - and the building is only nine years old. We would definately stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: As this hotel is in a residential area, I would say that all the rooms should be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaSnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our first visit to NOTL was in 2004 for our honeymoon. We enjoyed Harvour House and the Shaw Festival so much that it is now our go-to place for a relaxing vacation. We've been 4 times and always stay at HH (we've looked at other hotels on-line, but for us none can compare.) We've stayed in a different room each time, and loved them all, but our favorite is definitely Rm 309, the honeymoon suite; spacious yet cozy, with a fabulous bathroom overlooking the river. They have the best, most comfy beds I've ever slept in when travelling. The buffet style (complimentary) breakfast in the conservatory is always enjoyable and a lovely start to the day. Our days are spent walking, biking (rentals on-site, and a fun bike path along the river), wine tasting (at HH each afternoon, and vineyards nearby), dining and going to the theater. The front desk, dining room and housekeeping staff are all very friendly and helpful. If you're planning to go in the summer months book early, especially if it's over a weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview room if you want to overlook the water, and face the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mratgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We most recently stayed at harbour House July 17 - 19, 2012. This was our second visit to the hotel. We booked well ahead of time to ensure the room and dates we wished: a necessity given the popularity of the hotel, unless any room will do (which they proably will). We stayed in the honeymoon suite, #309. This is our favourite room, thus far, with spacious layout, finely appointed, and numerous sets of large windows, including a bay window with window seat in the large ensuite.

The front desk staff booked dinner reservations for us at Charles Inn and Olde Angel Inn, well in advance of our arrival, at our request. Bruce is a treat to converse with: he is the gentleman there who serves up afternoon wine and cheese tasting, as well as endless stories, advice, and recommendations about Niagara-on-the-Lake, while providing free shuttle service to and from dinner reservations, or elsewhere in town, all the while engaging you in interesting conversation and with utmost professionalism.

The complimentary breakfast here was delicious both mornings, with a variety of meats, casseroles, baked items, fruit, cereals, and excellent coffee.

We highly recommend the Harbour House for those who have considered staying here. We will visit again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,456 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,957 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing