We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Were Looking for”
Review of Post House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Post House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Following our wedding in Toronto (second marriage for both of us), we wanted a short but romantic get away where we could attend theatre, enjoy good food and wine and unwind in pleasant, well appointed surroundings. Niagara on the Lake's Post House Inn turned out to be the perfect spot. Our Postmaster room was quiet, very comfortable and romantic without being over the top. Breakfast had variety, was plentiful and we enjoyed meeting the other people. Innkeeper Barbara was friendly and accommodating, and her staff (especially Nicky) were very sweet and conscientious. The Inn is only few minutes from the main shopping/dining area and about 10 minutes from The Festival Theatre - so a great location. While it's a bit pricey we plan a return visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrCharles9494, Owner at Post House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to note your review of our INN. We appreciate it.

and will continue to maintain and exceed expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 314 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

This B & B had a great location, with a nice pool and hot tub. The owner, Barbara was helpful, knowledgeable and unobtrusive. She offered suggestions for activities for the day and guided her guests through the myriad of restaurant choices in the area without being negative about any of them. She is a very positive, friendly person. Our room was quite comfortable and nicely appointed. Our breakfast was quite good and plentiful and the cook was willing to accommodate special requests. There was free internet service. The location was perfect as we walked everywhere, into town, out to the lake, to the fort , even out to Pellar winery. It was our first time but all of the other guests had been there on multiple occasions. I would definitely come back if we were in the area again. It was a great value compared to the other B & B s in the area.

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs which I think may have been quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdisanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Good location - you can park and be downtown in 5 minutes. Room was clean and quiet. Bad parts - breakfast was average at best and I suspect it was brought in as I didn't smell anything cooking which is unusual (?). There was dog poop by the pool for the entire stay - I wouldn't put up with this at home so couldn't believe I paid for this! The pool was cold and looked to be poorly maintained - hot tub was not hot - only by request. The owners are American and constant references to New York and all things american got a little old fast. Lots of choices in this place so do your home work !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuffaloLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrCharles9494, Owner at Post House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

All of our breakfasts are homemade. Depending upon the entrée, some are prepared the day before (according to the recipe) and he scent of the entrée is throughout the INN on the prior breakfast time or at guest arrival.

As to the pool area, "poop", it gets picked up frequently...however please note that we had also placed a new type of mulch that closely resembled the "p..." Will change dog access and mulch type.

Various Hot tub schedules have been tried over the last 15 years and the best time for guests has resulted in the current schedule. this schedule allows the required circulation of the pool for health/cleanliness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We are two couples who booked here for the first time and are looking to repeat. Our rooms were well appointed, clean and very comfortable. While I loved the "spa music" that floats throughout the house, we did have a devil of a time turning it off at night to switch to the TV. Better instructions needed. Barbara, our host, was very friendly and full of great suggesttions for our stay. Breakfast companions were friendly and interesting. Food was creative. We didn't use the pool but would bring a suit on our next visit. Loved the close proximity to downtown and the theaters. Expensive but I believe it was worth the price. Will repeat

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrCharles9494, Owner at Post House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Spa music to be turned off nightly at 8pm. Thanks for noting it..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a great room! The pool and hot tub were beautiful. The staff were outstanding and the included breakfast was so good! Decor was beautiful and the Inn is close to down town and with in a 10 min walk to the lake. We are planning to rebook !

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Marie-knows-best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This B & B was quaint but was not what we expected. We were greeted by Barbara who was friendly but in a rush and high strung. For a week day getaway relaxation was the key and I had hoped to use a clean pool and hot tub only to find a cold, dirty pool and a hot tub that was not operational and hot until 4:30 and was shut down by 11:00 p.m. We had hoped to use the facilities in the morning but the hot tub was not turned on and heated....this was a major disappointment.

We arrived at breakfast at the schedule 9:00 time to find only one seat available for myself and boyfriend. We were hesitantly served in the parlor on the couch but received great service from a fine young gentleman. Breakfast was cold and Barbara appeared to be overwhelmed.

The room was comfortable and clean and the location to the pool and hot tub was nice. Niagara On The Lake is beautiful but this B&B was not worth the money paid.

Room Tip: Would not stay here again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ek684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrCharles9494, Owner at Post House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Our pool is not heated and does not advertise that it is. Our hot tub schedule has been developed over the 15 years according to guests requests and the requirement of circulating the pool for health and cleanliness guidelines.

At breakfast there were two seats available; but not next to each other, so guests requested to sit on the couch. we quickly set up the area, and served the guests their breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This inn has a lot going for it--great location close to the village and good restaurants, a hot tub, and free wifi. But the proprietress is not the cheerful and helpful innkeeper that you expect to experience when you pay too much to stay at a bed and breakfast place. She limits checkin to her convenience, serves coffee in the morning not until 8, and leaves you at checkin with a poorly drafted and inaccurate sheet of paper taped to your room door explaining how to operate wifi, the TV, etc. I even had to ring the front door to get her attention with my questions. And waiting until 9 am for the cold frittata was a disappointment. We would not recommend staying here if there are other options--guests are treated like they are a hassle she just has to deal with.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrCharles9494, Manager at Post House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The guest welcome sheet includes information about how to reach the INNkeeper- there is a phone in the Llibrary; breakfast is served at 9am, besides a Contintenal breakfast that is offered from 8 30 until 10am. Sometimes guests are late, we need to be more aware of our temperature of our entrée.

Our goal is to provide a wonderful relaxing experience for our guests... Sometimes, we are human and our best is not apparent, sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,748 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,381 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,073 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post House Inn

Address: 95 Johnson St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $189 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Post House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Post House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing