We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting to Hear History From the Other Side”

Fort George National Historic Site of Canada
Book In Advance
More Info
$435.19*
and up
Air Taxi and Tour from Niagara - Toronto Including Ground Transport from...
Eastern Shore Maryland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interesting to Hear History From the Other Side”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

As American, it was enlightening to hear history of the Revolutionary War and War of 1812 from the Canadian/British perspective. Staff at Ft. George was very informative and entertaining. Was interesting to compare footprint of Ft. George to that of other forts of that era we've toured over the years.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank passlaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    287
    45
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Commemorating General Brock”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Well I'm prejudiced as General Brock is a relative of mine so I was very interested to hear all about the Fort's(and my relative's) significance in the War of 1812. The guides were very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 81Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just okay”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The guides were great, but since the fort is a reproduction, it was lacking authenticity. This fort was not in use very long.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NLAlsip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The intrigue of the past shines through”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We decided at the last minute to tour Fort George. It was a good decision! The staff were extremely well-informed and entertaining. We explored the Fort on our own but sat for the extremely entertaining musket demonstration. We thought the admission was a bit steep, but were grateful to have the parking fee of $6 applied to our admission fee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LynneM4Gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Interesting and Fun”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived at the Fort in a steady rain. Off in the distance was a man in period uniform playing a fife. What a perfect setting for our visit. The first event was a demonstration of the musket, and the young man giving the demo was very good. Dry sense of humor, had us all laughing, but still very informative. After that we were treated to the rest of the tour by a woman who was a wealth of knowledge. She was very good at storytelling and bringing the history of the war to life. I would highly recommend a visit to Fort George and plan on a couple of hours. As an American, it was really interesting to get a view of the war from a different perspective.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jondalar410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort George National Historic Site of Canada also viewed

 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Fort George National Historic Site of Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing