We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brief visit”

Fort George National Historic Site of Canada
Book In Advance
More Info
$428.10*
and up
Air Taxi and Tour from Niagara - Toronto Including Ground Transport from...
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brief visit”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The fort has been reconstructed in a fashion that reflects its role and importance in defending British North America even though it was sacrificed in the undertaking. The ultimate result is a proud and free nation that was born from the ashes of the War of 1812.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    278
    43
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Experience Fort George”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Worth visiting for the history & demonstrations you are given. It doesn't take too long to do so you would still be able to fit in othe attractions the same day. We have said for years we would go one summer. Finally we did & we're glad we did.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“History Buff's Playground”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Not my first time and definitely not my last! Sepent an entire afternoon here and could have easily spent an evening as well! Alot to see and very well kept, visually stunning and informative.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Closed... but”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We wandered in .... being history teachers enjoyed the plaques and buildings and ramparts. We encountered a class dressed as red coats and we were welcomed to listen in their tour. The leader was excellent. I did not like the buildings being closed... but understand why.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tonie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have been here a few times, and found it a nice Historical place to visit. Friendly staff etc. Go on Canada and it is free to enter. Parking is fine but you have to pay, but I think you gett the moneyback off a ticket if you go into the Fort. A bit awkward for wheel chair capability.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulandJoanne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort George National Historic Site of Canada also viewed

 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Fort George National Historic Site of Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing