We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW lot's happening here - don't miss it!”

Fort George National Historic Site of Canada
Book In Advance
More Info
$424.56*
and up
Air Taxi and Tour from Niagara - Toronto Including Ground Transport from...
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“WOW lot's happening here - don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you're visiting the Niagara area be sure to stop by at Fort George and you'll need lot's of time to see everything too. There are live events/demonstrations happening within the fort fairly regularly such as fife & drum, musket demos & shots, cannon demo & shot and much more. The displays/exhibits were informative, interactive and enjoyable and exactly what we were looking for to learn more about the War of 1812. We ran out of time to see everything but we did get into the kitchen where ladies in period costume were cooking over an open fire, they made us some cookies! And they were baking squash bread and pie! Too bad we couldn't have stayed longer as I would have loved to try those. All of the staff/actors in period costume loved getting questions and had loads of information. Lot's of fun and you're sure to learn something new - I'll be telling everyone I know about it.

Also - there are ghost walks here on some evenings. We went on a Wednesday night and Jared our tour guide was absolutely fantastic. The atmosphere and storytelling were incredible - even though I didn't see any ghosts that night, it really felt like they were there. Just the right combination of spookiness + history. Highly recommended (unless you're scared of the dark!)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MorningGlory905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    272
    42
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manilla, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always good !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice friendly staff, great to take the kids to can have a hands on experience and see people dressed up in era costume. Live displays and musket demonstrations. Any questions answered politely and in multiple languages !!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank michelle851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good timing is important”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

With not much to offer on the ground the added talks and demonstrations really added value to the visit. Don't forget to bring your parking receipt for a discount on admission. Very nice and new bathrooms at the front of the fort. Nicely shaded picnic area with a nice view of the fort for a picnic lunch. Didn't need more than 1.5 hours in the fort to see everything. Don't need to go back, very generic fort. Not much interpreted life.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wattski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a musket display”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a very well done reconstruction but it is the participants who bring it to life. The man who describes the musket and then fires it at 'military speed' is informative, funny and skilled.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
279 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“great 1812 attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

this fort is an excellent restoration and is very well interpreted during re-enactments. The walls and grading are complete, and there are several building inside. The powder magazine in original and there is a neat passage through the wall to an outside blockhouse. The buildings have displays and, when we were there, very enthusiastic, helpful interpreters to enhance the experience. Surrounded by a large park, there is a new, clean restroom outside the fort. The nearby ticket office/gift shop has no displays but a nice selection of souvenir items for it's size.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank greenfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort George National Historic Site of Canada also viewed

 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Fort George National Historic Site of Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing