We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit for a fun historic day!”

Fort George National Historic Site of Canada
Book In Advance
More Info
$426.68*
and up
Air Taxi and Tour from Niagara - Toronto Including Ground Transport from...
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
272 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Visit for a fun historic day!”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Enjoyed this a great deal as the animators were excellent and humorous asides to lighten their stories. Great bookshop there as well.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank EPMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    277
    43
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great historical tour”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We have been learning about the War of 1812 and having read many stories of the time it was great to see the history come to life...The kids (5 and 8) were not bored at all and they really enjoyed the tunnel to the lookout tower!! The adults found there was a relaxed pace and you were free to explore or not, with the regular tours offereing some great information...It was really neat to stand looking out towards the US across the river and imagine hundreds of ships firing on the fort and what it must have been like to be a soldier or an officer at that time...

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weyburn, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit to Fort George”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We were impressed with the size of the fort. The gift shop was interesting.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fascinating tour, Canadian Nationalism eh?”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I have to say when I went to the Fort I had not really considered the Civil War. I just got told it is a good way to spend a morning.
When we arrived we parked the car and paid our entrance fee, we were met at the gate and whisked straight into a tour. The tour is free, and optional, but I recommend you take it. The guide was very knowledgeable, dressed in his period uniform. I believe that most of the workers are fanatics and as such know everything.
The role of the fort was explained to us, and the tactics used, and a precis of the war was given (who won again?!). We then saw the soldier's and officer's accommodations, and then saw a rifle demonstration. We then looked around on our own. The site has so much to see. On our way out we got chatting to the guide who truly had some amazing knowledge and was happy to answer any questions.
If you have a morning free, and are bored of the tack of the attractions near Niagara Falls, take a half hour drive, it is worth it!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank seanpearce78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Located about 20 minutes walk from the main thoroughfare in Niagara-on-the-Lake is Fort Goerge. With the more-modern looking buidlings, you cannot imagine a 19th century fort hiding behind the trees. Before you get to enter, you need to purchase your tickets at a small building outside the fort. You are given a "token' which you need to give to the Guard at the gate of the fort.

All dressed up in uniform of its time, the Guard will hand you a map of the area and tells you a little about the on-going activities at the fort. We just wondered by ourselves - afterall, where else can you go within the confinement of the fort - literally!

In the hot mid-afternoon sun, we watch a platoon of riflemen marching to the orders given by a Sergeant. Then after a bout of explanation on how the soldiers used the muskets / rifles to shoot, they let go several rounds. Apparently, these "soldiers" are volunteers and the longer you are with the fort, the higher your rank is - but you also need to be skilled.

As we moved about, we save cannons from the era, carpentry equipment, living quarters of the officers vs the ordinary soldiers, the mess-room. Most interesting of all was a demonstration of the musical instruments - which also gave a good background about how the sounds meant different "instructions" in the battlefield.

You can also see Fort Niagara which is on the US side and you can imagine cannon balls being fired from there to Fort George and vice versa!

The fort itself is not very big, perhaps, about 30 mins to complete the round but there are many small things you might be interested in reading, or looking at that will take most of the time. Bring an umbrella or where protective gear for the summer sun is strong and there is not very many shelters around.

Overall, a great place to learn about the lives of the 19th century soldiers!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank bruceli_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort George National Historic Site of Canada also viewed

 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Fort George National Historic Site of Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing