We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The WOW factor”

Whirlpool Jet Boat Tours
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$59.47*
and up
Niagara Falls Open Jet Boat Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One-hour whitewater adventure that combines the magnificent scenery and historic highlights of lower Niagara River.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The WOW factor”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you want a thrill and a true experience of the power of the Mighty Niagara make this a top stop if your in the Niagara area. YOU WILL GET DRENCHED!!! Not just a little wet but soaked. At one point I was sitting up to my chest in water! As a ship's captain I don't normally like to be in a vessel up to my chest in water.

One of the best things to do in the area.

Only thing, I would not recommend this for kids under 12.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DiveDude69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    85
    23
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Trip...”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Ok, this one is easy - what could be better than flying up the Niagara river basin at 60mph into class 5 rapids - nothing I can think of! First off, the staff was great, very friendly and helpful and they knew how to handle smaller kids who seemed tentative. If you research beforehand you will know that you'll come back soaked, so bring some towels to dry off. And don't bring anything that can't get wet. The staff will instruct you to seats that you will get less wet, if that's you're pleasure. Our group sat front and center and I wouldn't do it any other way!!! We flew up the river like a bat out of hell, did some 360's, plunged headlong into some big waves and had some big water come over the top an into the boat. Now before you panic, they do not hit these big swells and 60mph, rather they coast into it and roll the nose down into the trough and scoop the water over the boat with the bow of the boat, which is shaped a bit like a shovel. They will offer you some poncho type windbreakers to help block some wind so you don't get as cold (you'll still get wet). We were there in July and didn't take them and we definitely did not need them. This ride is not meant to be scary as much as it is thrilling. Although a bit pricey, where else are you going to do this?? For a one-time, unique thrill, you should not miss this. It is fun for all ages. And you can purchase a great video and stills from the trip memorializing your adventure. Simply awesome!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 5BeachBumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Tuscany
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Not quite as exciting as promoted...”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The safety briefings are over the top. Far too much scaremongering.

Actually scared my wife off from going.

In the event, it was fun but not exhilerating.... Sitting in the middle of the boat there's no sense of speed or thrill. Waterproof clothing didn't help. You come off soaked anyway.

But what really ruined it for me is the cliche'd, constant 'yee hah...ing' of the guides (like we are all 5 year olds and need some motivational screeching)... their nasal microphone speakers yelling in one's ears and the fact these things only worked intermittently.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CupletBalsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You have to do this!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This ride is awesome, you have to do it - and it's not just for the young it's for the young at heart. Funny and friendly staff give full safety briefings beforehand and make sure everyone has a life jacket. You can also have a poncho and fleece if you want but nothing will keep you dry - you will get soaked down to your underwear so make sure you have a change of clothes with you and preferably a towel. The first 3 rows are what they call the power rows and these are the ones where you will get most water. The Hamilton Turns the boat does and the ride through the Devils Hole makes getting wet worth it and speeding along at 55mph on the way back your hair might sort of dry out a bit - well not really! You won't be able to take your own photos through the rapids as everything including spectacles need to be put in a pouch before you but you can buy a USB stick with a 4 minute video of the trip and stills shots of all the passengers, they also take your picture before you board and you can buy a copy of that as well. Some people might feel it is a little expensive but it is well worth it - how often can you say you have run class 5 rapids.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Can I give it an extra FIVE stars?!?”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

What an AWESOME thing to do! So much fun we wanted to do it over and over! The weather was perfect, high 70s, but we were comfortable even after getting soaked in the rapids! They give you a sweater and a poncho....not to keep you dry, but to keep you warm! Getting soaked while flying over the river at 55 mph can get chilly, but they made sure we were prepared. This experience should not be missed, and we're glad we bought the video of the trip also,so cool!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DaddyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whirlpool Jet Boat Tours also viewed

 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Whirlpool Jet Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing