We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Bank House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$319
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$155
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Landing(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince of Wales(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$105
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$118
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Landing Inn(Queenston)(Great Value!)
$130
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
61
25
9
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
25
9
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake ontariopine roomshared balconyeggs benedictmain shops and restaurantsroyal parkthe main streetb blake viewmy husband and ihosts were lovelyawesome locationstay there againstayed for nightsqueen bedbaked goodsamazing breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 112 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012

BeauTiful location, gorgeous decor, outstanding service and hospitality. Loved it loved it loved it! Thanks Michael and Judy for making out stay so memorable! You have a gorgeous place.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yndesouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at the Old Bank House for four nights in May 2012. It was a beautiful, quiet, and restful place. The owners were lovely and very helpful when we asked for directions and suggestions for spots to visit. The breakfasts were AMAZING.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My Husband and I stayed here this weekend for our wedding anniversary. We had such an amazing time! I read a lot of reviews for this place and thought went there not really sure what to expect. This was our first B&B experience and we must say.... It was amazing! The entire house was absolutely stunning. The room was beautiful. High ceilings and antique furniture made this experience even better. We stayed in "The Gallery Suite" that had French doors that went out to a balcony that overlooked the park and lake. Stunning view! We got up early to do tai chi on the shore and then got back for an amazing breakfast! The hot pears with custard was just what we needed, the eggs benedict was delicious. The entire experience was much more than I expected. The location of this B&B was perfect! Within walking distance to the main street with all the shops and right across the street from the lake. What more could you ask for? The service was great and the owners were the nicest people! So thank you to the staff at the Olde Bank House for making our stay so wonderful. We will be back!!! Guaranteed!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at the Old Bank House in August 2011 in order to be in the same B&B as other people we knew and have breakfast together. It is a lovely building in a lovely location. However, for $276/per night I expected to find very nice things like bed linen, towels, shampoo, comfortable bed. We had none of those things. The bed we had was extremely uncomfortable - it felt like a very cheap mattress with very little padding over the inner springs. The bed linens were terrible: pilled, cheap, polyester or poly/combo. They were scratchy and uncomfortable. The towels in the bathroom were thin and the face cloths were tattered on the edges. There was one bar of soap, a half bottle of shampoo, and a half bottle of a body lotion. I have no problem with environmentally friendly people re-using plastic bottles, but they could fill them up.

The bedroom had access to a veranda - along with two other bedrooms. There was one table, four chairs. No umbrella, no shade, and not one flower pot. In a town such as NOTL - which is known for its summer beauty - it is very surprising to see a veranda of that size with nothing pretty on it. If the other two rooms had wanted to share it there would be no place to sit.

We also spent a little time in the room with two double beds as we were visiting others who had that room. The same complaints were voiced by our friends: terrible beds, linen and bath towels.

There is a lovely front porch which runs the width of the house. There are chairs for guests. There is a wider, round area at the end of the porch with a table and a number of chairs. However, when we went out there to enjoy a glass of wine (there were 6 of us) the area was taken over by the owners and their friends. I would expect that if other guests were already there, that would be the luck of the draw. But it does not seem appropriate for the owners to commandeer the best spot for themselves when they have a house full of paying guests.

I agree with some of the other reviews about the parking situation there, too - it is far too small and crowded.

The breakfast was good - but there was no offer of another piece of toast or English muffin.
We were advised that breakfast that morning was 'eggs benedict'. It arrived and it was a version of 'eggs benedict' made with smoked salmon. This was fine with me, but one of our party could not eat smoked salmon, and was not given any other choice or a substitute.

I have stayed in at least half a dozen B&Bs over the years in NOTL and they have all been delightful - and at prices between $99 and $150/per night. In fact, they were all far superior to this B&B - and the breakfasts were equally as good or better.

And one other thing: if you are allergic to dust, this is not the place for you. The downstairs in particular - hallway, sitting room, and dining room looked as though it hadn't been dusted in weeks.

I would not recommend this anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank OntarioEnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We recently stayed for the weekend at The Old Bank House with 3 other couples. We had stayed there several years ago and looked forward to our return. The house has newer owners now and it was a total disappointment. The bed was hard and ordinary as were the thin towels. The breakfasts were small and service was slow. The decor is hodge podge like a gigantic garage sale. We gathered in the living room one evening at 8 pm and were told that we had to be quiet by 10 pm. Not very friendly. The weather turned cold and so did the rooms with no temperature control. For paying in-season rates, this once first class B & B is now at the bottom of the list. Not a cozy welcoming place.

Room Tip: The rooms with carpeting were warmer than the ones with hard wood floors.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews