We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moffat Inn
Nearby Hotels
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$222
$203
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BranCliff Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shaw Club Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Landing(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince of Wales(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
South Landing Inn(Queenston)(Great Value!)
$203
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
98
99
40
25
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
99
40
25
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprince of walesvintage hotelsshaw festival venuesthe main streetice machinedesk staffsmall decksister hotelexcellent locationkeurig coffee makerprivate entrancesmall hoteltwo double bedsair conditionerfirst floorwithin easy walking distanceshops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 271 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at the Moffat Inn this past summer and was very disappointed. The room we were given (front) seemed to have been hastily - and rather sloppily - renovated (see photos): peeling wallpaper, windows that were unopenable (because the lift handles had been broken off), a sink it was impossible to stand directly in front of, poor-quality workmanship in the trim, etc. Having stayed at other Vintage properties (The Prince of Wales, Queen's Landing) in the past, we were disappointed (especially given the price): This is a big step down (even from Vintage's current standards, which are far from what they used to be). Sad.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrawnaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We (4 couples) spent a night at the Moffatt Inn and enjoyed our stay.

The lobby had a musty smell and the carpets and furnishings are worn out. This definitely needs updating and we worried when we checked in that our room would have similar issues but all our rooms were fine. Our room (115) was clean, quiet and the two double beds were comfortable with nice bedding and pillows. It was a chilly rainy day and could not get the fireplace working.

Having access to the Prince of Wales hotel next door was convenient for breakfast and we used their convenient shuttle service to Peller Estates, where we had dinner.

After our evening at Peller we returned to the Prince of Wales bar (just before midnight) for a night cap and we got the negative vibe from the bartender to hurry up because he wanted to close down the bar.

The location of the hotel is excellent and it was handy for lovely walks through the village.

I found the price of 239$ a bit expensive for a basic hotel but when you compare it to other NOTL hotels it is one of the least expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed at this wonderful Inn for many years. It has a great location near the shops, restaurants, river Shaw Festival theaters, so one can walk everywhere and leave the car in lot. The service is great and the accommodations are very Comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drosenlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have stayed at this quaint inn for years. It has a great location near the shops and theaters, so one can walk everywhere and leave car in lot. Rooms are clean, roomy and beds comfortable. I do have a couple complaints, though. One, there is no restroom in lobby for guests. We arrived early, and our room was not ready, and no restroom available. Two, the coffee pots are electric pots, to boil water, for instant coffee. Coffee is available in lobby, but it would be nice to have decent coffee in room. Overall I would recommend this inn!

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so for travelers who have trouble walking up stairs, might want to request first floor room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Moffat Inn is a lovely hotel with the coziness and friendliness of a B and B. The rooms are very comfortable, newly renovated with excellent plumbing. The staff is particularly kind, helpful and friendly. The location in NOTL couldn't be better for access to all the Shaw Festival theaters, and the waterfront. Since it's an historic building, it has the charm and feeling of NOTL without the high prices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carole t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews