We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Week”
Review of Moffat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moffat Inn
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in beautiful Niagara on the Lake. We stayed five nights at the Moffat Inn and found it to be quite comfortable. Our room was not large but we knew that before hand. We were quite comfortable with a nice shower and in room refrigerator. The best part of our stay was Nikki, Jason and Natalie at the front desk. They could not have been more friendly or helpful. Beautiful park across the street and pub downstairs. Walking distance to everything. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: No elevator. Second floor walk up stairs. Beware if you have heavy luggage. Street side was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 261 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at the Moffat Inn this past summer and was very disappointed. The room we were given (front) seemed to have been hastily - and rather sloppily - renovated (see photos): peeling wallpaper, windows that were unopenable (because the lift handles had been broken off), a sink it was impossible to stand directly in front of, poor-quality workmanship in the trim, etc. Having stayed at other Vintage properties (The Prince of Wales, Queen's Landing) in the past, we were disappointed (especially given the price): This is a big step down (even from Vintage's current standards, which are far from what they used to be). Sad.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrawnaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We (4 couples) spent a night at the Moffatt Inn and enjoyed our stay.

The lobby had a musty smell and the carpets and furnishings are worn out. This definitely needs updating and we worried when we checked in that our room would have similar issues but all our rooms were fine. Our room (115) was clean, quiet and the two double beds were comfortable with nice bedding and pillows. It was a chilly rainy day and could not get the fireplace working.

Having access to the Prince of Wales hotel next door was convenient for breakfast and we used their convenient shuttle service to Peller Estates, where we had dinner.

After our evening at Peller we returned to the Prince of Wales bar (just before midnight) for a night cap and we got the negative vibe from the bartender to hurry up because he wanted to close down the bar.

The location of the hotel is excellent and it was handy for lovely walks through the village.

I found the price of 239$ a bit expensive for a basic hotel but when you compare it to other NOTL hotels it is one of the least expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed at this wonderful Inn for many years. It has a great location near the shops, restaurants, river Shaw Festival theaters, so one can walk everywhere and leave the car in lot. The service is great and the accommodations are very Comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drosenlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have stayed at this quaint inn for years. It has a great location near the shops and theaters, so one can walk everywhere and leave car in lot. Rooms are clean, roomy and beds comfortable. I do have a couple complaints, though. One, there is no restroom in lobby for guests. We arrived early, and our room was not ready, and no restroom available. Two, the coffee pots are electric pots, to boil water, for instant coffee. Coffee is available in lobby, but it would be nice to have decent coffee in room. Overall I would recommend this inn!

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so for travelers who have trouble walking up stairs, might want to request f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Moffat Inn is a lovely hotel with the coziness and friendliness of a B and B. The rooms are very comfortable, newly renovated with excellent plumbing. The staff is particularly kind, helpful and friendly. The location in NOTL couldn't be better for access to all the Shaw Festival theaters, and the waterfront. Since it's an historic building, it has the charm and feeling of NOTL without the high prices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carole t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our room was advertised as "premium" with rates to match but fell very short in delivering in many ways. Rugs were dirty, furniture was tired and location of our room was horrible. Our patio backed out on the parking lot, and the smell of grease coming from the kitchen ventilation prohibited sitting on it.. The one redeeming feature was the comfortable beds. The lobby of the Inn is deplorable, musty smelling and not welcoming at all. I could not in good conscience recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5bann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
604 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moffat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moffat Inn

Address: 60 Picton St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $112 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moffat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moffat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moffat Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing