We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moffat Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Shaw Club Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince of Wales(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Queen's Landing(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dallavalle(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Charles Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
97
98
38
24
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
98
38
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprince of walesvintage hotelsshaw festival venuesice machinethe main streetdesk staffsister hotelexcellent locationkeurig coffee makerprivate entrancesmall hotelfort georgetwo double bedsair conditionerfirst floorwithin easy walking distancebit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 266 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Selected this Inn based on the hotels website photos, their claim of "Cottage Chic", good location, and the rave reviews from others on Trip Advisor. Three months in advance I booked 2 rooms selecting the more expensive "Premium" rooms @ $265. per night to guarantee we would get one of the better rooms in the lodge. We were given room #123 right next to the busy backdoor leading to the parking lot. Our friends were placed across the hall. After inspecting the shabby rooms and asking to be relocated, we were told there were no other rooms available. There were 5 black garbage bags lining the hallway for the 2 days we were there. The ice machine was right outside our door, with people banging the ice & slamming the lid all night long. The rooms were in desperate need of refinishing. The sofa was old and saging, the rugs faded and dingy. The tub had dirty looking stick-on decals. I was hoping for Vintage Charm and instead got '80's Garage Sale. Very disappointing. Thankfully they have recently replaced the beds so they were comfortable and clean. For the price we paid next visit to NOTL we'll walk a couple of blocks and get a something much better.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LikeToTravel003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

stayed here for one night ,nice cosy room, wonderful staff ,decent facilities,fantastic location, what more can i say

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buster47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed in NOTL at the Moffat for a wedding and enjoyed our stay.

Rooms - very clean with classy older feel, every item was high quality - especially the beds, which were very comfortable.
Location - amazing! - on the main street within walking distance of all dining, shopping and attractions. In the heart of Niagara Wine Country - a short drive from vineyards.
Food - not much to offer at the hotel, but very close to downtown; cafe sells starbucks in the hotel for all those who love their java
Service - front desk was very attentive and friendly
Value - expensive relative to other vacations, but you are paying for the location. Relative to other Vintage Inn Hotels or comparable accomadation it was decent value. Although next time we stay, we may look at a local Bed and Breakfast as there is a wide selection close to the downtown area.

Benefits
- location (vineyards, shopping, dining)
- bed comfort/sleep quality
- antique feel of room

Drawbacks
- expensive

Overall: very nice and we would definitely return; especially to the area - we loved Niagara on the Lake!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Queen Deluxe room offered a fabulously comfortable plush bed/bedding. AIr conditionning was old and noisy but worked extremely well. Bathroom not air conditioned. Couch could use an update, but there's a sitting area, so no real issue. Bed is on a raised section of this long room (think subway car shaped) so you need to step up from entrance/living area and then again down to use the washroom. A bit tricky middle of the night, so leave the door closed to preserve A/C and remind you to wake up and step down! Continental breakfast $8CAD not included, but there's a kettle in the room and either use their supplies or bring your own. No fridge.

Excellent location: walking distance to main tourist shopping and to all venues of Shaw Festival. Buy lunch at the local grocery store (Value Mart) and eat in the park or the room. Alot less expensive and noisy than restaurants, which all seem equally priced and serve upscale versions of usual fare.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

This is a lovely little inn. Cozy and cute. No exciting amenities to write about, but we weren't looking for anything like that. Just a comfortable place to sleep. And it was comfortable!! Those beds are wonderful. And the location cannot be beat. Walking distance to shops, park, lake.

But the very best....the staff are so sweet. Everyone we encountered was friendly and very pleasant to deal with. Genuine smiles. They jump up to open a door when you are carrying luggage. It was such a breath of fresh air. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiseanderson101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews