We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good atmosphere, terrible staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olde Angel Inn Hotel and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olde Angel Inn Hotel and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good atmosphere, terrible staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2006

We stayed in the Captain's room on the long weekend in May. The inn itself has a rustic feel, but the room was a lot smaller than the website shows and was very dusty and not clean. The staff was not friendly, very dismissive, and borderline rude. Nobody informed us of checkout time, but didn't hesitate banging on the door loudly demanding that we leave the room at 10 minutes past the checkout time. I have stayed at many inns and hotels, and never has any staff member been so rude and unprofessional. I would NOT recommend this inn. There are plenty of other options in this beautiful town, do not settle for the Olde Angel Inn's sub par accomodations and service.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CCIU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    109
    25
    9
    12
See reviews for
53
212
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2006

I was really concerned when I read some of the previous reviews and almost canceled my reservation. Boy I am glad that I did not! The staff was friendly and helpful and the value that you get for the NOTL region is fantastic.

Please be warned...They do have musicians playing in the evenings and if you are looking for a fancy hotel or quiet B&B, then this is probably not the place for you.

However, if you enjoy a pub atmosphere with good music and food, and like to stay in a down-to-earth unique inn...then this it a great place to stay while you are in the NOTL region.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valerie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2005

We are the ladies that stayed at the Inn that night. Sorry that your Anniversary was spoiled by us, but one must wonder why for an Anniversary that you would stay at an Inn and not a quite Honeymoon suite. Like yourselves, we we're a group of 9 women all with children of different ages looking for the exact place we stayed. We we're getting away from it all and just having fun. We we're told by the hotel manager that we had been too loud and had calmed down the next night. I hope that you will reconsider the Inn again for holidays but bring your friends and have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2005

My husband and I wanted a nice weekend getaway for our 10 year anniversary. We knew there was a pub downstairs, so we expected some level of noise early on. The pub closed at 12:30 and everyone was gone by 1AM. Unfortunately there was a group of women split between one of the cottages and the rooms by ours. They spent the night going back and forth between the two places. Our room was at the top of the stairs and right above the front door. Every time the door shut or one of them went up and down the stairs it was extremely loud and impossible to sleep. Needless to say we got about 3 hours of sleep the first night. We decided to leave (because we can be at home with our 3 small children and get more sleep than that) and unable to book a room anywhere else so late, had to go home on Saturday, ruining our once every three or so years weekend getaway! The management (when we could finally find them) did let us out of paying for the second night, but offered no solution to the problem.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2005

I have been frequenting the Angel Inn on a regular basis since the mid 1970's and have witnessed a few changes in ownership and management style over the years. I had been told that new ownership had made some positive changes and decided to "see for myself". Recently a friend and I went for dinner to what had been one of my favourite establishments in NOTL. We were met with disappointment. The pub area had been increased in size and that was good but the beer that was served was somewhat warm and the meal served (all meals had increased in price) was certainly not as generous a portion as had been served in the past. Simply stated, the Angel Inn seems to have fallen into the present NOTL mode...........boost the price, limit the quality and quantity, cater to the tourist crowd.........and be damned with the locals. Too bad..........hopefully this is not yet another NOTL establisment that is not interested in repeat business. I will return after the peak tourist season of the summer is over and give the Angel Inn one more opportunity to impress.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank rossw938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2005

The atmosphere of the Olde Angel Inn Hotel and Restaurant was ok but the $28 CAD prime rib and $22 CAD chicken supreme were decidedly ordinary. We had high expectations for the chicken supreme based on the menu but were let down by the small portions and cheap chicken used. We were lucky to have used the Entertainment Card which saved us $20 CAD as we would have been disappointed had we paid full price.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2005

On a recent trip to NOTL to pick up Shaw Festival tickets, my friend and I decided to eat lunch in the Angel Inn's Pub. I'd heard that it was good. The service was fairly ordinary, although the waitress didn't ask me whether I wanted unsweetened or sweetened iced tea so I got the latter and had to send it back. My friend ordered the Ploughman's lunch which, though on the appetizer menu, cost over $11 CAD and I ordered the Ceaser salad with salmon. I was very surprised to see that her "three cheeses with French bread, fruits and vegetables" consisted of three rather thin slices of cheese rather than the hunks I'd always associated with Ploughman's lunches. Her French bread looked as if it was made by the Wonder Company rather than a bakery and they only gave her three tiny pieces of it. My own salad had reasonably good greens and dressing and the salmon was o.k. but the croutons looked as if they came from the same Wonder company (very tiny squares) and the entire mess was topped with Bacos. To my knowledge, bacon isn't usually part of a Caesar salad, but if it was, I'd expect real bacon bits and not Bacos. It was most definately not worth the price and when I go back next week for an extended stay, we will not be eating there.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Angel Inn Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Angel Inn Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Olde Angel Inn Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 224 Regent, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step through the doors and back into history! The Olde Angel Inn (Circa 1789 - burned down as a result of the war of 1812 and rebuilt in 1815) is situated in the heart of the historic district. We have 5 cosy, comfortable historic rooms and we are a short stroll to the main street and Shaw Festival Theatre; as well as a short drive to many of the local wineries. We offer hearty British Pub fare as well as 24 selections of draught beer on tap and 17 different wines by the glass. Live entertainment is provided on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights(Wednesday during peak season). Stop by and visit Canada's prettiest town! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing