We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lively” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olde Angel Inn

The Olde Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Step through the doors and back into history! The Olde Angel Inn (Circa 1789 - burned down as a result of the war of 1812 and rebuilt in 1815) is situated in the heart of the historic district. We have 5 cosy, comfortable historic rooms and we are a short stroll to the Main Street and Shaw Festival Theatre; as well as a short drive to many of the local wineries. We offer hearty British Pub fare as well as 24 selections of draught beer on tap and 17 different wines by the glass. Live entertainment is provided on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights (Wednesday during peak season). Stop by and visit Canada's prettiest town!
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lively”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Olde Angel Inn is no a tradition for our family and friends. We take in plays at NOTL every August and it is a must to visit the Angel Inn afterwards. Very noisy by fun.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Cheryl C;
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Yes, we are extremely lively as we do have many people who love to visit us to take in the ambiance of our historic pub. I'm glad you make it a tradition to come here before seeing the play and I guess we will see you next year when you make another visit to our area.
Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    673
    177
    36
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hearty delicious food in a great historic space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were looking for something not too expensive, and found wonderful food at the Olde Angel Inn, just a block off the main shopping district in the Old Town. The building was built in 1814 and it's charming inside and the food was good. We had shepherds pie and quiche and a huge salad. The food was great and the service very friendly and quick.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jbinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear jbinOhio;
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Here at The Olde Angel Inn you know you can be guaranteed great food without spending a lot of money. We are very reasonably priced and you always get value for money, as you have noticed. Our building is Circa 1789 and was burned down in 1813. It was rebuilt in 1815/1816 and still remains as the best establishment after all these years. We hope that we will see you again, should you visit our area again in the future.
Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
293 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“A Niagara on the Lake Favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I enjoy coming here for a few beers at the bar then staying for a late dinner. We always meet interesting people.

Staff are great! They try and match what you like in beer with what they offer, and readily let you sample what they have. (They have lots of local wines available too). On this trip we ordered the prime rib - although a little well-done, the flavour was delicious and the Yorkshire pudding was divine.

If you like pub fare and a great pub atmosphere, you will enjoy The Olde Angel Inn!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CinR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear CinR;
Thank you for taking the time to write you review. I'm glad you make this your NOTL Favourite place to go to. We do have a great selection of beers on tap as well as many local wines which makes this place so special. We hope to see you again on your next trip to NOTL.
Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
185 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We enjoyed lunch here recently and the food was excellent. The servers were excellent, the environment was casual and cozy and the food was very fresh. We would definitely go to this restaurant again next time we visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbug0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Travelbug0909
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad we were that "Great Find" for you and your friends/family. Now that you know where we are and what we are all about, I hope you will drop in again next time you visit NOTL.
Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
164 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Irish food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We squeezed lunch here between two performances at the nearby Court Theatre. Service was speedy but polite and attentive. The meals were very good and the beers interesting. Good for a quick meal

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Carole S;
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad you had a nice time in our "English" Pub and you enjoyed your meals, beverages and service. Hopefully we will see you again some day should you make it back to NOTL
Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Angel Inn also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Olde Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing