We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Pub!”
Review of The Olde Angel Inn

The Olde Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Step through the doors and back into history! The Olde Angel Inn (Circa 1789 - burned down as a result of the war of 1812 and rebuilt in 1815) is situated in the heart of the historic district. We have 5 cosy, comfortable historic rooms and we are a short stroll to the Main Street and Shaw Festival Theatre; as well as a short drive to many of the local wineries. We offer hearty British Pub fare as well as 24 selections of draught beer on tap and 17 different wines by the glass. Live entertainment is provided on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights (Wednesday during peak season). Stop by and visit Canada's prettiest town!
Markham, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pub!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

A great local pub. Was busy on World Cup quarter-finals - but great to be part of the fun. Their prime rib is wonderful - and very well priced.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Sara H;
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad you had the opportunity to stop by The Olde Angel Inn during the World Cup, what better place is there to watch a game but at an English Pub?...and you're always guaranteed a good Prime Rib dinner here as well! Thank you for visiting us and hopefully we will see you again some day!
Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,018
    716
    192
    41
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angola on the Lake, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quaint & Historic”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This place had the "old fashioned pub" right down to the wooden beams! It's charming! The food is your usual pub-grub; they have great draft beers; and just a great ambience of the Niagara-on-the Lake 'Old Towne'

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Beth W;
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of The Olde Angel Inn and especially it's quaint and historic nature. We hope that we see you again some day on your next trip to NOTL.
Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our first dining stop in NOTL”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We visit NOTL annually for wineries and the Shaw and our first night dinner always is the
Olde Angel Inn for fish and chips and great beer. The service is fast and friendly. The food delicious. And you cannot beat the atmosphere of this really old establishment. Music is loud but fun if you like that. It is tucked away off the main road of shops but worth seeking it out. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank connieleec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Connieleec;
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and always making this your first stop when you come to visit NOTL. We appreciate your return to The Olde Angel Inn to enjoy your Fish & Chips and our great selections of beer! We look forward to seeing your again on your next trip to our area.
Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice space for our group.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We ate here our first night into town, 2 blocks from the house we stayed in so very convenient and family friendly rooms in back. Food was good but not great....not bad for the back of the pub.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marianne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Marianne C;
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad you and your group enjoyed the food, the cozy back room and the evening. I hope that you will return to us again next time you are in the area.
Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stopped for a meal recently. Have not been there in many years and I am truly sad to report the quality of the meals (which used to be excellent) have deteriorated terribly. We had steak and kidney pie, fish and chips and the Chef's Choice pasta (which was linguine with lobster). Vegetables for both the pie and the fish were horrible - clearly out of a frozen bag - tasteless and inedible. Chips were mediocre - very little flavour. Fish was ok - slightly greasy but passable. Steak and kidney pie (which used to be amazing)- featured puff pastry which is popular these days and just not appropriate for a savoury pie - you need a shortening or lard-based pastry for that. The gravy was again, simply mediocre. The Chef's pasta was the only dish worth having and was very good. Overall, very disappointed as i used to enjoy eating there very much - will be a long time (if ever) I would return.

Also disappointed with the brews. Glasses were not chilled, beer was barely cold (bitter was a good flavour but lost because it wasn't chilled properly). Water was brought clearly straight form the tap (which I don't mind)- but without letting it run cold - and no ice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank selkiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Selkeim;
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I guess we cannot satisfy everyone, but out of our 600+ we rarely get a disappointment. We do have an extremely high approval rating with many excellent reviews about our food, atmosphere and service, unfortunately our "Pub" food was not in your favour that day. I can state that all our meals are prepared fresh daily and we do use fresh ingredients in all our dishes except for the peas. We do not chill our glasses because we are an extremely busy Pub and to do so would be impossible because of how we go through glassware rapidly, plus we do not have the space as this Pub was built more than 200 years ago. Many of our reviews also comment that our beer is refreshingly cold and perfectly served especially on a hot day.
Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Angel Inn also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Olde Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing