We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PLACE IN NOTL!!!”
Review of The Olde Angel Inn

The Olde Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Step through the doors and back into history! The Olde Angel Inn (Circa 1789 - burned down as a result of the war of 1812 and rebuilt in 1815) is situated in the heart of the historic district. We have 5 cosy, comfortable historic rooms and we are a short stroll to the Main Street and Shaw Festival Theatre; as well as a short drive to many of the local wineries. We offer hearty British Pub fare as well as 24 selections of draught beer on tap and 17 different wines by the glass. Live entertainment is provided on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights (Wednesday during peak season). Stop by and visit Canada's prettiest town!
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Been going to Olde Angel for 20 yrs now, and not ONCE have I had a bad meal there! We are in love with the staff/owners, and stay at the inn at least twice a year. Must have's are the turkey reubin, angus burger and my Wifey's fave. Shepherd's pie! Sample a delish Barking Squirrel or one of the Angel homesbrews! You can't go wrong.

If I could give Olde Angel a 6 star, I would...but 5 will have to do! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elwayfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Elwayfanatic,

Thank you Beth & Greg for spending your time with us year after year. Its always so nice to see familiar faces and friends. We must be doing something amazing to have such wonderful devoted guests like yourselves. Can't wait to see you again in March. Enjoy the rest of the winter and we will see you in the Spring!

Regards,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,579 - 1,583 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

After walking around the town about we came across the Old Angel Inn. We were greated right away. Service was fast and friendly and the food was great. Local beers were had and enjoyed. The Peanut Butter Tart was amazing!!

1  Thank BeachFam143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear BeachFam143;

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our fast, efficient service and our great food as well as our local beers. I noticed you left enough room for one of our delicious home-made desserts! Hopefully we will see you again in the future!

Regards,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

What a neat piece of Canadiana! We finished up with our tour at the Konzelmann estate, which was fantastic and they suggested the Angel Inn as a good place to eat. Being a history buff and a Loyalist descendant my curiosity was immediately piqued..
The staff was friendly and super quick, we recieved our order in no time even though they were super busy. My wife ordered a Reuben and since we have come home she wants one Fed-exd to our house!! ;)
Great pub food and a great atmosphere, the decor made we wish I hadn't left my bagpipes and kilt at home.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Piperwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Piperwilly

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed coming to The Olde Angel Inn and enjoyed everything about it. Yes, our Rueben sandwiches are one of the popular favourites here, so you will just have to return in the future, and this time, please bring the bagpipes and kilt!!!

Regards,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

between great laughs, wonderful food and amazing music, we love company back every year! thank you for a wonderful time. see you in a few months!

Thank Mareens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Mareens;

Thank you for taking the time to write your review; we're so happy that you had a wonderful time here at The Olde Angel Inn. Also, Thank you for visiting us every time you are in the area. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The food here is pretty good but not anything exceptional. Our waiter was a little slow in taking orders and seemed to disappear after dessert. We waited for about 20 minutes for the bill before getting up to let the front desk know. We never saw our waiter again and no one apologized to us for the wait.

3  Thank Stephanie1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Stephanie 1026,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, but in order for us to bring attention to any situations that people may experience whether good or bad, it usually is customary to let us know as soon as possible. I noticed that you visited the Pub back in October 2013 as indicated on the trip advisor posting. We can hardly rectify the problem at this point and based on our new postings, looks like we have as everyone seems to be pleased with our service. We do hope to see you again in the future to give us another try.

Regards,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Angel Inn also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Olde Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing