We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old reliable”
Review of The Olde Angel Inn

The Olde Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Step through the doors and back into history! The Olde Angel Inn (Circa 1789 - burned down as a result of the war of 1812 and rebuilt in 1815) is situated in the heart of the historic district. We have 5 cosy, comfortable historic rooms and we are a short stroll to the Main Street and Shaw Festival Theatre; as well as a short drive to many of the local wineries. We offer hearty British Pub fare as well as 24 selections of draught beer on tap and 17 different wines by the glass. Live entertainment is provided on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights (Wednesday during peak season). Stop by and visit Canada's prettiest town!
Bay Village, Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An old reliable”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We've gone to the Olde Angel Inn numerous times on our trips to Niagara-on-the-Lake. It's a nice place to eat, whether in the pub area or the dining area. After seeing four shows at the Shaw Festival in three days, this was the perfect place to relax and enjoy some comfort food and a good beverage or two. My wife and I both ordered the fish and chips (enjoyable); I relaxed with a pint of Olde Angel Inn Bitter while my wife sampled wine of the Niagara region. I would recommend to anyone who just wants a good, simple meal in a pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnHnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,020
    722
    192
    41
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Food's good, atmosphere is amazing and the staff is always friendly and attentive. Excellent beer. Really loud on the loud music nights, so i would steer away if you're not into that. Regardless, it's a staple location for anyone that knows NOTL.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank niftynamething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visited the Olde Angel Inn one evening after going on a "ghost walk" guided tour of the town. From the moment we walked in there was a very warm atmosphere. We had the best cold beer, burgers and fries, not a morsel left on the plate! The trip downstairs to the restrooms late at night was a bit unsettling, given the history of the restaurant. Would definitely go back and try some more of their special fare.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place was great. The band that they had playing while we ate dinner was wonderful. The food was great. I just had a caesar salad and it was delicious. My husband had the Ploughman's plate and said it was very good. He also thought their beer was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WIZZLE12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Two people in my party ordered the bangers and mash, 1 ordered the chicken curry dish, and the other had the shepherd's pie. The person with the shepherd's pie said they probably will never be able to eat one anywhere else because it was so good at the Olde Angel Inn. The other dishes were excellent as well. Compared to the heavily overpriced average food we had earlier in our trip to Niagara-on-the-Lake this was a welcome change. Excellent value.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Angel Inn also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Olde Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing