We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to grab a pint!”
Review of The Olde Angel Inn

The Olde Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Step through the doors and back into history! The Olde Angel Inn (Circa 1789 - burned down as a result of the war of 1812 and rebuilt in 1815) is situated in the heart of the historic district. We have 5 cosy, comfortable historic rooms and we are a short stroll to the Main Street and Shaw Festival Theatre; as well as a short drive to many of the local wineries. We offer hearty British Pub fare as well as 24 selections of draught beer on tap and 17 different wines by the glass. Live entertainment is provided on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights (Wednesday during peak season). Stop by and visit Canada's prettiest town!
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to grab a pint!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great atmosphere-an old fashioned pub with a local vibe. We had a few pints and some delicious fries to go with them. Such an amazing little find.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jivey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    964
    687
    181
    38
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food.”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

food is pub food but better than expected. The service could be a little better but the entertainment is great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rogue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Haunted!!!!!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We came here for lunch while staying at the Pillar and Post. We went on a haunted tour of the town the night before and they said the restaurant was haunted. So we came the next day for lunch and the food was very good traditional pub fare at a decent price. Great spot!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KarlMuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
476 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

You can really feel the history in this lovely English style pub dating from the War of 1812. Good pub food with fast service in a quaint atmosphere. A great lunch stop.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Meals in A Pricey Town”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We've gone to The Shaw Festival at least a couple of times a year arriving in time to have lunch before a matinee performance. We always head straight to the Olde Angel Inn based on the authenticity of the menu offerings, the reasonable price and wide selection of draft beers and ale available. It can get busy, but the servers are up to the task and take good care of their customers. The building is original construction from the early 1800's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WesternNYTravelFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Angel Inn also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Olde Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing