We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable and relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Enjoyable and relaxing!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was welcomed on arrival and this feeling lasted my whole stay. Everything mentioned on the website as being 'free' - was truly free and offered without my having to ask for it. The bed was really comfortable and the breakfasts - exceptional - really gourmet. Coffee was always available and ready when I came down in the morning. Coffee was available anytime of the day.

This was not my first visit and will not be my last. I must book soon for 2014 to make sure I get a room.

The comfortable living room was available for my friends to visit me while I was in Niagara. The hostess made them feel welcome also.

Thank you Mehru for a nice holiday.

Room Tip: I found the bar-fridge in the rooms very useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gifty940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    26
    9
    10
    12
See reviews for
29
219
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Storrs, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I have been to St.John's Gate three or four times. It is a wonderful place; neat and clean, charming and beautifully decorated. The hostess is lovely, helpful and a great cook. I would highly recommend this place. It is close to the town and restaurants. We would go back to St. John's Gate in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There are three rooms. I believe each room would accomadate two people but there is one room that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at John's Gate B and B this past weekend with great friends while enjoying Taste of the Season in Niagara on the Lake. Meheroo, our host, was very welcoming, informative and attentive throughout our stay. We enjoyed relaxing in the spacious living room before going out for dinner. There was plenty of room in the living room for all of us as well as a fireplace and TV, which is not always the case in B and Bs. Our Queen sized room was neat, clean and equipped with a small bar fridge, TV, extra blankets, bed linens that were ironed with care, and chocolates on our bedside tables. The adjacent 3 piece bathroom was also very clean and well equipped with shower toiletries and towels. Meheroo inquired about our food preferences upon arrival and created a unique 3 course gourmet menu for breakfast for us the next morning. We started with maple macaroon pears, then proceeded to have creamed eggs with smoked salmon, portobello mushrooms and champagne, and finished with homemade banana bread topped with pecans and whipped cream. Delicious! It is apparent that Meheroo's attention to detail has created a delightful B and B experience for her guests. Great value too. We will return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our second visit. This time for my friend's 70th birthday. Meheroo is very caring and a great hostess. The breakfasts were very enjoyable and she takes great care to make one very welcome and comfortable and everything moves effortlessly. Points of interest and print outs also offered. Guess what......... definitely coming back!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We have tried the Queen and King rooms and both are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EleanorHayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We found John's Gate on Trip Advisor and relied on the reviews to make our choice of accommodations. We KNEW we were in for a relaxing time when we were welcomed with slippers at the front door. Just like home! Our room was immaculate with every amenity you could think of. We were especilly pleased with the pristine, spacious bathroom... also complete with every amenity. Ohhhh, the sheets... the softest sheets we have ever felt! We lay in bed and discussed the softness for over 10 minutes... amazing, seeing as we typically travel and stay at higher end hotel chains like Hyatt Hotels.

And where do we start to review breakfast? It was far from what we think of as a typical breakfast. It was a 4 course gourmet meal. Our host Meheroo, was so accommodating to each guests' individual taste and dietary needs. (At check-in,she obtained all of our likes and dislikes to make certain that our breakfast would be perfect...for EACH guest!) As she served each course, she described how it was prepared and each ingredient used. The freshest herbs from her own garden, and there was a very hefty serving of love in every bite. Absolutely delicious!

Meheroo was a delightful host! It was very obvious that she loves her work and loves making her guests happy. She gives excellent directions and recommendations. She served as our personal Concierge, making dinner reservations and even provided us with complimentary desserts at the restaurant. The VALUE for our stay was unparallelled! You will not be disappointed!

THANK YOU, Meheroo, for being the high-light of our get-away to Niagara-on-the-Lake!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTCGranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here last year and enjoyed it thoroughly. This year we're back again. Meheroo is a great hostess as always. We enquired about an Indian style breakfast as we were on the subject of great Indian meals that we have eaten. Viola - the next morning a delicious Indian breakfast. She sure knows how to keep you coming back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidtraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

There used to be a time when B&B's were the poor man's choice of tourist accomodations. Priced cheaper than hotels, we readily expect very little from our experiences. Meheroo at John's Gates Bed & Breakfast redefines the travel experience and raises the bar for all away-from-home accomodations. We stayed 3-days and each breakfast was a delightful gastronomical experience... Yes for breakfast. And when it comes to food, I'm very picky. The rooms are superbly appointed with many surprises and delights. And to top it off, our host is not only devoted to making our stay, a highly memorable one but she also is the best tourist advisor you could get. If there avails at John's Gate when you're looking for a place to stay in Niagara-on-the-Lake, book it. You will not regret it. You will live the best B&B experience ever.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Skies Bed & Breakfast
Blue Skies Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.8 mi away
In Elegance Bed and Breakfast
In Elegance Bed and Breakfast
#20 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lakelands Bed and Breakfast
Lakelands Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#31 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast

Property: John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast
Address: 155 John Street West | Box 1156, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dinner/Theatre Packages, Wine Tours and Seniors' Specials offered monthly. Custom-built pre-Victorian style bed and breakfast, centrally located 1km from Niagara-on-the-Lake's Queen Street shopping, restaurants and Shaw Festival theatres. Next to the world-class Spa at the Pillar and Post Inn. Private entrance, dining room and guest parlour. All the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing