We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Returned to johns gate b&b for the peach festival! Meheroo is a wonderful host and cook. Very warm and welcoming. Rooms very clean and bright. Easy to get to Niagara on the a Lake main street. Very fair price and accommodations are very comfortable. We looked forward to returning to johns gate and we had a wonderful time again!!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnacer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 464 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We are long time visitors to NOTL and the Shaw Featival. We always make to point to stay at one of the many B&B's in the town. Some are good, some not so. This one is excellent - clean, great breakfast, a wonderful hostess. Definitely worth a repeat visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepidtraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

An excellent B&B in a great location, and a breakfast that was awesome. We came with my sister and brother-in-law, along with my parents and everyone had a great time. A short walk to downtown Niagara-on-the-Lake and a short drive to many wineries. The rooms were very clean and well kept, and we had a great time relaxing on the wrap around porch in the evening. And, the price was very reasonable for the location. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a very charming B&B. It was well appointed, clean and relatively close to everything.
The manager is extremely helpful with recommendations. She provides a wonderful breakfast.
I especially loved the wrap around verandah where you could sit and read or have a glass of wine.

Room Tip: I think any room would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willie421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My friends have always raved about the Johns Gate Bed and Breakfast run by Mehroo. This being my first experience at Niagara-on-the-Lake and the stay at her bed and breakfast made it memorable. Her place was spotless and the grounds were well kept plus her hospitality was excellent. I enjoyed getting up early and enjoying a cup of coffee and either relaxing in her living room while my bride got a little more rest or on a beautiful winding porch. Her preparation of each breakfast was special and something you would never have anywhere. All the activities where within walking distance from her place and the cost after checking others closer to the town was a value. When you were ready to leave for activites and fun and talked about things you wanted to do, she had many value coupons that would help you save on restaurants, wine tours, and wine tastings. Thanks to Mehroo I would rate my first visit a thumbs up!

Art

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great place to stay. Great hostess who is a valuable resource for ideas and suggestions for what to do and see. She also can give you some assistance if problems arise (as they did for us). We would go back there in a heartbeat just to enjoy the fabulous breakfasts. And all this within walking distance of the neatest little town we've ever visited. A definite plus for us on our journey.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesometimetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We had a great time at JohnsGate B&B. The house was lovely and clean, and we stayed in a great room with all the facilities you could need. Our host was welcoming and friendly, and really delivered on the gourmet breakfast promise. The location is excellent too, just a few minutes walk into town with all that has to offer. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.8 mi away
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
White Oaks Conference Resort & S...
#7 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5,261 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
501 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast

Address: 155 John Street West | Box 1156, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $124 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dinner/Theatre Packages, Wine Tours and Seniors' Specials offered monthly. Custom-built pre-Victorian style bed and breakfast, centrally located 1km from Niagara-on-the-Lake's Queen Street shopping, restaurants and Shaw Festival theatres. Next to the world-class Spa at the Pillar and Post Inn. Private entrance, dining room and guest parlour. All the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing