We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying! Lovely host and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2012

A very clean and attractive B&B. Highly recommend it! Host was friendly, helpful and prepared a wonderful breakfeast. Worth staying there just for the food!
I would always come back - keep a winner when you find one!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 464 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at John's Gate B&B during the Ice Festival. We found John's Gate to be very hospitable, clean and enjoyable. Meheroo was a tremendous hostess, making us feel very comfortable from the time we walked in. The rooms were clean and well decorated. We felt very much at home. The common area had a beautiful fireplace and relaxing furniture to enjoy happy hour drinks and eats. In fact we were so comfortable we almost misted our dinner reservations. Breakfast was presented very beautifully and was delicious.

We want to thank Meheroo for her hospitality!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack102988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My husband & I and 4 of our friends stayed at John's Gate B&B on 1/28/2012-1/30/2012 as we were attending the Ice Wine Festival in Niagara-on-the-Lake and we are and were utterly disappointed and annoyed with Meheroo the owner of the B&B. The host refused to make us breakfast for 8:00am as that was "too early" for her to get up, she yelled at us for turning on the fireplace (there was no note or instructions saying you couldn't use it), she asked us if we were warm enough and when told that we were not she proceeded to argue with us saying her house was warm. The list could go on and on. She made us pay in Canadian money as opposed to using our Visa which is how we paid for the deposit and then didn't give one of my friends their change (they needed change for a $50 bill). My friend had to knock on her door and request that they get their money. It was the most ridiculous B&B experience we have ever had. All 6 of us are world travellers and have stayed at countless B&B's. Meheroo was so absurd in what she did to us and said to us that we had to laugh or we would have blown our top by how aggrivated we were by her. We will be back to Niagara-on-the-lake for the next festival but we WILL NOT stay at John's Gate again. EVER.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank tsucec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My husband and I were not sure about staying at a B&B, since our last (and only other time at a B&B,) we felt like we were in a spare room and felt uncomfortable; but our friends were confidant that it was the only way to go! So we were hesitantly giving it another try.... And what a wonderful and different experience! From the moment we walked in, there was a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere. I was surprised to see a lovely and comfortable common area (lacking in the last experience) with an inviting chairs and a couch and a cozy fireplace.
A small fridge and dishes were available for us to have our happy hour with.
The rooms were upstairs, each with an ensuite bathroom, and each immaculate, decorated beautifuly and charmingly. The propriator and hostess, Meheroo, is kind, delightful,and a very interesting person to talk with. It was a real treat for me to be served a beautifully presented, delectable breakfasts that I did not make (I love to cook)! Johns
Gate was very easy to get to the Ice wine festival from, as well as the area restaurants for dinners. We would have walked if it wasn"t winter. I loved the whole experience!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnacer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

John's Gate is an elegantly furnished, quiet, clean and well maintained purpose-renovated as a B&B house with guest rooms and common areas dedicated to guests. The proprietor and hostess was friendly and positive. It was our first stay at John's Gate B&B and Meheroo made sure we were well taken-care of, she worked hard with us to plan a wonderful stay including suggested tours and restaurants. Meheroo catered to our needs by providing amenities such as 24-hour coffee and tea service, winery tour tickets, dinning gift certificates and directions. The location was perfect to get away from the noise back in Niagara Falls were we enjoyed our New Years celebrations. We would recommend and I will most definitely return to John's Gate to enjoy this relaxing, yet elegant, ambiance again.

Breakfasts were healthy as they are also yummy with an excellent presentation! Food was chosen carefully around our dietary restrictions, allergies and to our preferences as soon as we arrived. We were 2 of 6 guests on our 2 nights stay and enjoyed having WI-FI to relax with our own devices. Meheroo shares her honest opinion of attractions and asks for feedback from those we visit so If you are new to the Niagara On The Lake area, you might improve your overall experience by considering her advice before booking attractions. Meheroo is active on local tourism committees, so your comments will likely get back to the owners whose attractions you visit.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, The host is most helpful, Customer service was excellent. The rooms are clean, John's Gate is a first rate B&B. Thanks Meheroo!

Room Tip: Everyone has different priorities and sleep preferences you, might improve your overall experience b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Everyone has different priorities for staying at a B&B. Cleanliness, quality bed, good breakfast, helpful host, etc.

The room was immaculately clean as good as any place. Breakfast was good but have certainly had better (and worse). Shower was small by North American standards. Bed was very hard, new it was going to be a rough night the moment we lay on the bed - some people like hard beds but for us I woke up with a sore back as did my wife.

There are much worse places to stay but there are better ones as well.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnTheGoCFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The host is most helpful, the rooms are clean, and the breakfast, and it's presentation, was excellent. We were the only guests for our 1 night and enjoyed having the living room with gas fireplace to relax during the cool fall nights. Thanks Meheroo!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twototube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
6.5 mi away
Green Oaks B&B
Green Oaks B&B
#42 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
115 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,390 reviews
7.8 mi away
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
White Oaks Conference Resort & S...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,771 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,564 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast

Address: 155 John Street West | Box 1156, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $126 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dinner/Theatre Packages, Wine Tours and Seniors' Specials offered monthly. Custom-built pre-Victorian style bed and breakfast, centrally located 1km from Niagara-on-the-Lake's Queen Street shopping, restaurants and Shaw Festival theatres. Next to the world-class Spa at the Pillar and Post Inn. Private entrance, dining room and guest parlour. All the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing