We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been more pleased...”
Review of Shaw Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shaw Club Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Gave my wife a getaway weekend for her birthday in early January. The hotel was better than I could have ever dreamed. The staff was absolutely fantastic! Stayed in the King Suite, beautiful, comfortable room. The hotel is a very short walk into the heart of NOL. The staff was very knowledgeable regarding the area, including the vineyards. We ate at Zee's grill our first evening, the food was MAGNIFICENT...a little pricey, but nevertheless a wonderful dining experience. The hotel itself is very clean and modern, we absolutely loved the decor and overall presentation. I have to mention the staff again, everyone on staff treated us wonderfully...My wife and I travel often, both for business and pleasure and I can truly say the Shaw Club hotel and spa sticks out as one of our best experiences. My wife also loved the Shaw Spa, had a wonderful relaxing time, the spa staff was also off the charts. I absolutely recommend this hotel...as for the review below, the ice machines are located in their own little room with a door that shuts (so you cannot hear any noise from the ice machine) and the elevator is right next across from the king suite, again could not hear anything and no complaints. If you rent the King Suite, enjoy the two person jacuzzi tub, very relaxing and plenty of room for bottles of the regions fantastic wines!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNTORTIZ8809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (967)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 967 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2011

Let me just say that we did our homework before we booked this hotel, but I guess you should never really believe all the "very" positive remarks.
We are seasoned travelers and have stayed in many of the fine hotels and inns in and around Niagara on the Lake. We probably visit the area 4 or 5 times a year at least.
This was our first time staying at The Shaw Club.
The front desk staff greeted us warmly and check-in was quick and effortless.
At booking we had specified we would like a quiet room. One of the "newly remodeled" king bedrooms, away from the elevator & ice machines.
Our room did NOT appear to be "newly" remodeled - the walls were marked and the carpet was stained and the one chair in the room had a broker caster.
Here is our review of our experience:
1) The room: quite small - only furniture other than the king bed was a very skinny uncomfortable hard chair. No other funiture other than a built-in wall unit that consisted of a small closet/shelves and a small built in desk area & a built in flat screen tv. (you had to be in bed to watch tv as the chair was on the same wall as the tv - you would have to be the Exorscist to watch otherwise)
2) 3 piece bathroom: no tub - big "feature" is supposed to be the "rain-head" shower. Ours did not work. Dial came off in my hand and the water temperature was very inconsistent - either very hot or freezing cold. (ended up showering with the hand held shower "just like at home" both mornings) also there is mold and mildew along the mosiac tile inside the shower.
3) Towels: only 2 bath towels and 2 hand towels & 2 face cloths. If you wrap up your hair and use a towel to dry yourself, that means your room-mate gets a face cloth or hand towel.
4) Shampoo/Conditioner: suggest you bring your own as our shampoo/conditioner was not replenished. Same with tissues - our box had exactly 1 tissue.
5) Welcoming Gift: 2 delicious home made brownies - guess the maid must of ate ours....we never received any on either day.
6) The View: a grungy back parking lot with 3 very large green garbage dumpsters.
7) Noise: Inside - walls are paper thin, we could hear our neighbors in their bathroom. Also through the wall when they coughed and laughed. Could also hear them at bed time (if you get our drift). Lots of doors slamming in the hallways. (not sure if these were other guests, exit doors or doors to the ice/water machines, but lots of doors anyway) We were woke up once after midnight and again the next morning before 7:00 with these doors. Very inconsiderate and maddening. Outside noise: repeated honking as people "locked" their vehicles with their remote devices and then clicked again, just to make double sure that it was locked - - HONK HONK HONK !!!!!!!!!!!
8) Breakfast at Zee's 5* Restaurant - European Continental Breakfast (included with your stay between 8-10am) Staff is very inexperienced, very forgetful and very oblivious to attention. We might be more understaning if it was extremely busy....but it wasn't. The "included" breakfast for two was a huge let down. We were offered tea or coffee, 2 pieces of dry toast, 2 of the smallest crousants you will ever see and 2 very small bowls of yucky plain (not vanilla) yogurt. The only good thing is a small bowl of fresh fruit, but barely enough for 1 person let alone 2 to share. Both morning, we did not get an offer of juice even though we did notice the second day that other tables had juice. What is with that ??? Also missing - our special requests for 2 spoons, a couple packets of sweetner and milk instead of cream for our tea. Again, no excuses for such poor service. We had to ask the same waitress 3 times to bring us spoons for our yogurt.
The dining room is very crowded and you are basically sitting right on top of each other. Some tables have less than 1 foot between them. On the second morning we witnessed 2 other couples complaining (to the waitress and then later to the "manager") about the quality of the breakfast. We could also hear other patrons negatively comment about the service and the "included" breakfast to each other. There is an option to upgrade to a hot item (your choice from 4 items) The cost of each item is $13.95 (50% off regular price) By the time they add the tax and you leave a 15-20% tip - it's far from "breakfast included".
9) Check-out: must be promptly by 11:00 am - we were asked if everything was satisfactory during our stay. I said, not really and that I planned on emailing. She advised the manager was on duty and would want to speak to us. I agreed, assuming it would be in private - of course it wasn't....I had to voice my concerns infront of all the other guests that were checking out. This made me very uncomfortable and really not necessary since she had an empty office available.
After explaining everything that I have stated here, she still did not do anything for us.....said she would "look into it". Time will tell, but we will not hold our breath. Chalk it up to an expensive lesson.
Told her we would not be back, nor would we recomment.
She said that left a bad taste in "her" mouth. What about our mouth????
All we can say to you, if your reading this is....if you don't mind being woke up, ignored, going hungry, all for a couple of hundred dollars PER night, then by all means, quick hurry and make a reservation at the Shaw Club.
DISAPPOINTMENT IS GUARANTEED IF YOU EXPECT LUXURY OR QUALITY

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank anniek151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawclubGM, Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2011

At Shaw Club Hotel and Spa we take great pride in our guests' experience and also in the countless positive reviews we receive from people here on Trip Advisor. It is also why we take reviews like this one so seriously. Although we always do our best to immediately address and correct any issues a guest may have, I feel that there are too many discrepancies here to ignore and would like to address the following points from this review;

Bathroom: After check-out I joined our maintenance team in the room to investigate the items listed on the comment card left behind by these guests. We turned on the water and were easily able to control the temperature on both the handheld and the rain-head shower and could not find any damage to the dial. Although we could not find any trace of mold or mildew as this review suggests, we have since had our housekeeping team do a thorough cleaning to ensure we did not miss anything. The room has also been occupied three times since these guests departed and we have had no further comments about such a problem.

Towels: We do typically leave a stock of two bath towels, two hand towels and two face towels in every room. However, if our guests would prefer more towels to be added to their room, we deliver them immediately and make note in their reservation to maintain the new requested pars for the duration of their stay. We wish these guests had called our front desk as their requests would have been met immediately.

Shampoo/Conditioner: In order to do our best to minimize our impact on the environment, the Shaw Club has started a 'zero footprint' initiative that involves doing our best to limit waste coming from the hotel. One of the elements of this effort is to leave bathroom amenities until they have been used. However, we have also left a very clear note in every bathroom asking our guests to let us know if they would like to be removed from the program. If so, we would happily replenish the stock every day. Again, we wish these guests had let us know of their preferences so we could have better accommodated their needs. The point about the Kleenex was absolutely correct; our housekeeping team must not have noticed that so few tissues were left under the one sticking out of the box. We apologize for this error and have made changes to our inspection policies in order to correct this problem in the future.

Welcome Gift: When our guests check-in, we like to have a welcome treat waiting for them in their room. The treats do change, but this guest is right in noting that on the day of their arrival we had brownies made. What is very strange about this point is that upon my inspection after check out there were brownie wrappers in their garbage. Perhaps they got them from another guest or a staff member that I have not yet spoken with.

Breakfast: We are known for our hospitality at the hotel and our restaurant is no exception. We feel terrible that these guests did not enjoy the breakfast or service and I have spoken to the team about ensuring we are always doing our best to 'WOW' everyone who comes in to eat.
Yoghurt: Our yoghurt is natural in flavour and perhaps why these particular guests did not enjoy it. Every morning, our Chef prepares yoghurt for our guests by hand-shaving fresh vanilla on top, stirring in organic honey and then topping every bowl with our own in-house made granola. Normally, it is one of the most praised items of breakfast.
Other Items: Our croissants and bread are baked fresh in house every day. We have never heard that their size is an issue, but we will be sure to look into this and correct anything we can to improve quality and quantity if necessary.
Cost: The cost to upgrade to a hot breakfast is $7.95, not $13.95. Even with tax and a 50% tip it would not cost as much as noted in this review. A couple of the items currently on our hot menu include; smoked salmon eggs Benedict with home fries and fresh fruit, and a three-egg omelet stuffed with fresh lobster, oven dried heirloom tomatoes and aged cheddar. Most of our guests find this to be of great value if they are looking to upgrade.

Check-out: Check out is 11AM, but we always do our best to accommodate all requests for late check-outs. For example, these guests had a late check-out of noon and left at 11:53AM.

GSM: Our Guest Service Manager would always speak to our guests in private and because there was no one else in the lobby when these guests were leaving it seemed appropriate to address their concerns immediately without the need to relocate. At no time did another guest approach the desk during this time. Although our Guest Service Manager has no recollection of using the words ‘bad taste in my mouth’, she very clearly remembers telling these guests that she wanted to do everything in her power to try and change their minds so they would come back and give us the opportunity to provide them with a wonderful experience. At this time, future discounts, upgrades and incentives were all offered and were all denied.

Room Tariff: It is confusing as to why this guest would say “a couple of hundred dollars PER night” when on the day they checked in, their room rate was under half of that.

Although we make it our mission to rectify every situation in a way that will show our guests how important they are and how much we appreciate their feedback, it is difficult to know how we could have improved on these items when the account of their stay contains so many inaccuracies. I’m sure that through better communication this could have been a wonderful getaway for these guests and I hope that one day they will reconsider joining us again and allow us the opportunity to provide them with the experience we have become known for.

Ryan Murray
General Manager
Shaw Club Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We spent a very pleasant time at the Shaw Club via a gift card. The atmosphere was so nice and the staff was helpful - a dinner was included in the visit at the on-site resturant - very well done - we hope to return - B & N Morris

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank lahana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

I stayed at Shaw Club with a friend as part of the Blissful Stay package, which is an amazing value. For the rate we got, we almost felt like we were ripping off the hotel - an incredible 3-course meal and $200 in spa treatments was included (and if you have insurance coverage for this, even better!). The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, the hotel itself is gorgeous and right around the corner from the main strip of shops. The spa is beautiful too, with a warm and inviting staff. Best massage I've ever had. We stayed in Room 201, which was not one of the fancy rooms, but it had a relaxing effect, especially with the clock radio tuned into the sounds of ocean waves. This, along with the comfy beds, meant we couldn't resist taking a nap first thing before we headed out for some window shopping.

I'd imagine it's quite expensive a la carte, but if you take advantage of their packages you can have an amazing stay at a reasonable rate. I was very impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We decided at the last minute to getaway after a family death and the staff at the shaw club couldn't have been any nicer. Theresa and Amy were especially kind and caring and went out of their way to help us. All the staff was wonderful and friendly as well (wish I knew all their names to thank them!)
Our room was beautiful, clean and so pretty and modern. The tub was fantastic! Breakfast which is included was delicious and plentiful. The restaurant that is connected called Zee's had very good service and great food as well. We plan to come back every year at the same time. Put this place on your list to stay at- you will love it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank august52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

We've stayed at the Shaw two times now on travel deals we've found over the internet. On both occasions, the service was friendly and unpretentious, the rooms were beautiful and well-maintained, and the hotel was comfortable and modern. The location is great-- right on the main strip in NOTL, perfect for shopping or going for a walk to the lake. In terms of negatives, some of the rooms have not been updated and are not nearly as nice as the modern rooms in the main building. Also, the attached restaurant, Zee's, is over-priced and the food is somewhat inconsistent. Great for breakfast and lunch, but I'd try somewhere else for dinner. Note that the restaurant menu and probably management change frequently, so I would still recommend giving it a try before giving up all hope. Overall, though, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irispiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

A delightful stay -- we were passing from Michigan to Vermont, and stopped in early afternoon at the Shaw Club. Good location on Queen Street and Picton, across from the Shaw Theater, at the end of the shops and restaurants of Queen Street, in charming Niagara-on-the-lake, and at the start of the Niagara Parkway. Don't stay in Niagara Falls unless you want casinos, water parks, and honky tonk. In contrast, Niagara-on-the-Lake is charming, old, restored village. And the Shaw club had great place -- delightful room, with high end and comfortable bed and all the amenities of a first rate but small hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,248 reviews
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,841 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,175 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Club Hotel

Address: 92 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $139 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaw Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Shaw Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Club Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Shaw Club Hotel And Spa
Shaw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing