We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Modern Room - a little pricey!!”
Review of Shaw Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shaw Club Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Great staff, beautiful room with modern conveniences - jacuzzi, large screen TV. Very quiet. However $300 for this room is a little steep. Have stayed in luxury hotels with a much larger space at the same price point. They advertised an inclusive buffet continental breakfast but there was no such thing on our visit. Niagara-on-the Lake is perfect for a quick getaway. Had a great dinner at Stone Road Grille.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
There are newer reviews for Shaw Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 948 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2010

In the heart of a beautiful town is this luxurious hotel whose exterior does not do justice to the interior! We drove up in the dark and I thought it looked like a basic hotel/motel. However, as soon as we walked through the doors, I knew we were not in a basic hotel/motel. The lobby had a very contemporary/upbeat/trendy feel. The rooms appeared to have been renovated recently and were very contemporary yet incredibly comfortable! My husband says it is the best shower he has ever had! The staff was very attentive and accommodating. Our breakfast was delicious and served by a darling server who juggled a crowded dining room with ease and grace. We were placed on a first floor room with a main street view--I was a little concerned about safety; however it was a non-issue as we felt very safe and it was very quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Shaw Club Hotel & Spa. We also enjoyed the spa as it was very relaxing and the staff was very fun to visit with!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We recently stayed at the Shaw Hotel through a "Life Experience" gift card (www.lifeexperiences.ca/) - it included a 1 night stay, 3 course gourmet dinner, and breakfast the next morning. We received it as a wedding gift, and it was just an amazing idea!
The service at the check-in and at the restaurant were just top-notch...you can tell they pride themselves on making you feel comfortable and making your stay truly special and memorable...even the stationary in our room was personalized with our names - very neat touch. The room was very modern but with a nice cozy feeling, the beds and linens were so comfy - best sleep we've had in a long time. The shower was a very interesting "rain forest" shower with a regular shower head and another one that "rained" over top of you...and my hubby loved the extra T.V in the bathroom.

Another special touch that reminded us more of a B&B than a hotel was an individually wrapped chocolate brownie left on our table - you could tell it was homemade - best brownie I've ever had - and when making from scratch, not the easiest thing to bake.
Speaking of food, we couldn't stop raving about our meals at the accompanying restaurant called "Zee's" - the service and the food were perfect. My husband had a delectable lobster poutine for his appetizer, I had some perfectly fried coconut shrimp, and our entrees and dessert were just as yummy. As well, our "continental" breakfast the next morning certainly exceeded our expectations: homemade toast, croissants, with a fresh fruit cup, granola + yogurt, and a wedge of brie cheese - being in wine country, I thought the cheese was a neat touch. The eating area also has 3 seating options nice: an outdoor patio, a heated/covered verandah, or an indoor dining room.

The location was good - easy walk to the downtown shops and pubs, and right beside the park and Festival Theatre.
Although this is not a place we could afford to frequent, we will definitely make a return trip to this hotel when we need a romantic getaway in wine country!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LafPies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

One of the best experiences I have had while travelling. The room was amazing and very comfortable. All of the staff made us welcome and answered any questions that we had. Enjoyed 2 meals at the restaurant and was very pleased with the service. Have told all of my family and friends to stay at the Shaw when in this area of Southern Ontario.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tired0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Fantastic, would totally recommend! I love this place

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank Tampajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

My husband and I had recently had dinner at the Charles Inn and always wanted to stay at Shaw Club. We were visiting family in the area and finally got the chance. The staff was young and current just like us so we really appreciated that. They were very professional and friendly during our stay which was great! The hotel is very modern and new and Zee's Grill was excellent too. The hotel booked us a wine tour which was fantastic, it was our first one and we loved it. Our fireplace room was beautiful and comfortable and very clean. We had a welcome card and a delicious brownie when we walked in which was a warming and welcoming touch. We also had a couples massage at the Shaw Spa there which was so relaxing and wonderful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely return in the near future!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wingsoverca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We had a wonderful time at The Shaw Club. Very clean modern rooms and great little touches like homemade brownies, a personalized thank you card from the manager and a selection of teas in the room. The location is great but the best part about the hotel was the onsite restaurant. What incredible food! On the pricey side but worth every penny. We also took advantage of their onsite bike rental.... another great service. The perfect place to stay and visit with a spouse or your friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,038 reviews
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
486 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Club Hotel

Address: 92 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $160 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaw Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Shaw Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Club Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Shaw Club Hotel And Spa
Shaw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing