We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“WONDERFUL!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaw Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shaw Club Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Quite possibly my favourite hotel to date!
Went here Sept 15, 2013 to celebrate my boyfriends 33rd Birthday. From the moment we entered, we felt the hospitality. The lady at front desk escorted & showed us our beautiful room with a balcony over looking The Shaw Festival. The bed was SO comfortable! Best night sleep in awhile. The spa like bathroom was immaculate and clean!
Service was spectacular. Everyone made you feel like you were home.
Thank you for making our stay a memorable one :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ariesgirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We truly appreciate it! I’m thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, with only 30 rooms we have the opportunity to create an experience where you feel like you’re at home. We look forward to celebrating many more milestones with you in the future!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    155
    31
    13
    16
See reviews for
53
596
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had a 4 night stay at The Shaw (Sept 11/12 and 14/15). The hotel was very busy but that did not diminish the personal and attentive service from the staff. Check-in was a breeze. I was actually in the area to participate in a big cycling event and the staff were very accommodating with respect to storing my bicycle.

Stayed in the main building. Room was very very comfortable - king size bed, very modern bath with separate tub & shower and cozy housecoats all provided! I was fortunate to have a room with a small patio outside which was a very nice place to have a morning coffee before heading to Zee's for breakfast. I certainly recommend pre-paying for the upgraded breakfast. While the "included" breakfast is fine, you cannot beat the hot breakfast items available on the menu. If you pre-pay, you get the hot breakfast dishes at a discount over the menu price. Special kudos to Jake at Zee's for making my meals more relaxing. I was travelling/eating alone and despite him being busy, he was gracious enough to stop and chat with me several times during my meals. Great service.

This was my third trip to Shaw Club and it is my "go to" place in NOTL. Have not tried the spa...maybe next time! Highly recommend Shaw Club and if anyone has any complaints, please talk to the management when you are there - they will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you require an elevator, stay in the main building - my understanding is that the Annex does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
I’m thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us in beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake! Thank you for your kind words, Jake has been a wonderful addition to the Zee’s team this year. We truly appreciate your loyalty to Shaw Club Hotel & Spa, I look forward to welcoming you back home soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this quaint, modern hotel for our 3rd anniversary, and it was exactly what we wanted! Great location, (right across from the Shaw Club) extremely friendly and professional staff and great food - what more could you ask for? We will most definitely be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My partner and I decided, last minute, to stay for an evening at the Shaw hotel and will now make this our first accommodation of choice.

Customer service: I can honestly say I can't remember the last time I received such friendly, thoughtful and professional service. From the welcome, to passing on information, to ensuring we had everything we needed; we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. We had a dinner reservation far away from the hotel, and so we requested that a taxi was ordered. Instead, they arranged for the hotel shuttle to take us. Something they did not have to do, but was so thoughtful.

Food: We stayed for breakfast and I can say the choice is fantastic, the coffee doesn't stop and the food is of a very high quality. Even if you're not staying at the hotel, it's by far the best breakfast I've had in the area.

Room: Clean, small, bed is very comfortable. Has everything you need.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We truly appreciate it! It was our absolute pleasure to arrange our shuttle for you. Next time you will have to bring your puppy! We look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club Hotel & Spa very soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Usually the hotel is the mundane portion of any trip or visit but the Shaw Club stands right up there with all the best features and attractions of Niagara on the Lake. To be able to walk out onto the main street of the town into the throngs of other visitors or across the street to a peaceful park is so refreshing. Great rooms, amazing staff, wonderful location; add to that the first class dining at the Zees Grill and one is close to perfection. This was our first trip to the Shaw Club and the beautiful town of Niagara on the Lake and we were smitten. Not only will we be back but this is a fantastic gift to consider giving for special occasions. In our case it was a retirement gift and we are forever grateful to our friends for choosing this

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, I will pass them on to the rest of the team. I couldn’t agree more , dining at Zee’s is an absolute must when in Niagara-on-the-Lake! I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club Hotel and Spa soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

For any couple looking for a romantic getaway I highly recommend the Shaw Club Hotel and Spa in Niagara On The Lake. My wife and I celebrated our 11th Anniversary there this past weekend. we go somewhere different every year. But this is the only place that we will be coming back to guaranteed. The Hotel was great, nice and quiet on a very busy weekend. The staff did all the little things right and they all added up to a fantastic stay.
The food at Zee's was incredible. The Lobster poutine is a must and the Eggs Benedict at breakfast were fantastic.
We went to the spa also and the massages we had were great. I haven't felt this relaxed in years. thanks to all the staff at the Shaw Club Hotel and Spa. We will be back....

Room Tip: it is a small hotel, so all the rooms are well done and quiet and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaw Club Hotel & Spa to celebrate your anniversary! I’m thrilled all the little things truly made an impact on your stay with us. I will pass on your kind words to the rest of the team! We hope to celebrate many more anniversaries with you in the future!


Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at The Shaw Club in Niagara and it was really wonderful. We were with friends and we had a great dinner at Zees...the halibut was outstanding and a wonderful peach(of course!) dessert. Everything about our visit was great...the service, the food. The staff were so helpful. We rented bikes and the chain came off mine but they quickly replaced the bike. I can't say enough about how pleasant the experience was.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Chef Jason Dobbie has created a brilliant menu, I’m thrilled you enjoyed every last bit of it! Thank you so much for your kind words, I will be sure to pass them on to the rest of the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club Hotel & Spa soon!


Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 stars 1,091 reviews
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 1,230 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 1,666 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Club Hotel

Property: Shaw Club Hotel
Address: 92 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaw Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shaw Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Club Hotel And Spa
Shaw Club Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Shaw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing