We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shaw Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shaw Club Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Lucan, ontario
1 review
“Wonderful Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The first thing they asked during check in was "would you like a glass of sparkling wine?" The whole experience was very pleasant. The staff bent over backwards to look after us. The rooms were comfortable (with an amazing shower). And the restaurant in the hotel (Zees) was excellent! We felt welcome and looked after from beginning to end. The Shaw Club is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    179
    32
    14
    16
See reviews for
59
656
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

From check-in to check-out, the staff was truly warm, friendly, and accommodating. Our room was clean, quiet, and nicely appointed. The beds were incredibly comfortable. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to spend the night. The location is outstanding, whether you're planning on strolling the picturesque streets of Niagara-on-the-Lake, touring the many local wineries, or taking in a play at the Shaw Festival. For first time visitors to the area the tourist information kiosk in the lobby is a godsend. It's staffed daily by personnel who can help you with every facet of your visit. The onsite restaurant, Zees Grill, is a must do dining experience. Niagara-on-the-Lake is a wonderful place to visit, and the Shaw Club Hotel is the perfect place to call home while you're there.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are exceptional. Check their website for different configurations. You can book onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel has a great location and friendly and helpful staff. Modern rooms with a tv on the mirror in the rest room. My husband enjoyed having that luxury. The wineries are near the hotel. There is no charge for parking your car.

Room Tip: There is no pool. But there is a tv in the rest room. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Shaw Club this past weekend. A short but absolutely wonderful weekend escape from the daily life, kids, etc. We were greeted at check-in with a glass of sparkling wine - the perfect way to make hotel guests feel really welcome! :-) The room (suite) was amazing and we could not have asked for a better place to enjoy our weekend in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Room Tip: The King Suite was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soren_M5J_2S2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I visted this wonderful hotel and spa in the lovely town of Niagara-on-the-Lake in Ontario Canada. The staff made us feel pampered and welcomed. They were attentive, professional, courteous and warm. The dinner in the hotel restaurant was superb, and my treatment at the spa left me feeling rejuvenated and refreshed.

If you are in the area and looking for a special night out or a romantic get-away or simply a 4-5 star (diamond) hotel experience, the Shaw Club Hotel & Spa is the place for you. Definitely a must stay hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a little more privacy and quiet, staying in the 'annexed' rooms is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to reflect on your stay with us! We pride ourselves in offering the highest level of concierge service to our guests, and I’m thrilled that you truly felt pampered and welcomed. I will pass on your kind words to the rest of the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club during your next visit!


Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
169 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Right opposite the Shaw Festival Theatre, at the top of the main street of the town, this hotel is in a great location. It is a very smart hotel, with a guest lounge, personalised headed notepaper and a welcome chocolate brownie in your room. The bed was comfortable, with good quality linen. This hotel is more affordable than many in NotL. Our room (203) was small, with a view of the carpark at the back. It had everything we needed, but it had one substantial downside: the wall to the adjacent room had just about no soundproofing, we could hear _everything_ that happened in this next room. The attached restaurant, Zee's, is really very good; breakfast for residents is a reasonable $11. Dinner there was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! I will be looking into the issue you have mentioned as it is not an issue we hear of often. I’m glad the extra attention to detail truly made your stay with us memorable and I look forward to saying hello during your next visit!


Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Shaw Club a few years ago, and I loved it so much that he bought me a gift card for the hotel for my birthday last year, which we just used.

We love, love, love this hotel! The staff is so efficient, friendly, and attentive. Our room, while small, was stylish, modern, and well-appointed. And the food... Oh, the food! We had lunch at Zee's Grill - I started with the cheese and charcuterie. It came with a variety of crackers and spreads, all of which were delicious and fresh. I had the cobb salad as my main, which was also fabulous. Under the salad was a surprise helping of fresh guacamole, which I loved! The chicken was tender and flavourful, and all the vegetables were crisp and tasty. For dessert I had the dark chocolate mousse with candied bacon, which was amazing.

I highly, highly recommend this hotel. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Club Hotel

Property: Shaw Club Hotel
Address: 92 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaw Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shaw Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Club Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Shaw Club Hotel And Spa
Shaw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing