We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”
Review of Shaw Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shaw Club Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Ariss, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our stay at the Shaw Club was determined by the dinner at Zee's restaurant. Chef Jason Dobbie has a very high standing (he is also our nephew) and we wanted to have him prepare a dinner for us. Since the hotel is attached it was convenience. The hotel exceeded our expectations as it had comfortable beds, a very nice atmosphere. We had a deluxe king room with a fireplace which was very romantic. The service was excellent and very friendly staff always willing to assist you when needed. The dinner at Zee's restaurant did not disappoint us. It was excellent - taste, delivery, service and presentation. However, due to low number of reservations, we did have to go to the Harbour House for breakfast which was very good with hot food. I would definitely return to this hotel and definitely eat at Zee's again. Cheers to Chef Jason...you exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    189
    32
    14
    16
See reviews for
64
674
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our stay at the shaw club was very relaxing, quite everything was in very good order clean friendly staff the continental breakfast they serve fooled me because I thought it would not be enough for both of us, but it turn out it to be fulling so looks can be deceiving. our 2nd time at the shaw club so I will go back again for the 3rd time in the summer and has long I get a good deal.

Room Tip: its good to read everyone coments has much has possible, but in the long run you have to go and ber...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisfan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congers, New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here recently during a weekend stay with friends at NOTL. We were a group of 10 (5 couples), but 1 couple decided to stay elsewhere. Overall, this was a nice experience and stay, although the front desk staff was just so-so. No real enthusiasm shown, just often "you're bothering me" type of responses.

LOCATION: Situated at the end of the main street in NOTL, this hotel was very well located. You could walk to the central downtown area within a leisurely 5 or 10 minutes. Unfortunately, almost the entire town shuts down at approximately 5:00 pm (even on Friday and Saturday nights!!), so we found ourselves mostly window shopping.

ROOM: We selected the most basic room type (the Classic King, I believe), and it suited us just fine. It's layout was that of a typical hotel room. Hallway when you walk in, bathroom on one side, bedroom beyond. Updated design. Everything in working order, no reason to complain. My only issue was that, because we were in the room located directly adjacent to the stair, our bathroom was really tiny, and a pedestal sink was installed. No where to put down your toiletries, toothbrush, other grooming paraphernalia, etc. Annoying! A girl (especially) needs some counter space to put things down! A good assortment of toiletries were provided, though.

BREAKFAST: Included in our breakfast was a standard plated breakfast which included some yogurt and granola, a scone and some fruit, served at the hotel restaurant, Zee's. If you chose a warm dish, you were charged an additional fee ($7, I believe). Due to dietary restrictions, I needed to choose from the warm selections (eggs, omelettes, eggs Benedict), and they were even able to provide gluten free bread. One morning, when our breakfast took an incredibly long time to arrive (30 minutes), we were actually given the meals complimentary - thanks! :) Great service!

SPA: To take advantage of the package certificate, I booked a 60 minute massage at the spa. The spa is actually attached to the hotel building, but you have to go outside and around the corner to enter. Weird. Anyway, the massage was enjoyable, but the spa was rather small.

VALUE: We booked a "Getaway" package (not advertised on the website, but available when you call the hotel), which included breakfasts at the hotel's restaurants, Zee's, A $50 dinner voucher, and a $50 Spa certificate. We paid something in the neighborhood of $350 for two weekend nights in November, so it was an okay value. After some trouble in booking with the hotel over the phone (apparently, I was quoted cheaper weekday rates at first by their new trainee), all was straightened out. Good customer service would have honored the cheaper rates quoted and booked originally, but, given that we were with a group and thought it more important to be together, we sucked it up and paid the additional money (about $100).

Overall, this was a nice place, but we found it to be a little on the pricey side, especially given the mix-up at the time of booking and the days following. During our next trip to the area, we might be inclined to try a stay at nearby Niagara Falls (maybe 10 or 15 minutes away) to take advantage of better room rates.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Could not have been a better experience. Our room was perfect and offered many updated features that would be expected for a much higher priced room. Flat screen TVs in the living room, bedroom, and bathroom. The furniture was well designed, new, with a fresh look that allowed for a neat new experience. We felt we walked into a brand new hotel. Other cool features include the ample lighting, electric blinds, balcony, amazing shower, in room bar and bar stools was a neat touch.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the restaurant, lounge and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Since our first Wedding Anniversary, we have been returning to NOTL each year to celebrate our special day. As nice as the Charles Inn is and how wonderful the meals are prepared by their exceptional chef, the real reason we keep returning is for the spa treatment. The ladies that represent the Shaw Spa are spectacular! Each and every time we return, it is like visiting family and friends. A little advice: they like chocolate!

Deb and Al V

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband surprised me for my birthday with a getaway overnight. While the ambience is nice the room was cramped, the bathroom looked nice, the tub was huge but when you turn the jets on it was so loud you couldn't hear anything. The shower doors didn't close properly. The bed was hard. The spa is down the street and seemed disjointed to the hotel. We didn't find the staff very welcoming at all. Overall we were disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, FL
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We purchased a 3 night stay that included dinner, breakfast each morning, 25% off spa services, and entrances and tastings at local wineries. The value was phenomenal! The room and bed were comfortable, modern and convenient. The bathroom was very modern (slate) and the rain and hand held shower were a nice touch. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast and wait staff at Zees, the restaurant. Every morning we woke and strolled the little downtown area and river front. The Niagara-on-the-Lake wineries are quite good and have some world class wine-you can't miss the ice wine. All in all we had a wonderful experience at the Shaw Club and would reommend it to anyone goungvto NOTL!

Room Tip: I hear the main building is more modern than the other...butvwe stayed in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melkel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,983 reviews
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
468 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Club Hotel

Property: Shaw Club Hotel
Address: 92 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaw Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Shaw Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Club Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Shaw Club Hotel And Spa
Shaw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing