We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheese Secrets: More than just cheese.”
Review of Cheese Secrets

Cheese Secrets
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cheese Secrets is a boutique specialty cheese retailer in downtown Niagara on the Lake. We offer a large selection of mostly Canadian cheeses with several international favourites also available, local charcuterie, Boulart breads, crackers and cheese related products. Spices, olives, pickles, Kozlik's mustard, jams and jellies ready for your picnic. Platters are available, we can prepare them on your best china if you bring that with you. Fresh fruit and other additions are available with advance notice. And now we have Cheese and Crackers to Go-Go, 100 grams of cheese of your choice (Caramelized Onion, Applewood Smoked Cheddar, or Cow's Two Year Old Raw Milk Cheddar) with Raincoast Crisps, Rice Crackers, dried apricots and cranberries, for $9.95! A great grab and go snack.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheese Secrets: More than just cheese.”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I visit Niagara On The Lake several times each year. We always make time to stop in at Cheese Secrets....a quaint aromatic, delectable, boutique cheese store. If you're a turophile like us and want to expand your purview of cheese, this is the place for you.
Along with an excellent tasty selection of cheeses, they offer deli meats, smoked salmons, a variety of crackers and breads, fruit and nuts, cheese accessories and much more. Their Tuscan olive oils and balsamic vinegars are a must to taste....a delight to the palate. My favourite cheeses to date are the Glen Philly Whiskey Cheddar, Applewood Cheddar and the most amazing Wensleydale with caramelized onions.......yum!!!! I try something new each time. If you've bought wine from the area, ask how to pair it with cheese.....awesome. The mark of a good cheese shop are the friendly, helpful, knowledgable staff and taste offerings of about anything in the shop before you purchase it. We highly recommend Cheese Secrets to all that visit the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JWP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    12
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a great experience! Its just not cheese”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I really enjoyed the balsamic vinegar and olive oil tasting. What an entertaining and educational experience!

We wanted a group outing that was something we never experienced before and we got it! Can't wait to try my oils at home, but the cheese, well we ate it that night with wine, fresh bread and relaxing at our vacation home!

Visited June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank CDNjwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
373 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Very nice selection”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Visited from New Jersey during the ice wine festival. Cheese Secrets had a very nice selection of cheese. We appreciated the local offerings which were delicious. A little expensive for what you get.

Helpful?
Thank saveroom4dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Love this place...”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Nice place. Nice selection of cheese and sausage. After a long day of visiting wineries and doing the pairing thing we were not into having a big dinner. We stopped here and purchased a few cheeses, crackers and sausage. Added some fruit and we had a wonderful little dinner at our B&B. The clerks here were friendly, helpful and had all the patience for us as we sampled some cheeses. We liked what we picked so much we went back before we headed to the airport on our last day to bring some back with us. It is a definite stop at place while in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent visit, excellent cheese and above and beyond secret santa activity!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I'm from Scotland and was visiting my Canadian boyfriend, who took me to this wonderful little town and we found this wonderful little shop! We went inside and tried some of the cheeses and bought some of the cheese curds and caramelised onion cheese!! Delicious. For christmas I wanted to organise a cheesey gift to send some of the cheese to my boyfriend as we are such a distance apart I wanted him to smile on christmas day remembering our wonderful holiday. Cheese secrets were brilliant and after some emails and a telephone calls they got him cheese all packaged up and sent out. Fantastic people to deal with and so kind and helpful. Fantastic all round!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine_saddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese Secrets also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Cheese Secrets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing