We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional rooms, service and location !”

Wellington House B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wellington House B&B
Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exceptional rooms, service and location !”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Enjoyed a fabulous getaway weekend here while we attended the Shaw Festival. Wellington House is less than 100 yes from the Entrance of the Festival Theatre. Rooms and the overall facility are exquisite. Karen is a superb hostess and the breakfasts are first class. Highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Echoing the other reviews the major difference in this B & B versus others in the area is space in every respect. The bedroom/sitting room must be a good 14 feet by 30 feet in size. The halls are also quite spacious with a sitting area in one part on the way to the large 2nd floor front deck.
Virtually all of the doors, excepting that to the bathroom, are double doors. Even the closet and ensuite coffee bar are accessed through double doors. Electric gas fireplace. Luxurious bed and chairs. Ample fresh air flow through windows, together with A/C. Generous and expensive fresh fruit and foodstuffs for breakfast at ones' leisure. Ample & secure parking on asphalt apron in rear of building. Very convenient to Festival Theatre as well as other Shaw theaters and shopping.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are well located. No real reason to prefer one over the other two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llibsenoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I and my cousin just spent one night at Wellington House, and we both loved it. Rooms are large and very well-appointed. It is quiet in spite of its central location, right across from the Festival Theater. Breakfast was delicious, and our host was gracious and helpful. I cannot think of any way our stay could have been improved. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOLBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This very attractive B & B is just steps away from the Shaw Festival Theatre. No need to pay the $10 parking fee at the Shaw with the 3 off road parking spaces available at this B & B. We have also stayed at the Shaw Hotel & Spa which is next door. Both are great, but the B & B has more spacious rooms, a grand full breakfast, and a personal touch by the owners. The hot breakfast was available from 8:30 to 10:00 a.m. The day we visited we were given a choice of Austrian crepes with seasonal fruit or poached eggs on brioche, both with Canadian bacon. There is also coffee available at all times. For the early travelers, there was an early morning cold breakfast (cereal, granola, yogurt, fruit) available. The owner, Karen, is very nice; and also a great cook. This B & B is open about 6 months a year (approx May - early Oct) so beware of availability if looking for a late October trip to the Shaw.

Room Tip: Rooms are all on the second floor. One room has two beds while the other rooms have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyer303_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Wellington House is very conveniently located across from the main Shaw Festival Theatre site. The other two Shaw playhouses, restaurants and shops are within a comfortable few blocks walk.The house is less then 10 years old with large rooms and private baths on the second floor. The house is very clean, nicely furnished and the owner, Karen, is an excellent hostess and cook. The Wellington also provides 3 off-street parking spaces for guests which is a valuable benefit at NOTL. In summary, the Wellington offers very nice and convenient accommodations at a reasonable price. We had a very positive experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roch06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here over the Victoria Day weekend. The home is immaculate, from the garden to the rooms. The owner is friendly but as others have said not intrusive. The breakfast is delicious and hearty, the rooms are very large and well appointed and the balcony is a perfect spot to sit and relax. There is plenty of parking for guests and the location is couldn't be better - right across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre and a short walk into the heart of the town. There is a great restaurant on the corner called Zee's with a large porch offering alfresco dining (a great place for pre-theatre dinner or a glass of wine after the show). We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happiestat30000feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellent accommodations with equally impeccable service - loved having coffee available all the time ( thanx Karen). This site with the gardens must be quite a sight in the summer months. Very good breakfast presentation - all the fixings Great location as well..very close to the downtown - this will definitely be our spot in Niagra-on-the-Lake!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ThePageFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#81 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Manor Bed and Breakfast
Royal Manor Bed and Breakfast
#78 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#33 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#7 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerset Bed & Breakfast
Somerset Bed & Breakfast
#96 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington House B&B

Property: Wellington House B&B
Address: 235 Wellington Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wellington House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing