We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These wines are terrific” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palatine Hills Estate Winery

Palatine Hills Estate Winery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brockville
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“These wines are terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

on our way to Riverbend Inn & Vineyard we stopped at Palatine Hills Estate Winery....we had previously enjoyed their 1812 wines at wine festivals and we were looking forward to seeing their winery.....they treated us royally and had us sample many of their other wines that were new to us.....we couldn't have asked for better....their wines including their ice wines are fantastic....thank you Michel for the grand tour

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverSwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    15
    6
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cicero, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worst experience at a winery EVER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to Palatine Hills a year ago and had a great experience. We returned today, and our experience could not have been any worse! We started our tasting with one of their Chardonnays. It was good. We were then told that by Michel that we had to move into a back room because a bus was coming. There were 5other couples that were moved into that room as well. They closed the door and left us for over 10 minutes. The other couples decided to leave, we stayed, hoping someone would come to us. No one ever did! We stayed, foolishly, but still nobody came to serve us. We probably won't return because there are so many other wineries where they treat their customers with much more respect! Coming from the Finger Lakes region of New York, we have a lot of winery experiences, but none were as horrible as this.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ENJOY!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Palatine Hills was different from the other wineries we had seen that day. We felt very welcomed and it was not crowded like the others, we took our time and really enjoyed the experience. This really is a "hidden gem" and would definitely visit again!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank IBella85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

You won't find Palatine Hills Winery on the Wine Route signs in Niagara-on-the-Lake. That's a terrible shame. This small and unpretentious winery has a terrific winemaker who is doing great things, especially if you like Chardonnay. The small staff is welcoming and knowledgeable, and when we were there, the winemaker was lounging behind the counter. He eagerly stepped in and discussed each wine with us, pouring and explaining various steps and methods he used. The tasting guides like to use a "mystery wine" method, pouring a taste and asking if you know what variety it is. We were often surprised due to the complexity this young winemaker can draw from the grape. The oaked Chardonnay is fantastic, and surprisingly, he has released a 2012 red already which is a pleasant sipper. Go to Palatine Hills and be surprised...in so many wonderful ways.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank enjay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was the first stop on a Winter Wine Tour package we purchased through Niagara Fun Tours. Our guide at this estate winery (Michele) was very knowledgeable and focused on teaching us things about wine (as opposed to other wineries that just point out the wines you are going to try and that's it). He was hilarious and made everyoen feel welcome and comfortable. We had some taste tests and some trivia and he gave away free bottles of wine for that.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palatine Hills Estate Winery also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Beamsville, Lincoln
 

Been to Palatine Hills Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing