We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience McFarland House
from $68.85
More Info
from $76.59
More Info
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
87
47
10
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
87
47
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great tea niagara parks nice tea room served with clotted cream tie the knot sun room earl grey tea squash soup guided tour history buff prince of wales great tour luncheon war admission tray jam
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 148 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2018 via mobile

The house is not very large. The tour was interesting and enjoyable. We bought the pass that included the tour for free. Our son is 5 and he started to get a little antsy so it may not be the best choice for younger kids. The power was out when we visited so food and tea was not available.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank hyperhippiechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

One of my favourite places to go to for High Tea. Wonderful setting, lovely teas and good sandwiches and scones.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank KMR115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018

The McFarland House offers a wonderful environment in which to enjoy an excellent variety of teas. The glass enclosed patio offers beautiful views of the Niagara River Parkway Trail which is part of the Trans Canada Trail. We had the squash soup and scones served with clotted cream and jams. Truly a delightful way to spend part of an afternoon. You must reserve a table during busy times. Can't wait for our third visit.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank HappyEarthWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

A really interesting visit to this pre-War of 1812 building, now a museum and tea room. We didn’t take the short tour but did enjoy the tea room. First of all, a beautiful parkland setting just off the Niagara Parkway. Easy to get to, plenty of parking. We were in need of a pause for something to eat after visiting wineries but other than a few wineries with food (and that's hit-and-miss) and of course in NOTL itself there isn’t a lot in the area. So this was a real find. The tea room is in a nice glassed-in winter garden to the rear of the building. There are about a dozen tables. The menu is limited but appropriate and varied enough that everyone can find something (they cater to lunch and afternoon tea). I had the cheese board and the others a sandwich, soup and a salad. So a bit of everything. All really good and very attractively presented. Prices are very good as well. This is a lovely stop on your trip around Niagara.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank jbmcnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018

McFarland was a ship builder. He was very wealthy as can be seen from the home and its furnishings. He eventually owned 2000 acres of land.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews