We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual and Rustic Dining Experience”

Ravine Vineyard Estate Winery
Reserve with OpenTable
Ravine Vineyard Estate Winery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At Ravine we are blessed with a culinary program that has a lot more to offer then just talented cooks in the kitchen.We are among the few self standing restaurants that bake our own bread, raise our own pigs, grow our own certified organic vegetables while pairing our meals with the guidance and discriminating palate of a wine maker and in house sommelier.We are extremely proud of our service team and confident in the level of hospitality that will be shown to your table whenever you choose to dine with us at Ravine.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
186 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Casual and Rustic Dining Experience”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had read so many great reviews about this restaurant that I thought it would be a great way to celebrate my birthday. I thought the dinner was very good, but a little expensive. The restaurant is decorated in faux rustic. My pickerel dinner had a menu description that needed interpretation by the server, and she was happy to explain what two types of raisins were on the plate with the small filet. The setting is not very fancy. You are in a new barn overlooking the vineyard. I'm not sure where the ravine is. The service was very attentive. In the past, we also took in an evening by the bar eating homemade sausage snack foods and drinking wine. If you are looking for a fancy night out, there are better places in NOTL; but this is a fun, casual vineyard setting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyer303_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    824
    318
    93
    33
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Sc
Level Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great little spot”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Decided to eat here after doing a wine tasting at the vineyard. It was a very pleasant find. The service was top notch and the food was good but a little pricey. The restaurant has a great view overlooking the vineyard.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delectable!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I recently visited Ravine Winery and it's lovely restaurant for a wine tour and lunch with my Mom and sister.

We did the very quick (25 minutes) and very thorough Harvest Tour. At $5.00 a person it's a steal. We sampled two wines and enjoyed both. Our tour guide was Mike, who was filled with knowledge about the winery, it's farming practices and the wine itself. He was quick to answer all of our questions which ranged from very general queries to specifics about the bio dynamic farming practiced at the winery.

After our tour we adjourned to the lovely restaurant located on the property.

The service: From the first greeting at the door, the service was warm, welcoming and well informed. The restaurant was quite full, but our table was ready even though we were about ten minutes early. Our waitress arrived after only a few minutes to bring us water and tell us about the daily specials. She was very knowledgeable about the menu and answered any questions and made suggestions. Throughout the meal the service was present without being obtrusive. Our water glasses were filled and plates were taken away but it was always part of the service as opposed to an intrusion onto the meal.

The atmosphere: The restaurant is not especially large but their are great big windows which look out onto the winery. What a great view! The restaurant was full but it was never overly loud. The chairs were comfortable and the table laid quite nicely. There was definitely a low murmur of satisfaction from other diners as well as a few "ooohs and aaahs" as plates went past.

The food: Having lunch with people who like to eat is always delightful! We decided to get a few things to share. We had mussels (served with crispy french fries), the charcuterie plate, oysters and the baby romaine salad. All of food was quite fresh tasting. The mussels were perfectly seasoned and the portion was quite large. The oysters were cleanly shucked and served with both a hot sauce and vinegar sauce. The baby romaine salad included proscuitto, a creamy dressing and pieces of shaved parmesan. The charcuterie plate was the best part featuring house cured meats, a SUPER delicious chicken pate, dijon mustard, crazy good kimchi and pickled beets, amongst other delicious bits. We ate it all!

Overall, the service, atmosphere and food combined to make a perfect meal. Total for the meal including wine, a ceaser and beer and coffee was about $150. Given the freshness of the ingredients and the amount of food, it was a steal

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarissaJ632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
412 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Very good food, excellent service, great view”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Casual bistro restaurant serves delicious food at a very reasonable price. $217.53 for 3 courses and a bottle of wine for 3 people. From start to finish all the staff were very gracious and the service was polished, including very cheerfully taking a couple of photos of our table. The kitchen is downstairs and the food arrives on a dumbwaiter. They seem to have a good team system as they assembled a number of waiters for a large table and delivered all the food at once so no one had to sit looking at their plate getting cold while waiting for the other dinners to arrive.

The main dining area is on different levels so everyone can enjoy the vineyard view and the tables are well spaced and comfortable. Soft lighting but not at all dark. The weather was unseasonably cold so we ate inside, but they have a lovely outdoor patio for dining.

The soup of the day was a cream of mushroom that was out of this world. Delicious stock and just the right creaminess and it was served with a frothy topping (forgot what it was, but it was good) and a tender parmesan biscuit. My husband had the seared scallops appetizer with bacon which he thoroughly enjoyed. The table all ordered the seared pickerel which was good but not outstanding, ( I would have liked the bok choy a bit more tender and the chutney condiment was a little odd). Ordered a bottle of their Chardonnay which was excellent.

Desserts are amply sized and yummy. I do think my husband's apple pie should have been warm instead of cold, but it was tasty. My peanut nougat glace with chocolate ganache and a peanut brittle garnish was original and very good.

Cappuccino was served in an enormous mug and was very good and the tea is served piping hot in large teapots that don't drip.

We were there on a Friday and live music started at 7:00 in the lounge area outside the main dining room. The duo was good, the music wasn't too loud and the soft rock was a good choice for this type of restaurant.

The winery is open till 8:00 on Fridays through October so we were able to sample and buy a mixed case before dinner. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alwaysplanahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Delightful restaurant with excellent service.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our group tried the Ravine Restaurant before heading to an evening performance at the Shaw Festival. We had a reservation for an early seating and were handled promptly. The menu choices were good, the quality of the food high and the service could not have been better. This restaurant would be an excellent choice for anyone going to the Festival.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottawans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ravine Vineyard Estate Winery also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Ravine Vineyard Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing