We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time”
Review of Sunnybrook Winery

Sunnybrook Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: First fruit winery in Canada nestled in the heart of Niagara-on-the-Lake. It produces a wide variety of award-winning peach, pear, apple, plum, berry wines, and hard cider.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Bad products, bad service!!! The fruit wines are a good idea but at this winery they are more like fruit juices with alcool in it. The service at the tasting bar was totally bad by an employee who seems to hate her job. We had no explanation on the winery and the products that we had tasted.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NicholasLanctot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Sunnybrook Winery, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Sorry to hear your experience at Sunnybrook. We will investigate the incident and our staff service to ensure this will not happen again. Unlike grape winemaking, our wines are made to reflect fruits' original characters and many of our customers enjoy the approach we take. For example, we want our peach wine to bring out the taste of fresh peach at harvest and not something that is oaked with vanilla flavour. Hope this explains our winemaking positioning and thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    27
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“5 Servings a Day? No problem!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Sunnybrook Winery has the most amazing fruit wines (other than grapes!). They offer options from light and spicy to dark and delicious that compliment any type of meal. This year, our favorites were the spiced apple, strawberry, and blackberry. They also have an interesting chocolate wine that would be great with desserts. The tasting room/area is small and familial compared to the big wineries but it is definitely worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Tried the cider - yumm. Iced wines are great. Have been going here for years and will continue to visit for as long as they are open. This is a small place and it is worth the stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KeKeGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“best fruit wines!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

we just went back to this place for a 2nd time because we loved the wines so much the first time. they even had some new ones to try that we loved too! there isnt much to do or see here but i def recommend doing a few tastings here. guaranteed you will leave with a bottle! staff is friendly also!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victor1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A Winery that's Different from the Others”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The wine here is strictly fruit wine and not your traditional grape wine. A nice change when doing the wine route. My personal favorite is the chocolate blueberry wine, though I do like many of their other options (the apple spice wine comes to mind). We always leave with at least one bottle (often more).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grizinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunnybrook Winery also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Sunnybrook Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing