We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Winery Tour!”
Review of Trius Winery

Trius Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Trius Winery is a Niagara winemaking pioneer. For more than 30 years, we have been crafting fine VQA wines from premium grapes grown in the four appellations of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Nestled between the Niagara escarpment and Lake Ontario, we have made our home in a wine growing region that provides the diversity to grow a number of varietals in unique growing conditions. Our winery provides both a wine and culinary journey like no other. A visit to Trius Winery is an unrushed sensory experience, a time out that lets you taste, feel and discover. Our wines and menus are inspired by the seasonal evolution of the vines that surround us, and the local produce that grows beside them. Our wines, our dining, and our daily events for the wine lover and Wine Club members make Trius Winery the perfect destination for your wine country visit.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Through a TravelZoo deal to stay at the Hilton Niagara, my boyfriend and I received a coupon for a free tour and tasting. We almost didn't go but I'm so happy we did. Learned a lot from our guide (I feel horrible that I forget her name but she had black wavy hair, beautiful) and we could tell she loved her job and had fun with it. Our visit was in early February so obviously there was no greenery on the grape vines but it still looked incredible. The wine cellar was incredible to see. I've never seen and probably never will see that much wine in my life. Plus we got to see these funky eggs that wine ferments in. The wine we tasted was awesome and I now know how to properly drink wine. I ended up buying two bottles of wine at the end of the tour and cannot wait to crack them open. If you can, TRY THE ICE WINE.

Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara M, Public Relations Manager at Trius Winery, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

We're thrilled we made your first winery tour experience a great one! Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 459 of 600 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We came here for wine tasting using vouchers from our hotel and were not disappointed for making the 20 minute drive from the falls. The server was very friendly and gave us great suggestions as well as information about the process. The highlight was sampling the expensive and very sweet ice wines!

Thank JWhyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We just celebrated our parents anniversary (70 of us) in their Trius Vineyard Pavilion an exceptional bright space with beamed ceilings, lots of windows and charm overlooking the working vineyard beyond. The setting is spectacular, and you arrive via the Barrel cellar in the winter - so we had snow blanketing the vineyard. They looked after such amazing details for us, and the service was exceptional on the day of our event. Thanks to the whole staff for a great meal and ambiance, I don't think it could have been done any better, thank you!

Thank luxtravelAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara M, Public Relations Manager at Trius Winery, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

This review was an absolute pleasure to read for the whole staff. We're so glad we gave you and your parents an excellent experience! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Brief tour(40 min) - but very informative - tour takes down into the caverns and the tastings actually take place there as well... quite tasty - the Brut Rose is a favorite.

Thank ThePageFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara M, Public Relations Manager at Trius Winery, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

We are so pleased we could deliver a great experience. Thank you for your review and we will be sure to pass along your message to the "sparkling wine goddess".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Received this deal as part of Travelzoo promo pkg combined with Hilton stay. Called to reserve time for tour which was for 2pm. There wasn't any organization when we arrived, unlike a previous tour we took advantage of. We went into the store and asked someone behind counter where to go. We were told to just hang around store after lady at counter took our voucher for the tour and wrote our name on it. There was no matching of our names to any list that we saw. In fact, it appeared that anyone could show up and attend with or without a reservation. And, I personally didn't think it was a good idea to have people hanging around just taking up space in the store. Other than that, tour was great. Guide was a wealth of information. Tasted three wines. Enjoyed the experience.

Thank MrsWhite1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara M, General Manager at Trius Winery, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We're so glad we could give you a great tour and we do apologize that your experience leading up to the tour was a negative one. We have high standards of organization and customer service skills at Trius Winery at Hillebrand. Our online booking system has been experiencing problems lately and that could have been one of the reasons you were not on the tour list. We will make sure to look into this matter further with our staff. I would love to speak to you further about your experience. Here are my contact details if you wish to speak further: Joanne Martins, Retail Manager Operations, Trius Winery at Hillebrand: 905 468 6222, Joanne.martins@triuswines.com. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trius Winery also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Trius Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing