We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intense Ice wine weekend”

Peller Estates Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.94*
and up
Private Winery Tour of Niagara-on-the-Lake
More Info
$122.63*
and up
Niagara Falls and Winery Helicopter Tour
More Info
$4.09*
and up
Peller Estates Winery Tasting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Andrew Peller was one of the founding fathers of Ontario wine; today his namesake winery remains a family-owned enterprise - focused around the grand winery, showpiece barrel cellar and gracious Peller Estates Winery Restaurant (helmed by Chef Jason Parsons). Food and wine pairing themes are mainstays in the chock-full seminar and event calendar. Peller Estates' full range of Private Reserve whites, reds and sweet wines by Winemaker Katie Dickieson are always rich and approachable, while the Signature Series features age-worthy reds, award-winning Icewines and the unique Ice Cuvee sparkling wines, sweetened with a touch of Icewine. Experience wine country at the ultimate wine and food lover’s playground with tours and seminars throughout the day, including Niagara’s only igloo-like lounge where you’ll don a Peller Estates parka and taste Icewine at -10C. Partake in a barrel cellar dinner, fine dining in the Winery Restaurant with Executive Chef Jason Parsons, or casual dining on the patio’s Barrel House Grill. Party in the Vineyard at the annual food truck event in spring and country music festival in summer.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I joined the intense ice wine weekend. It was much more intense than we thought :) We learned a great deal on how ice wine is made, the business behind ice wine production - why it's so expensive, the grape farm / suppliers, etc. Best part is, you get to drink almost unlimited amount of ice wine and other wines at Peller while listening to these stories - until you are sick them!

As a foodie, I definitely enjoyed the 2 tasting lunches + 1 dinner, with each course designed to either incorporate ice wine or complement it. Besides having wine pairing for each course, we greatly enjoyed having Chef Jason Parsons coming out at the beginning of each course explaining how and why he made that particular dish. He's got a great personality. It was my first time tasting his food, and his menu is well thought-out. His flavours are balanced and intricate, along with perfect executions on each plate. My wife and I both felt as if we are judges on Top Chef, listening to his explanation before tasting the food. Awesome experience overall!

1  Thank Mack Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara M, Public Relations Manager at Peller Estates Winery, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review of the Intense Icewine Weekend at Peller Estates! It's wonderful to know we achieved our goal of giving you a truly "intense" experience. I will forward your message along to our staff at Peller. We hope you come out again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,033 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

The woman who helped us at Peller was so helpful and knowledgeable. Very friendly. The wine was great. Afterwards she told us about the other things that we could do at Peller. The estate was also gorgeous!

Thank 175VLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara M, Public Relations Manager at Peller Estates Winery, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for the excellent review! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The tasting experience is great -- very knowledgeable hostess who knew lots about wine generally, about Peller wine in particular, about the history of the place and former orchards, and so much more. Friendly and generous with the wine. Our hotel gave us a free tasting pass, but in any event it is free if you buy wine, which you certainly will. Some of the best wine in the region. A large, beautiful building in a scenic setting. You can't go wrong here.

3  Thank EagleEyeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara M, Public Relations Manager at Peller Estates Winery, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed our wines! Cheers and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have been here twice and both times was pleased with the customer service at the tasting bar. The attendant balanced the fine line between my party and other guests both times.

The reason I gave it four rather than 5 stars is value. I am a member here, and therefore don't pay for tastings. I wouldn't really recommend the $20 per person food and wine pairing as you only get three crackers with toppings.

i would recommend coming in the nice weather as the grounds are breath taking.

Thank samtigger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara M, Public Relations Manager at Peller Estates Winery, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're so glad to hear you're a Wine Club Member. We will definitely consider your feedback regarding the Art of Wine & Food Experience. Thanks again and we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We could not do the tour but instead paid for the wine tasting. The tasting is free if you buy wine. You have a list of 12 different wines to try including ice wines

Peter was our bar server in he was great, we learned a few things and made our time a fantastic one. The building and entrance is really good

Thank Armando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara M, Public Relations Manager at Peller Estates Winery, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We will pass your message along to Peter. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peller Estates Winery also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Peller Estates Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing