We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merlot House
Nearby Hotels
Moffat Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$121
$109
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shaw Club Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$153
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$322
$282
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince of Wales(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$120
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Landing(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
$141
$135
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
189
6
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
189
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshirley and mikeginger sconesshaw roomoatmeal pancakesb bincredibly gracious hostsself serve coffeewater coolerworld travelsmy husband and ishaw festivalthoughtful touchesoffered suggestionsdouble jacuzzi tubenjoyed the companyfresh flowersunique shops
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 196 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in the Shaw suite. It was my mother's first trip to the area and her first stay in a bed and breakfast. Our hosts were very welcoming and thoughtful. We had to miss our first breakfast there due to some plans that took us away early in the morning. Our hosts left us a take away basket at the door full of treats to bring with us on our journey. The breakfast that we did have the following morning was outstanding. Delicious home baked scones, a yogurt and fresh fruit parfait followed by the main course of baked eggs with smoked salmon. My mother really enjoyed her stay. The hosts have set the bar very high..not sure another B&B could top this one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlothouse, Owner at Merlot House, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We appreciate it and hope to see you back again sometime in the future.
Cheers
Mike and Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My friend and I enjoyed our stay here. We had the room with twin beds and everything was clean, comfy and lovely to look at. A very quiet place. The owners are absolutely charming and so helpful. And the breakfast was very, very nice, tasty and beautifully presented. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlothouse, Owner at Merlot House, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We really appreciate it. Hope to see you again in Niagara on the Lake.
Cheers
Mike and Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My mother and I loved our stay in the Merlot Suite at the Merlot House for two nights. They catered to my dietary restrictions, and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious! Gorgeous ensuite bathroom with jacuzzi and shower. Great location to main strip with vehicle. Beautiful backyard. So warm and friendly! Would recommend to anybody and would be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlothouse, Owner at Merlot House, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We really appreciate it and hope to see you in Niagara on the Lake in the future.
Cheers
Mike and Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our stay at the Merlot House was more than expected. We stayed in the Merlot
Suite which was comfortable and cozy. Breakfasts were great, both plentiful and tasty. But best of all were our hosts. Shirley and Mike could not be more friendly and attended to our every need. Pleasant conversation with them and the other guests were highlights of our stay. Our 5 day stay gave us the rest and relaxation we needed. We could not recommend the Merlot House more highly.

karen and John .

Room Tip: We stayed in both the Chardonnay and Merlot Suites. Both were nice but the Merlot Suite was larger and more luxurious.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having just returned from a two night stay at the Merlot House, we were excited to write a review. The stay was everything we could have asked for. We stayed in the Shaw Suite, which had very comfortable twin beds and a wonderful bathroom with plenty of hot water and a wonderful shower. The room was quiet and very peaceful, especially for late sleepers. The nine oclock breakfast hour was perfect for us and we found the company at breakfast to be such fun. We found the walk to Queen Street to be a little more than we wanted to attempt; but, the drive was only three or four minutes and parking was readily available.

We couldn't close without mentionning the breakfasts. Our food was obviously prepared with much attention to detail and by folks who love what they are doing. Finding meals made with homemade ingredients and such interesting combinations was great. We will definitely not only recommend this destination to friends, but, will plan a return stay ourselves. Thanks Mike and Shirley for a pleasant and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27Rose1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews