We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B Money Can Buy”

1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best B&B Money Can Buy”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

My wife and I spent a couple of days in Niagara on the Lake at the end of June. A birthday surprise for her. We decided to stay at the 1818 Rising Sun B&B and were very glad we did. First off let me say that our hosts, Frans and Lois, are very congenial, offering many tips to the highlights of the area. But if it is privacy you desire then you will not be bothered by overly attentive hosts. They will respect your choice. Speaking of privacy, the room is extremely quiet as it is situated on the back side of the house away from traffic. Now for the best part. My wife and I have travelled extensively and always stay in b&b's. We have never stayed in a b&b that has as many amenities and appointments for their guests as the Rising Sun. You will find a refrigerator and T.V. in the armoire at the end of the bed. There are magazines if you wish to read, a table for writing, an ensuite bathroom where you will find little extras like a tooth brush, toothpaste, hair products, feminine products and more. There is a second bathroom off the gallery which the fellas might find useful while the ensuite is in use.

The room is tastefully decorated and the walls throughout are covered in beautiful paintings, as Lois is an accomplished water colour artist. The dining area is located in Lois' gallery and it is a private space as well. There is also a private entrance for guests so you can come and go as you wish. The gardens and outside sitting area are for guests to use and the ambience is soothing to say the least. I could go on but I think you get the picture...the 1818 Rising Sun B&B is a 5-star accommodation in our book and you will not be disappointed if you choose to stay with Frans and Lois.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wayne_Elliott48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Stayed here two nights with spouse. Excellent service - owners are very friendly, helpful, lots of tips on sights and restaurants. Free bikes available and free parking. Room is large, beautifully decorated with very comfy king size bed, antique furnishings, owner's artwork is everywhere. Spotlessly clean, lovely bathroom. Separate sitting room with coffee maker. Separate entrance to room. About 15-20 minutes walk from town centre, or 5 minute drive. Free wireless internet. Historic building on main road; quiet and private. Would defintely stay here again. Many thanks to owners, Lois & Franz!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2011

This B&B is perfectly situated in beautiful Niagara on the Lake. The room is extremely well decorated and very comfortable. This is our 2nd time staying here. The owners makes you feel so welcome and would strongly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaloo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast. The room was gorgeous and clean. Beautifully renovated and tastefully decorated. We loved the little gallery run by the artist owner attached to the room. It was a lovely place to sit in the morning with our coffee before heading out down the street into town. So quiet and serene. We will definitely be back!! We found the price to be reasonable as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.9 mi away
In Elegance Bed and Breakfast
In Elegance Bed and Breakfast
#20 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle's Wing Bed and Breakfast
Eagle's Wing Bed and Breakfast
#111 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#34 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kellar House Accommodations
Kellar House Accommodations
#65 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abagales Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Abagales Victorian Bed and Break...
#73 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast

Property: 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast
Address: 519 Mississagua Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home (circa 1818) in beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake,Ontario. Private separate quarters within resident artist's home & gallery. Kingsize bed, a/c, ceiling fan, mini-fridge, TV, ironing board, hairdryer, free wireless internet. Tastefully decorated. Main floor entry. Patio for guest's use available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing