We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Front desk employees were very nice and helpful on every level, the shuttle into town was perfect with little wait, plus you can go to one of their sisters hotels to catch it also. Room was very clean and cosy. Only wish the spa would keep some appointments open for hotel guests, it was a last minute try but they were booked, but that's our fault.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for your favorable review. It is great to see that our efforts to provide our guests with a wonderful guest experience have been achieved. We appreciate all feedback and it is always nice to see a guest has enjoyed their time with us and in Niagara. We do encourage making spa appointments in advance, but we do sincerely apologize that you were unable to book any treatments due to a lack of availability. We do hope that in the near future you are able to enjoy the facilities in the spa and are able to have some time to relax and pamper yourself! Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,037)
There are newer reviews for The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,232 - 1,238 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at the Pillar and Post 2nd July 2014 for just one night after our visit to Niagara Falls.
There was a issue when we arrived with one of the two rooms that had been booked not being ready at 4:00pm to go to. This we found to be un acceptable. As booking in is at 3:00pm. After a wait and a few reminders that we was still waiting after 40 mins we was give the room.

The hotel itself if very nice. The rooms are comfortable with all you could need for your stay.

We used the pool and spa area which was both clean and relaxing.

There was some guest staying that night that seemed to forget that others was also trying to get some sleep. At 12:30am they still thought it would be ok to talk around the pool area. The management failed to remove them back to their rooms. We was told the next day that no body should have been out there after 11:00pm. Shame no body told the guest that.

Dispute a few hick ups this was a nice hotel and only wished we staying there for two nights instead of one. Great location.

If I was in Canada again I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sandystar49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and apologize for the experience you had during your stay. It is certainly not our intention to give such a poor impression of our hotel and we are so sorry that you were made to feel this way. We sincerely apologize that your guest room was not available right at check in time and we also are very sorry to hear that you were kept up by other guests talking in a common area, we will be sure to correct this for any future instances, as we use all guest feedback as a tool for improvement. Despite the two items you mentioned we are so pleased you were able to see past this and that you still enjoyed your time away here at the Pillar and Post! When you return please be sure to mention that you are a returning guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Pillar and Post is a restful luxurious retreat away from our fast-paced stressful contemporary life. Its enchanting, elegant, and historical atmosphere alongside the inn's friendly unpretentious service is why it's one of my favourite inns in North America. I've been coming to the Pillar and Post since the 1970s as a little girl when the beds were country pine with handmade quilts and the inn was a quarter of the size. My husband and I were married there in 1996 after the inn had been extensively renovated into the extravagant hotel, conference centre, and spa that it is today. Despite its transformation from 19th century working cannery factory to a small charming country inn in the 70s and 80s to the lavish setting it is today, Pillar and Post still manages to retain essences of its original architecture and the cozy family-friendly warmth of its early modest inn beginnings. For me, the Pillar and Post is steeped in nostalgia the moment I drive up and see the iconic rustic wooden sign. Despite us not being able to afford to stay overnight very often, we sometimes drop in to sit in the lounge or have dinner in the Cannery just to reset our clocks to a happier rhythm and to reminisce over the wonderful memories we've experienced there over the years.

Special thanks to Hugh at the front desk who made this particular trip ever so wonderful and found a way for us to make our stay more affordable.

The outdoor and indoor pool, along with the all year outdoor hot springs is the best you'll find at any inn in Canada. There is nothing as romantic as sitting in the outdoor hot springs during a snowfall or as therapeutic as swimming in the gorgeous indoor pool. In summertime, the outdoor pool is a lovely quiet oasis even when the hotel is booked up with tourists. I also really like the small gym area.

We've never had a bad guest room and we've been staying here for years. Whether it's a traditional room or one of the luxury premium rooms with whirlpool and fireplace, they're all equally comfortable.

The only small negative is that the food served at the Pillar and Post isn't one of our favourite places to eat in NOTL. And the wine list isn't a wide ranged as you'd expect in wine country. If staying there, we normally have breakfast or one meal in the Cannery just because the atmosphere is so awesome and then have the rest of our meals elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NorthTDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for your repeat patronage, the loyalty of our returning guests means a great deal to us. We also very much appreciate you taking time out to let others know about our services and our commitment to providing the best possible service for all our guests. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back, whether for breakfast or for a night stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Thank you, Pillar and Post staff, for again making our stay a most enjoyable experience. We have always found the staff most helpful and able to accommodate to our specific needs. And we are always greeted with huge smiles - a joy in this day and age.
Catherine E.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had our wedding at the Pillar and Post on June 21, 2014 and it was WONDERFUL. We would highly recommend anyone thinking of booking their wedding with the vintage hotels to do so! Our wedding co-ordinator, Sandra, was great all the way through the planning process. She always responded quickly to our questions and was very informative. We had many meetings as we planned the day and they were always accomodating to our schedule.

The day of the wedding everything went so smoothly! The staff and vendors that they recommend really do work great together and there is hardly anything that you need to worry about!

Our guests had a great time - many stayed at the hotel the night of the wedding. We are still hearing rave reviews about the food! The staff were lovely and very helpful during our dinner service as well as throughout the night.

This place really does have the whole package - lovely venue for ceremony (ours was in the Rose Garden and it looked beautiful) and reception (our was in the Upper Canada Ballroom) with great food and friendly staff! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated all of our little added touches for your wedding. We are very thankful to have such wonderful staff that truly cares about our guests and their needs. Congratulations and we hope to see you back at the Pillar and Post!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel was very clean, perfect view of the pool with a nice breeze.
The staff were sincere and grade AA+. It was very relaxing, comfortable and no pressure or stress. The little things like the rose and chocolate on the pillow for our anniversary was a wonderful touch.

Room Tip: ask for what you are looking for. I requested pool view with patio to have a glass of wine and that...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate you sharing your lovely experience and taking the time to reflect on your stay at the Pillar and Post Inn and Spa. Our goal is to always provide you with exceptional quality and service to ensure your stay is memorable. Again, thank you very much for your lovely compliments, we will be sure to share this with our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is our second stay at a Vintage Hotels property, our first was Queens Landing last year, so this year we decided to stay at the P&P... and we absolutely loved it! We booked the Summer Lovin package (great value as it includes breakfast which everyone knows can be pricey at hotels), but when we arrived at our Traditional guest room, we were extremely surprised at the quality of the room, and not in a good way. Let me start by saying that the mobile website does not provide pictures of the guest rooms (at least not that I could find) so I has no idea what to expect. I can't say all Traditional rooms were what we experienced but the one we got was an extremely small space that exuded a dark and dingy atmosphere so I returned to the front desk and requested another room, to which they happily obliged. Fortunately for us the hotel wasn't busy and had the availability. The wonderful guy at the front desk even escorted us to view the different upgrade rooms, which I thought was excellent service. Needless to say, the rest of our stay was amazing. As mentioned by most other reviewers, everything about this hotel is above average (beautiful property, friendly staff, etc) but what was most impressive was the food at the Cannery where we enjoyed an amazing dinner! My compliments to the chef on the veal chop. So good! Oh and the shuttle service they offer is convenient, to the extent that you can pop in to any restaurant and ask them to call the hotel to come pick you up! All in all, we loved our stay so much that we tried to extend it an extra day but unfortunately there was no availability. We look forward to our next visit!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BlueSparkle26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,735 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $198 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, ranked one of the top 25 spas in Canada by the Spa Association of Canada 2016. The Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing