We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They say you pay for what you get...fab hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“They say you pay for what you get...fab hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel...lovely staff, nice pool area, breakfast to die for. We had family room for 2 adults and 3 teenage girls. Very comfortable. recommend if visiting Niagara on the lake. Or their sister hotel prince of Wales, nearer the centre.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    437
    181
    73
    39
See reviews for
302
1,141
23
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

From the moment we arrived until we left 2 days later we were treated royally, starting with the front desk staff who greeted us promptly and professionally. We lunched both days in the Vintages Lounge and were impressed with the quality and quantity of the food as well as the personable and knowledgeable servers. Dinner (surf and turf) in The Carriages Dining Room was excellent and, once again, our waitress provided exceptional service and friendly conversation. We had prepaid $60 each for the 3-course dinner and it was worth every penny! Years ago, we used to retreat to the Inn on The Park in Toronto and have been looking for something comparable since it closed and I think we've found it! The property is not so large that you get lost, parking is handy and the pools and exercise facilities are top-notch. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breton66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We appreciate all your wonderful compliments about our hotel and the service that you had received from our staff during your stay. It is always our goal to exceed all expectations so to hear that we did means a great deal to our guest service team. We look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Pillar and Post Inn is a beautiful place to stay -- the gardens are gorgeous, the rooms are lovely, the pools are terrific, and the location is just a few blocks away from the theaters and shops of Niagara on the Lake. I was there with my teenage children and we think it's a great value for the price. Our room had a fireplace and overlooked the gardens. The parking was ample and it was easy to walk or drive to the theaters to see the plays. Everyone was friendly and there were plenty of "extra touches" -- lots of towels and hot tea near the indoor pool, a rose delivered by the housekeeping staff in the evening, and robes in the room for everyone in our family. EXCELLENT place to stay while enjoying the Shaw Festival or visiting wineries!! We'll be going back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens or outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owens74Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate you sharing your lovely experience and taking the time to reflect on your stay at the Pillar and Post Inn and Spa. Our goal is to always provide you with exceptional quality and service to ensure your stay is memorable. Again, thank you very much for your lovely compliments, we will be sure to share this with our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Pillar & Post Inn and was very pleased with the service and overall experience. Great atmosphere and we loved the wine and strawberries every evening in our room. The location was within walking distance to shopping. The hotel took us to the Shaw theater which was wonderful and we also took a wine tour via limo. Great escape for a girls weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas5-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manger's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I am very glad to hear you had an enjoyable escape for a girls weekend. We sincerely appreciate your comments and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your overall experience. We look forward to seeing you for your next escape!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here for our anniversary. It was our first time staying here. Overall we were very happy with the room and the hotel in general. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. No complaints. The staff were pleasant and friendly and we had no problem getting a later check-out.

It could have been a "perfect" stay but there was one small issue. I had ordered a bottle of wine and some chocolate cover strawberries to be delivered to our room while we were having dinner. They were actually in our room before we arrived and checked in. That in itself was fine... but by the time we actually got around to enjoying them later that night the strawberries were in pretty rough condition. They were very small to begin with and one of them was starting to go moldy at the stem. I'm sure they would have done something about it had we said anything at the time, but by then it was very late and really didn't want any replacement strawberries, as the whole thing was a bit of a turn off. They did at least remove them from our bill.

Other than that everything was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are so pleased that you were able to celebrate your anniversary with us. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience and taking the time to reflect on your stay at the Pillar and Post.

Our goal is to always provide you with exceptional quality and service and to ensure your stay is memorable. We sincerely apologize for the difficulties you had receiving the wine and chocolate covered strawberries, we will take this feedback and use it to improve our guest services.

Happy Anniversary to you and we hope we can be a part of your celebration next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

After hearing great things about the Pillar and Post from family and friends for the last several years my wife and I decided to go there for our anniversary this year. Our premium room was down at the spa end of the hotel, in the same area as the indoor pool.

Frankly we were disappointed in the room - the furniture looked like it was from the early 1980's, and the room was dark with one small window in the corner. Overall the pictures we had seen on their website did not really compare to what we ended up in. We did go back to the front desk and were shown another couple of rooms - but these were the same or worse.

We ended up leaving and staying in a different hotel.

It turns out our friends and family had stayed there a number of years ago. I think it's time for an overall update!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and apologize for the experience you had during your stay. It is certainly not our intention to give such a poor impression of our hotel and we are so sorry that you were made to feel this way. As for the decor, the Pillar and Post is known for its charm however, we are currently working on the appearance of the hotel and making several changes to be more appealing and better functioning for all of our guests. We very much appreciate all of your comments, we hope you consider staying with us again the next time you are in town so we might show you the quality hospitality you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our experience at the Pillar and Post Inn was excellent. We wanted to get away for a quick day trip and play in Niagara-on-the-Lake, and had never stayed at the Pillar and Post before, so went for one of their packages. The hotel was beautiful, the staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet was delicious. And, the was comfortable and relaxing. A great destination and we'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeD997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Property: The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, #1 spa in North America (Spas of America 2007-8), Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing