We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Spa Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Definitely worth every penny. Must stay at Pillar and Post at least once....a year (it is really one of my favourite places on earth)! It is better with a partner, I have to say in all honesty but enjoyable with your sister :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuiGonJin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed a weekend away with your sister and that you look forward to visiting the Pillar and Post yearly. We are very thankful to have such a wonderful staff that truly cares about our guests and their needs. I will be sure to let the spa know how much you appreciated their efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,037)
There are newer reviews for The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,277 - 1,283 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

room selection does matter. My sister and I took my mom for a girls get away for Mother's Day and I booked a deluxe room and was really surprised at the room we were given. You had to exit the hotel and go outside, it was very small and felt very claustrophobic. I called the front desk and explained that having stayed before this was not quite what I was expecting. They could not have been nicer and agreed to upgrade me to a larger room, in the spa area, for a nominal surcharge. The new room was fabulous, very spacious and had lots of room for us to sit around and enjoy a glass of wine after dinner and chat. Completely worth the extra cost. I have used the spa and the hot springs on prior visits and really enjoyed both. If you are looking for a hotel that exudes casual elegance, this would be it.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend going for the larger rooms in the newer spa area.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLJTAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

After a busy week of home renovations, we decided a night away was in order and the Pillar and Post was a delightful experience that left us refreshed and ready to start again!
The deluxe queen room was spacious and clean and the beds were wonderfully comfortable. It was nice to have the fireplace for the cooler evening. Dinner at the Cannery was wonderful, especially the seafood curry and the staff there were attentive, with just the right amount of familiarity. An early morning workout in the well equipped gym and a swim and hot tub soak followed by a great breakfast completed our weekend. The decor and general ambience of the Pillar and Post are exceptional.
Look out for special packages; the TGIF package was great value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaEdenOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments! We are glad to hear that you were able to have some down time and a break away from home renovations! We take pride in the many special touches our guestrooms and hotel offer and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the gas fireplace and a relaxing evening away! We appreciate you taking the time to share about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Pillar and Post!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed with two of my friends for a weekend of wine tasting. We loved the Cannery restaurant (excellent martins), the spa (my friend said it was the best massage she's ever had) and our room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location, close enough to town but still quiet and secluded. Can't wait to visit again!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank quadrophenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate you sharing your lovely experience and taking the time to reflect on your stay at the Pillar and Post Inn and Spa. Our goal is to always provide you with exceptional quality and service to ensure your stay is memorable. Again, thank you very much for your lovely compliments, we will be sure to share this with our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Went for a relaxing day but it was way too packed. Had to wait to use facilities. Some woman clipped her toenails in the steam shower....gross. The crowd finally began to thin out around 5pm, but the locker rooms were a disaster for the rest of the evening. Dirty towels everywhere and overflowing garbage made the rest of our spa time a challenge. The staff could not have cared any less.

It's a shame. I've enjoyed this spa a handful of times but probably wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank luvinmauiEAstCost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was in the region on a business trip and was not supposed to lay over however due to a last minute meeting the next day I had to spend the night. This was my 2nd time staying the P&P and the 3rd time I had dinner the Cannery Restaurant.

I can tell you this time was spot on to the first and the consistency was the same. I arrived in the early evening and my room was ready. Check in was a breeze and before you know it I had the prime rib dinner that they are known for and then in the spa for a night cap. My room was clean with extra towels, good linens, and comfortable beds and I had everything I needed. The spa was very nice and clean and the outdoor hot tub is always a great way to relax and shake off a stressful day. The indoor pool, sauna, and hot tub was very good as well.

The Cannery Restaurant never disappoints and is known for the prime rib but I have had other dishes there as well and never got a bad meal. The breakfast the following was great and much more than the average person can eat in the morning. I suggest the eggs benedict. The complimentary coffee bar set up in the lobby each morning has great coffee and is a good way to start your day. All in all its pretty hard to beat this spot any where in the area for food, service, spa, and a great room. Its the total package!

Room Tip: If you plan to use the spa stay in a spa tower room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caymankid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

We appreciate all your wonderful compliments about our hotel and we are so pleased that you were able to enjoy the hot springs and take advantage of some relaxation despite the change in your schedule. It is our goal to exceed all expectations, so to know that we were able to do that for you, means a great deal to our guest service team. We look forward to your return visit in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Well, let's start off by being honest and saying this will never be a sub $100 a night stay kind of place. Yes, you do pay a lot per night but you get what you pay for.

This is pure luxury. My wife and I booked for our 20th anniversary. We got the romance package and the dinner package. We also upgraded to a suite room.

The room is, pardon my French, freaking huge!!! There is a gas fireplace, large jet tub, 4 poster king size bed, 2 TVs, lots of storage and a pull out couch. We even had a Keurig coffee maker in the room

The staff are second to none. We were wished a happy anniversary countless times. There was not one grumpy staff member at all. They were always ON, always happy and always helpful... from the Friday afternoon wine and cheese welcome all the way to when we checked out.

We of course made the mistake of checking out just at 11, when the Mother's day buffet was about to start in the restaurant (my bad!) so exiting with a luggage cart was a challenge.

There is a free 24x7 shuttle service that will take you to and from the old town for shopping etc (less than 5 minutes). Note that this not a shuttle that will take you to the wine region, you will have to book this via the front desk or via one of the many wine tour operators.

Parking was a breeze (we did valet) and the hotel is in a residential neighbourhood so it is a very quiet area.

Spa looked ok but was tough to book due to it being Mothers day.I did not use the inside pool but the outside one was perfect and was at least 7 feet deep in the deep end. The hot springs in the basement (exit to it is by the spa) was perfect also and very romantic.

The restaurant food was impeccable as was the service. Easily 4* dining. Even the food at the bar in the hotel (I had the blue cheese burger) was outstanding. Not many beers on tap though.

Room Tip: We had room 355 (suite) which was top floor and accessed from the inside. There was an elevator up t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnLinington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,735 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $198 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, ranked one of the top 25 spas in Canada by the Spa Association of Canada 2016. The Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing